We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“But be warned-only hotel in Spain without a breakfast buffet.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gran Hotel La Perla
Ranked #2 of 33 Hotels in Pamplona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2014

4 star hotel-drive past bollards around the pedestrian only square-unless you have a local cell phone to call you have to stop partially in the street and have someone go into the Hotel Europa to call La Perla to get the barrier lowered-the hotel will park your car for you.
HOWEVER the 25 Euro a day fee which was added to the bill was the most expensive parking fee we paid in Spain.

The choice of a rain shower or a separate more focused one in the full size tub was very nice and unique to our experience in Spain. My wife loved the lush fluffy bathrobe.Our room was a bit dark and looked out on a side street. We were disappointed they would not give us one facing the square since the hotel was mostly empty.
The first day the WIFI did not work and it took two calls to get an English speaker who could understand my request that they re-boot their system-which was adequate after that.
The second night when I wanted to check the weather I found out none of the advertised 8 English TV channels would work.A phone call and a staff visit did not resolve the problem. around 9PM they called and said for some unknown reason our first floor back room had no reception but we did without because it wasn't worth the trouble to pack up and move to a different floor.

I reserved a B&B and expected the same nice buffet breakfast we have gotten everywhere else in Spain. It was a very unpleasant surprise to: 1st find out that there was no buffet and 2nd that I was paying 13 euros each for a box tray 12" square with one glass of juice,one roll, a small 3" fruit cup(one strawberry + three other small bites-grocery store yogurt-no choices-three small sticks of cheap new cheese and two paper thin small slices of grocery store ham, two tiny2" sweet rolls, two pieces of toast and three little paper wrapped butters(jam we don't eat). The coffee con leche was very good but the one glass of juice was not fresh. Maybe the worst "continental" breakfast we have ever had in all our years of travel. In a land of wonderful Iberian ham and cheese's, what a shame to offer such cheap stuff I would not eat at home.My wife had me double check my hotel confirmation before I got too upset and it did say the breakfast was continental but nothing about the lack of a buffet. 3rd I found out the breakfast they confirmed for me was the second class version-there was one for 20 Euros that came in a bigger box, which they also did not disclose. "My bad". Had I known and understood I would not have booked the room which under it's actual situation did not meet my "value for money" standards.(FYI they include happily paying 350 euros a day at the Parador inside the Alhambra)
I found a picture of the two boxes in my room and as meager as it was they did not serve the 4 pieces of cheese and 4 slices of ham or a second roll or enough juice for a second glass -shown in the picture.
I expressed my concerns to the manager and he shrugged it off. Truly it was the most expensive and by far the worst breakfast ever in Spain-by a lot. I was not happy. Clearly unworthy of any hotel with pretensions to 4 stars.When we came back from seeing the town the desk lady offered to take the first breakfast off my bill and offered to give me the "1st class" version for the 13 Euro price the second morning. I told her fine, thanks for the accommodation but I did not want to pay 26 euros for the bigger box and to just take it off my bill. Well on check out they still charged me for the first morning but did give the deduction for the second so I let it go.
If you get a room overlooking the square, do not make my breakfast mistake, do not mind trying to find a decent breakfast outside the hotel(which is virtually impossible in Spain) or are OK with the grossly over priced low quality hotel option,then the excellent location and 4 star quality, for most people, would make this the place to stay. For me I would never go back. We had a hassle getting something to work both nights which should never happen at a 4 star with 4 star prices and the lack of a decent buffet would rule this place out. I debated giving it a one star but decided that would not be fair. Amazingly some people liked the breakfast-impossible if they had been anywhere else in Spain-eg the Hotel monte Carmelo in Seville gave all you could eat buffet smoked salmon, Champaign, aged ham, cheese and other meats etc included with the room for half the price. Nevertheless a reluctant 4 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel, staff and location are all wonderful. We staggered in from a day of walking, covered in dust and looking rather pathetic. The staff didn't bat an eye, but helped with our backpacks and soon had us in a large well appointed room. Great service. Cafe Iruna a few steps away. Pamplona seems to be town dedicated to having a good time...

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PickwickClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed 1 night in this beautiful hotel. We had 2 rooms and 2 children ages 4 and 1. We arrived after a long drive with a car sick child and the people at the front desk did not bat an eye at the children, even though it was obviously a very nice hotel. The room was beautiful with a sitting area and a desk in addition to the beds. The shower was absolutely incredible for a European hotel and the toilet area was separate from the sink area which is also unusual for Europe. The location was ideal - right on the main square with the best streets to walk right next to and behind it. I would highly recommend this hotel. They also had parking available at an additional 25 euros a day, which they parked. You do have to call them so they can lower the barriers drive into the old town area, so make sure you have their phone number handy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thewrightteresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN A, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014

Dear Ms. Wrigth,

First of all let me thank you for choosing us during your last visit to Pamplona.

It was a pleasure to receive to your family. We would like to thank you your opinion about us.

Do not hesitate to contact us if you need anything in our city. We hold to receive you again in the future.

All the best from Pamplona,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

In my opinion, best hotel and best location in Pamplona. Staff is very professional, room was excellent. Hotel is within walking distance to everything. The only bad thing about traveling in February (winter) is that most of the restaurants close very early, other than that would love to travel to Pamplona again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank nlitli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN A, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014
Google Translation

Estimado cliente,

Gracias por la confianza depositada en nuestro hotel y sus palabras sobre su estancia.

Esperamos poder atenderle en un futuro, y ya sabe donde encontrarnos para todo lo que necesite en Pamplona.

Hasta pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I have stayed at Gran Hotel La Perla twice, for five days each time. I usually stay at upper-end hotels and expect good service, attention and a nice place to stay. The La Perla is top-notch. The hotel has been entirely renovated. Original beautiful antiques are set in smartly decorated setting rooms and salons. When I saw a meeting room named after a usually not well-known French king from the 1300's, I inquired at the front desk. A gentleman with an impressive handle-bar moustache gave me a fascinating explanation for many of the names and antiques I could see. I learned the hotel and its foundations are steeped in history and has been in the family 4 generations. The man generously showed us several special places, including Hemmingway's room and that of others, including a world renown violinist of yesteryear. These rooms house memorabilia of the individuals in glass cases. The kind man showing us around turned out to be the owner... Although the hotel was obviously remodeled and redecorated by architects and designers, he and his wife continue to care for the place. He believes they are caretakers of a piece of history they must protect and share. They are doing an excellent job. I save this for last because it is so important to me: everything worked well in the room, it is quiet, the linens and bed were wonderful and top quality, the staff is absolutely amazing, and there are dozens of restaurants in the immediate area. Their own restaurant, which has an opening to the tiny famous street behind the hotel, is award-winning. Try the venison meatballs with artichokes and truffle foam...amazing!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stoppingbywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RUBEN A, Director de Recepción at Gran Hotel La Perla, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014
Google Translation

Estimada Señora Butts,
Muchas gracias por elegirnos durante sus visitas a Pamplona.
Queremos agradecerle su comentario sobre el hotel. Ha sido un honor atenderles.
Ya sabe que aquí tienen su casa para todo lo que necesiten.
Hasta pronto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Very conveniently located, great rooms, faboulous breakfast and the best of staff!! The only down is how to access with your car the hotel, as cars are not permited into the area where the hotel is located and you need to call the hotel in order to get permision.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Convenient location - easy to get to the interesting cathedral. Good Tapas nearby Wonderful shower (it is the whole room), good room and bed. The only dissappointment was the breakfast was too expensive and fussy.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank c r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pamplona hotels
1 mi away
Alma Pamplona Muga de Beloso
0.2 mi away
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
Hotel Palacio Guendulain
#5 of 33 in Pamplona
316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maisonnave Hotel
Maisonnave Hotel
#4 of 33 in Pamplona
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
NH Pamplona Iruna Park
#3 of 33 in Pamplona
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tres Reyes
Hotel Tres Reyes
#6 of 33 in Pamplona
704 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
Pamplona Catedral Hotel
#8 of 33 in Pamplona
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel La Perla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel La Perla

Address: Plaza Castillo 1, 31001 Pamplona, Spain
Region: Spain > Navarra > Pamplona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Pamplona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pamplona
#2 Luxury Hotel in Pamplona
#2 Business Hotel in Pamplona
Price Range: £105 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Gran Hotel La Perla 5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Gran Hotel La Perla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Perla Pamplona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing