We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of British Larder Suffolk - CLOSED

British Larder Suffolk
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: In a picturesque setting on a quiet rural lane, British Larder offers traditional British cuisine with a contemporary edge, and a passion for sourcing superb produce from the Suffolk region. There is outside seating for al fresco dining. Rustic yet modern, the cosy interior at The British Larder restaurant in Suffolk features exposed brickwork, an open fire, wooden beams and an impressive bar. The seasonal British Larder menu uses locally sourced produce wherever possible, and changes on a daily basis, making best use of the fine, fresh ingredients. Sample dishes include sea bass carpaccio with coriander, lime and fennel salad, Orford-Ness lobster and Loch Duart salmon macaroni or Riverside beef with Aspall Cyder roasted shallots, Yorkshire pudding and duck fat roasted potatoes. There is a good selection of wines by the glass and an indulgent dessert menu. Near Woodbridge, The British Larder Suffolk is a fine gastro pub, open 7 days a week.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here today. Nice decor, delicious food - I would highly recommend the venison burger and the cherry and white chocolate cheesecake. The only solis appointment was we were served a wrong meal and by the time the correct meal arrived we had almost finished ours, not a great apology or as much as a complementary coffee. We would definitely visit again and hope the correct meals are served

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lindaadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    90
    47
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ellesmere, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing, amazing, amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

From the welcome upon arrival, the Damson Collins whilst reading the menu, through to the last crumb from our plates, this was a wonderful experience. The restaurant itself is relaxed but stylish, and the staff charming and incredibly professional. My starter of salmon with wild garlic pesto, a main course of the most delicious hake I have ever eaten, accompanied by potato gnocchi and fabulous vegetables, and a dessert of baked Cherry Cheesecake from heaven were all absolutely excellent. My husband thought the rabbit and ham hock terrine he had as a starter was fabulous, and the main course confit of duck followed by strawberry parfait for dessert couldn't have been better. We both enjoy cooking and eating out, and quite regularly indulge ourselves, but we can't remember enjoying a meal more in the last year than at the British Larder. We are now armed with a copy of Madalene Bonvini-Hamel's British Larder Cookbook for all seasons, to try and create some of the inspirational dishes we had enjoyed. If you enjoy great food in a lovely relaxed non pretentious setting, would thoroughly recommend the British larder. Very dog and child friendly too - a great plus. Excellent value for money for food of this quality - outstandingly good ingredients, creatively cooked, and worthy of a Michelin star. A place to be watched!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Houghtch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bredfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Rising Michelin star gleams”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Both Carolyn and I are seasoned diners and generally eat at avant-garde establishments with one or more stars. When we chance upon a country pub with exceptional imaginative cuisine we are particularly impressed.
The cooking at the Suffolk-based British Larder is outstanding, and well worth a major detour. Dishes are innovative, stylish and impeccably conceived, allowing subtle flavours to enhance visual impact. The vision of the lady chef imbues each dish with a note of distinction, and strength shines through in all culinary departments. We feel the pricing fairly reflects the quality of the proposition, and strongly recommend this restaurant in a charming atmospheric pub to all discerning diners. The only aspect which might be enhanced would be the wine list, which, though attractively-priced, in our estimation lacks depth at the top end. Steve Rudge

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Therapist2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Uk
Level Contributor
83 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not as good as they think they are”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We visit the area occasionally and have taken Sunday lunch here twice before. We were somewhat under whelmed both times, especially by the rather amateurish service, and this time was no better! We arrived on time to find the only free table in the bar was set for four when I had clearly specified two plus dog. The young man trotted off to check and grudgingly agreed we were right. We were asked what we wanted to drink before we had finished taking our coats off with no offer of a drinks list or a wine list. We quickly opted for a ginger beer and a half of cider. The drinks then took 15 minutes to appear, including a pint, not the half I had ordered. This gave us plenty of time to peruse the menu and to realize that there was a measure of overpricing. Eventually, a chap we had seen on previous visits appeared to take our order, which we had decided by then would be mains only. I have to admit S's roast rib of pork was very tasty, although it had been cooked slightly pink without her being consulted. By now I should know better than to order roast beef when the cut is not specified, but at £ 16 I thought it must be sirloin or rib. Wrong! Two generous, but almost tasteless, slices of topside turned up, accompanied by decent vegetables and a large, inelegant Yorkshire pudding. At least the Dog enjoyed the beef, but he has no taste.This was a very disappointing visit which we shall not be repeating when there are so many better alternatives in the area, even though some may not be in the foodie guides, or have published books!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank dunnitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom, UK
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have stopped at the British lardder on several ocassions on our way to Suffolk/Norfolk and we find it a great place to have an excellent lunch. The food is beautifully prepared, really well cooked and very fresh. They keep the ales excellently and have a good wine list. It is well worth a detour on your travels to lunch here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WhiteBassetGriffon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed British Larder Suffolk also viewed

Bromeswell, Woodbridge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing