We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time to Spain, off season”

Berlin, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“First time to Spain, off season”
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Went to Guadalest and visited the castle/monastery in December. The off season price is €3 and well worth the views. The town itself is a little tourist shopping adventure while the castle /monastery has fantastic views of the valley and the water below. The ride up the windy road was fun and scenic. Worth €3 but €15 in season might be stretching it a bit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    16
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaunas, Lithuania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spectacular views and a nice castle/museum”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

We were lucky to go not in the tourist season and also quite early in the day, so we avoided the heat and masses of people. It's a lovely place, you can take a walk through the little old town and then visit a museum made out of an old house where rich people used to live. From there you can climb up to the castle and enjoy some views. I definitely recommend visiting the museum and seeing how upper class people of Spain used to live not that long ago.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GitaArgustaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Guadalest”
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The real Spanish village that is really worth a visit. We had a wonderful trip to Guadalest, we went early and beat the crowds and the heat. Parking was easy and the walk through the tunnel to the old village was brilliant. Our children had a whale of a time exploring the museums and the walk way to the monastery. The view to the aquamarine lake was breathtaking and we greatly enjoyed our meal over the valley and the delightful vistas at every corner. This really is a place worth visiting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Elle8104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“a beautiful hill top village”
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We didnt go into the actual monastry, but wondered round the hill top streets, shops & took in all the views. There is an amazing green/blue coloured dam below which it looked like did boat trips. We spent a few hours wondering & ate supper up there. Truly beautiful. We visited early evening which I read was a good time & also visited the waterfall about 7 miles away- also worth a visit. The gift shops are inexpensive & have some lovely less tacky gifts. It was a truly wonderful evening.
There was no fee to visit the village as we did, but am sure the monastry would have charged, as did the waterfall- but worth the money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mavwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West London
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating world heritage site”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We have been lucky enough to visit this site a couple of times. This time, with our daughter who insisted on going to the very top. Stunning views. Always nervous of the very long winding road and hairpin bends. Reminiscent of the story of Brigadoon.

Wonderful museums and gift shops.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank ladyc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Guadalest Monastery also viewed

Alicante, Costa Blanca
Guadalest, Costa Blanca
 
Alcoy, Province of Alicante
 

Been to Guadalest Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing