We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“horrid DONT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Aquarium III

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aquarium III
Ranked #87 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Benidorm
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“horrid DONT STAY HERE”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

me and my friend stayed here in july last year absolutely horrible staff rude, room not that clean. on arrival we were told to leave a deposit about 75euro each, anyway we left it and got to the room and there wasnt anything worth the deposit. staff are so rude speaking in Spanish to other staff about other holiday makers, got to the day before the flight home and we asked for the deposit back as we were leaving early in the morning before the office open and they said no, we had no choice but to leave the apartment a day before we were due to leave, to get the deposit back and we have to leave the room at 10am and we where getting picked up at 8am the next day. we had to stay in a bar for about 20hours with no where to put the suit cases WOULD NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN !!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    9
    24
    12
    27
See reviews for
18
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wirral
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a party of 16 we had 4 apartments and 1 studio, didn't get to see studio but was told by my family member it was clean an small like a cupboard, the apartment I stayed in had 2 single beds in a bedroom and a couch with a pull out bed it was very clean balcony overlooked the sol pelicanos pool, the balcony was very big with 4 chairs an a table, no pillows for couch an pullout bed, the shower was really powerful but the hot water runs out very quickly a few family members commented on there own showers saying when it is used the shower head wouldn't stay on, the pool is nice an cold and area of pool kept clean, few idiots decided to throw glass off there balconys into pool and area so it had to be swept up by lifeguard and kids were left waiting to use pool but was cleaned as fast as he could was really surprised at apartments as read bad reviews on here but as a base to just sleep shower and swim I would recommend had another great break in benidorm

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fagsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

You know what, we really thought this accomodation was going to be a disaster, we had read so many bad reviews. Myself and partner booked as a cheap and cheerful break for our birthdays in May, and although it is VERY basic, if your looking for somewhere to just leave your luggage and have a bed at night its perfect. Its kind of in the middle of everywhere so it was easy to walk to the beach, bars, restaurants and shops. The only downfall is paying the 150 euro deposit, which as long as you dont trash the place you get back. I think this ruling has been put in place for the groups of people who stay here as damages do happen. There arnt really many staff about to speak to, just the people in the shop outside where you collect your keys.
Bonus bit to staying here was they were filming beidorm next door so, and the accomodation being where it is, no one really walks past to see whats going on. We met some of the cast and had photo's which was a nice ending to our trip.
If you eat out try a place called clippers, really cheap and fantastic food, also the lazy cow beach bar is really reasonable for drinks!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank westwood82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2013

a group of 20 of us stayed here for a stag do. I booked this hotel mainly due to the cheap price of £28 per night, with 3 sharing per room. I read the reviews and got a bit worried about the hotel due to the bad reviews people were leaving. It was a bit of a pain having to pay a deposit of 150 euros per room, but this went back into my account 2 days after i got home. We also had to pick up the keys from another hotel which was only a 5 min walk away, so wasnt that much of an inconvenience. The rooms were very clean, 2 single beds and a sofa bed which noone complained about. No tv in room, but to be honest i dont go away on holiday to watch tv. We were on the 21st floor, great views from our room, the lifts were a bit slow, but if people want to complain about things like that, go for it! Yes it may be a bit basic but the rooms were clean and comfortable, perfect for a stag do, everyone on our party enjoyed staying there, location not too bad, about a 15-20 min walk from the main strip. For a budget hotel i cannot fault it and would reccomend it. The bar across the road it good to start out for a few beers.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jiggy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013 via mobile

well we wanted a cheap place to stay for a break and we go it!!

appartments are very basic and in residentual block - pool area the worse i have ever seen!! u also have to stump up a 150euro deposit when you pick the keys up which we wernt told about!!- we were sent to 2 locations to collect keys within walking distance but none available - we then had to get a taxi to collect!! joke really!!

location is good 5-10 min walk to beach and main strip of bars etc!! not rowdy at nite ever wothin hotel which was good!!

first night we were recommended to go to the lively strip - we got offered all kinds of drugs and even prostitutes all within a 200metres.

we then got drunk as you do... and both got mugged!! they had my phone, cash and flipflops!! my mate was walking to the toilet and someone came up behind him lifted him up under the arms and put him through a fire exit and sat on him whilst his mate took out his wallet and took all the cash!! this put us off really and on edge the rest of the time!!

we spoke with other couples and old man of 65 got his wallet taken when asked for a light!! he was drunk!! the theme here is they are looking for drunks to mug - and they do! and this was outside neptunes the place they film benidorm kareoke!!

would never return to benidorm and will never recommend it either -

pay a bit more and go to a greek island instead!!

this place is crawling with tramps - gipsies and muggers!!

be warned and if u book be on ya guard!! this is all 100% true!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MD166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benidorm hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed here over Easter.
Ok they was basic but I found them clean.
We had a great view over benidorm and sol pelicanos pool area.
The pool in the apartment was closed but it was a tad to cold to swim.
Yes it is a bit of a hassle regarding the key collection ect and where to deposit the keys on leave but over all pretty straight forward if you follow the instructions on booking.
Next time I will definitely pay slightly more as I do like a hotel but if your looking for a cheap holiday let then I guess these are ok.

Room Tip: If your not scared of heights room 16G has a massive balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahbee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We are a couple in our early thirtys who have just returned from a short Easter Break at the Aquarium III apartments.

It was a last minute booking and were looking to get away somewhere hot for a few days, so with little time and lack of research we booked the apartments hoping for the best!

FIRSTLY, DIRECTIONS TO GET YOUR KEY (in case you have the issue we did):
Our key had to be picked up from the Buena Vista Apartments, directions are as follows (approximately a 10 min walk): Although with luggage and suitcases it may take a little longer!

From the door of Aquarium III go down the steps to the pavement, turn right and head up to the top of the main road past the Gallowgate Bar on your left. Turn left at the top and keep walking along the main Road (past the Dynastic Hotel, shops and bars including the Union Jack Pub and Melia Benidorm) till you reach the Hotel Lavente Club (and Rachel’s Bar on opposite side of the road). Take the next left and the Buena Vista Apartments are a few hundred yards down the road on your left.

The Aquarium III Apartments to say the least are VERY BASIC. The block itself is really a residential block with a few holiday lets. If you arrive in the evening there is no one to let you into the apartments as there is no reception. (There is a kind of caretaker guy Manuel around in the daytime).

We arrived around at the apartments around 8.30pm after waiting an hour on the transfer bus to leave the airport (we landed at 5pm) and another 2 and a half hours on the bus while it dropped off round Benidorm! Bearing in mind the drive to the airport to Benidorm is only 45 minutes we were pretty annoyed it took so long to drop us off!

We were firstly dropped outside the Aquarium II Apartments which were locked up and eventually a local passer by showed us where the Aquarium III Apartments were just a little further up the road. The apartments were closed, and we had no information on our hotel voucher about where to pick our keys up from. The phone number on the voucher went through to an office answer machine in Benidorm which was now shut and the only other contact numbers were for the UK Company we had booked through (Triton/Sun Save). They also went to answer machine!

The information outside Aquarium II advised guests to pick up keys from the Eva Mar Hotel so we thought it was worth a go. The Eva Mar Reception staff were very unhelpful and told us keys could not be picked up for Aquarium III only Aquarium II.

We ended up using the internet booth at the Eva Mar to look on trip advisor to see what other guests had said. We rang the Alpha Hotel who told us to go to the Eva Mar (we were already there!) and eventually after ringing the Buena Vista they confirmed they had got our key! Although it appeared later we had actually called the wrong Buena Vista Apartments which was the other side of Benidorm so slightly worrying he thought he had our key!

By this time we were tired and hungry and decided we needed food before we headed to get the keys which we thought at this stage was the other side of Benidorm. By chance we asked the waiter in the restaurant if he knew where the Buena Vista Apartments were and explained the situation only to find his friend in the restaurant worked for a local Spanish travel company/Aquarium III and did confirm our keys would be at the Buena Vista which was actually only a short walk away.


Please note that you also need a €100 deposit for the keys and they will photocopy your passports.

When we eventually got back to the Aquarium III apartments we can certainly say we were disappointed! The lock on the door (10E) is certainly dodgy and it took us five minutes to even open the door. The apartment was actually clean but just very basic and tired and we really expected it would be a little better!

There is a small kitchen area, living area (sofa bed/table chairs and coin operated TV) a bedroom with two single beds, and a balcony area.

On the plus side there was a new washing machine and oven which we did use (the oven/hob anyway although we had to buy a lighter to light the gas) and a large fridge/freezer although the freezer section was dirty with brown stains around the door.

The wiring on the apartment was fairly dodgy and I imagine if you went in the summer it would be hot and unbearable as there is no air conditioning.

We did have some sunshine the next day so proceeded to the pool area to sunbathe however the pool itself was closed which was a shame and the pool loungers were dirty and broken! We decided the next day to head to the Melia Benidorm and we managed to get in and use their facilities/sunbathe without anyone noticing for the rest of the stay!

I can honestly say that I have stayed in worse places than the Aquarium III however have also paid a lot less! Maybe as it was such a late booking we were charged a higher price which is very annoying as they were so basic.

If you are planning a holiday to Benidorm then don’t stay at the Aquarium III. There are much nicer places to stay and cheaper and I am sure less hassle!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.4 mi away
Picasso Apartments
Picasso Apartments
#96 of 191 in Benidorm
355 reviews
0.9 mi away
Gemelos 12
Gemelos 12
#169 of 191 in Benidorm
9 reviews
0.5 mi away
Gemelos II
Gemelos II
#123 of 191 in Benidorm
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acuarium II Apartments
Acuarium II Apartments
#68 of 107 in Benidorm
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Gregorio Apartments
Don Gregorio Apartments
#82 of 107 in Benidorm
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playamar Apartments Click Benidorm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarium III? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarium III

Property: Aquarium III
Address: Juan Fuster Zaragoza, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 107 Speciality Lodging in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Aquarium III 2*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aquarium III reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarium Iii Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing