We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very smart modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Ranked #4 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands. UK
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very smart modern hotel”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I was a little concerned about staying here after reading recent reviews on this website.
I found the hotel very striking amongst the others alongside it, it stands out from others and looks very modern.
Inside the check in procedure was kept to a minimal and we were processed very quickly.
Our room on first impression was lovely, very clean and set out well, with kettle, tea/coffee, mini fridge, dressing table. The bathroom had two sinks, with multi-function shower over the bath.
Loads of towels that were replenished daily, and beds made up each day with one change of linen during our weeks stay.
As we were a family, the settee was made up into the sofa bed which took a little of the space away from the room.
The biggest let down is the lack of seating both in the rooms and in the bar area downstairs.
There wasn't anywhere to sit and read in your room when having a cup of tea or anything else, except for the beds and a high chair that was for the vanity unit.
Apart from the sofa in the reception area and a few high bar tables and stools there was no where to sit and relax after your meals inside of the hotel.
Outside there were many tables, but if the weather is not good then there is no where to go except your room.
There is a pool to the rear of the hotel but there is never any sun on that area and the pool was freezing cold, a little pool for small children is available but again dismal and cold at the rear of the hotel.
We were all inclusive and had everything laid on, but on speaking to others who were half board, they didn't have a kettle in their rooms to make their own coffees.
The hotel was scrupiously clean and tidy at all times during our stay, the staff were very friendly and attentive (except for one bar woman, who was sharp and rude at times).
The cleanliness of our room was of a very high standard each day.
.Some of the seaview rooms had spa baths in the window, we could have upgraded to one of these if we had not been a family. The spa bath is in the place where the sofa beds go for the children, which is a bit of a shame for families.
This is a lovely hotel but just not for us.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be spectacular as the rear rooms do overlook a garage which is noisy and a grav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stylishcampinbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear Stulyshcampinbuddy
We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.

In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment, therefore we would like to recommend you to ask for our special amigos cards in reception on your next visit, and benefit from it's special advantatges.

We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,870
    574
    174
    45
    37
See reviews for
832
1,284
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (661)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Went away with friends for long weekend. We did not know where we were travelling to and were quite dismayed when we discovered our destination was Benidorm. However I will try to focus on the fact this review is about the hotel and not the destination. Hotel receptionist very friendly, room not ready as we had arrived early so luggage put in room behind reception until we returned to hotel. An interesting thing is that when we were due to leave and needed our cases reception was busy and we walked straight into luggage room and helped ourselves to our cases so beware of leaving anything valuable in there! We were in room 701 which was very clean and had a lovely view over the sea. Corner jacuzzi bath took ages to fill. Bed comfortable. When we returned to room at end of first day none of the electricity in the room would work. We went back down to reception no-one was there so we had to make do with the light from my iphone. When we reported this to reception in the morning it was fixed within about one hour. Drinks on all inclusive are premium brands. Food was reasonably good although if you arrived towards the end of a mealtime it was all looking quite tired and messy. Sunbathing area on 9th floor is really lovely and wouldn't be out of place in much classier resorts. The hotel is at the 'better' end of Benidorm but there is no way that I would contemplate returning as throughout the three days I was constantly reminded of all the bad things about being British and we do not want to go abroad and constantly see pubs selling pie and chips, british beer and showing english tv programmes. So in a nutshell - a clean, well presented hotel with friendly staff and modern well appointed rooms, average food and good drinks located at the quieter end of Benidorm with a beachfront location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonbather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 3 November 2012
Dear Moonbather,

Thank you very much for your review of the hotel.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers, plus ISO 9001 and the "Q" of quality, and we also take all opinions in a positive sense. We are glad you liked your stay, and we will work hard to improve the mistakes you reported to make all future visits from the rest of the travellers better and completely fullfiling.

Pity you don't like Benidorm, if you happen to visit us again we could recommend you nice places to visit in the town and sorroundings, to avoid the pubs you mentioned.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

Arrived at the hotel to be greated by friendly staff. Reception was clean and up to date. Room very clean but a bit too small for the 3 of us as had to use the sofa bed so was made up as a bed all the time. but only used the room to change and sleep so wasnt too much of an issue. Food was lovely plently of food and snacks and even was made a sandwich and coffee when we came in late, Bar staff all very friendly. All in all a very nice and friendly hotel. beach and sea very clean, and not too deep so friendly for children. Well done all the staff that helped make our holiday a very special one

Room Tip: Sea view rooms were so much better. the view from the bed is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MAXIDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2012
Dear Maxidi,

Thank you very much for your kind comment, we in Hotel Villa del Mar work very hard every day and focus our efforts in making your holiday a "Magic" one.

We look forwar to welcome you in, in a close future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic all inclusive four day holiday celebrating our friends 50th birthday. The hotel was ideally situated for the beach which is straight across the road in front of the hotel. The pool area was small but there is a sun terrace on the top floor with a bar serving drinks from 10:00am till 8:00pm also double sun beds for toping up your tan. The room was amazing ask for an 8th floor sea view and you will get a double Jacuzzi in your room which is a very nice touch & the view was beautiful. The bed is very large and comfortable with a wall mounted TV & 6 English channels available. Bathroom is large with two basins and a big walk in shower. I will say there was no balcony, but we didn't spend much time in the room so it didn't matter that much. The staffs were all really friendly & helpful. As for the food it was fantastic there was something available for all tastes. Good varieties of drinks including Champaign are on the all-inclusive which we had the pleasure of drinking most days as it was our friends 50th. Birthday and would be rude not to. The cards given to you when you arrive gives you access to your room also all the other hotels in the group which on your travels around Benidorm you can drop into any of them for food & drinks all free but I will say the Villa Del Mar is the best in the group. I just like to say a big thank you to all the staff for their excellent service and a BIG YES we would defiantly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: 8th floor Sea view are the best as the rooms are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaughane62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2012
Dear Vaughane62,

Thank you very much for your kind words., we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfillment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers, plus ISO 9001 and the "Q" of quality, in a near future we will have 3 four star hotels and a 5 star hotel
and we will continue to work hard to make yor holidays special.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Arrived on the 12th oct with good flight times out of glasgow arrived around 1100hrs sat morning transfer usual 40mins. First impressions were that it had a very good location ie out the front door across the road and you were on the beach magic. We were allocated a room on the eighth floor which was no saga lift straight there so what can i say about the room well absolutely brill, sea view double jacousie bath in the room its self (by the way dont put bubble bath in it and switch it on thought at one stage may have to open windows and throw the bubbles out lol) anyway room was imaculate wall mounted tv 6 uk channels WIFI available tea coffee etc cleaned daily to a very high standard. The hotel itself had a roof top sun area and a spa on the 9th floor which one hour is free in the spa to all fully inclusive guest great time in there, bar on the sun roof as well.I personally found all the staff in the hotel to be extremely friendly and helpfull and the fact that the drink wasnt all your local produce made a big difference ie absolute and smirnoff vodka as well as many other well known brands. The resturaunt and food well i dont think you could ask for any better the selection for all meals was excellent and the comments from other reviews ie pork all the time was not the case, the steaks etc were cooked to order and there were a wide variety of foods all in all excellent. There is a pool located on the first floor which is not the biggest but with the beach on the door step so who needs it. I will agree with other reviews the entertainment leaves a bit to be desired but if you want tribute acts etc these kick of at 10pm on the strip so top up in all inclusive and head out ten min walk. Overall i found this a cracking hotel and would definetly return to it excellent food drink and staff good location ie no stag or hen parties kicking off constantly only down side poor entertainment but overall brill

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan9457
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Alan9457,


Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

Our main goal is you, our customer to enjoy and relax during their stay at our property, and whenever we see comments like this we feel that we have accomplished it. We will continue to work hard and put all our efforts in managing great holidays like yours, and change all bad experiences into new oportunities of surprising you.

KInd regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cowdenbeath
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 October 2012

thanks to all the staff who made our stay great and made you feel special fom the cleaning staff to the receptionists always a smile nothing was any trouble.
the room was fantastic very clean
special thanks to the bar staff for the friendly sevice also the front door cleaners who worked very hard but always had a smile the staff are an asset to the company
A verry enjoyable stay.
mr mrs sweeney

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear Janice s

Thank you very much for your kind words of our staff. They work very hard every day and focus their efforts in fullfilling all of our customers expectations. We are proud to read these opinions to know that all their hard work is achieving our main goal wich is your satisfaction and enjoyment.
I can assure you that all of them, me included, look forward to welcome you back in a near future.

KInd regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonehaven
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Villa Del Mar is a lovely hotel to use as a base.
The rooms were ample size for my family of 4 (2 boys aged 8 and 6). If we had a boy and a girl it may have caused some sleeping problems as our 2 boys shared a sofa bed.
The room was cleaned every day to a high standard.
We did have a slight problem with our shower as water kept pouring past the screen onto the floor. We ended up placing the free sponges along the edge of the bath which stopped this from happening.
At night you could hear everyone going to bed as the main bedroom door was not in the slightest bit soundproof.
The food was a bit of a let down. Four times we had food which was not cooked properly. The manager was very quick to sort this out on each occasion but we feel this should not happen.
It was also very similar each day. However, this seems to be the case in every all inclusive holiday.
The pool area got very little sun which meant the water was so cold our boys could not go in. We were able to use one of the sister hotels which had an indoor heated pool.
The childrens play area also had a pool but unfortunately was full of bugs.
Our boys played table tennis which they enjoyed.
There is also a kids play area with a climbing gym which our two boys loved.
The evening entertainment was quite good if you are older. My dad was with us and loved it.
The staff on the reception were all very friendly and were able to help us with directions, advice on where to visit and sorted out a tiny problem we had with the internet.
The roof terrace is absolutely gorgeous. However, the old towel problem existed. However, the barman seemed to vanish at times which meant we were unable to get a drink for periods at a time.
We went for our complimentary spa. It was lovely and very relaxing (perhaps as we didnt have the kids with us at the time).
The bar staff we totally overran. They needed atleast another person on each bar. This did on the odd occasion make them a little bit grumpy.
The staff wheer we ate were also overran. However, they were all very friendly.
I would say that this hotel is ideal for older couples. However, our boys are sporty and there wasnt enough for them to do.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Shaw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fccobo, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this review, 27 October 2012
Dear J_shaw_10

Thank you very much for your comment.

We always receive comments in a positive direction, and try to monitor these comments to manage improvementes in our services to match all of our guests expectations. Sometimes we make mistakes but in order to improve we need to be reminded of them.

In Magic Costablanca and Hotel Villa del Mar we work hard to be better day by day and to always accomplish your satisfaction and enjoyment. We look forward to your next visit to be able to surprise you with a complete magnificent stay.

KInd regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
1,455 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,104 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,017 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,344 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#65 of 192 in Benidorm
2,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Property: Villa Del Mar Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing