We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feb Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We really enjoyed our stay for a four night break in feb. we found most of the past reviews pretty accurate apart from those criticising the standard of the food and restaurant which we found to be very good. There was a large variety and really friendly helpful staff. Likewise with the bar, it was excellent to have labelled drinks and again, the staff were very helpful. Our check in went very smoothly and we were delighted with our room which had a sea view and very modern bathroom with plenty of space. The rooftop terrace, although only open for limited hours due to it being winter, is a beautiful area with wonderful views. We can't comment on the swimming pool as it was winter but even in February people were sunbathing on the beach and terrace for most of the time. Benidorm's old town was a bit quiet but enjoyable to walk around and we have booked again to stay in the villa del mar for a week in October as we had a super time and we are looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PWLowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Pwlowry,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our establishment is, None other than your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays special.

We look forward to welcome you back in a close future.

King regards
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,745)
There are newer reviews for Villa Del Mar Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

997 - 1,003 of 2,746 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Had a 4 day break in this hotel,food very good, room clean, great size and probably the best hotel beds i've slept in !! Overall for a hotel that is in the old town side of Benidorm it hit the nail on the head for us.
I would stay in the more popular new side of Benidorm if I were on the lash with the lads but as a nice break with the wife in a good quality hotel at the right money i would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OllieWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Olliewright,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfilment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just returned from a weekend away in benidorm, we had booked our 3 nights stay at this hotel only to be refused entry once we arrived as we were a group!! Why??? That's what we wanted to know from the duty manager who refused to check us in and an even more obnoxious reception lady. Our travel agent confirmed that the booking at the hotel was on there system and it was the hotel refusing to check us in. I would never want anyone to stay here groups, families, couples or singles, the staff were so rude. I have never ever been treated like this before, they treated us like dirt, there was no comprise or goodwill jester, they wanted us off the premises!!! All we did was book a hotel to relax and have a nice time but we were treated like scum. They need to learn a thing or two about good customer service! NEVER BOOK!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rach523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DepCalidadHCB, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Ms. Rach523,

Family Gourmet Villa del Mar hotel is an All Exclusive establishment that
offers the best holiday experience for families. In order to achieve this
goal we have to protect and defend the rest and relax of all our guests.

To provide an excellent service to our costumers, it has become our policy
not to accept stag, hen or celebration groups that might disturb other
guests. As a result of this policy we have been informing for almost a year
now all travel agencies that we do not allow those parties to stay in our
hotel. We also put extra effort in this matter by having people on our
Booking Department checking every day for bookings under different lead
names arriving the same day to detect “undercover” stag/hen groups and to
notify the travel agency immediately offering several alternatives.

The notice informing all our guests that we do not allow those kind or
celebrations groups is also available in our website.

Please notice this decision was the result of many complains of our guests
that came to our hotel to enjoy a safe and relaxing holiday and were not
allowed to because of those groups.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

On arrival at this hotel we were refused entry even though this was booked a year ago they put us in another hotel it wasn't 4 star that we paid for lucky if it was 3 star in the middle of the resort not sea front that we wanted 27 of us plus another hen party like us they had 27 in their group were also put in this other hotel arrived at 11.30 still on the street at 3.30 with all our luggage totally shocking please be warned.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
7  Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DepCalidadHCB, Guest Relations Manager at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Dear Liz,

Family Gourmet Villa del Mar hotel is an All Exclusive establishment that
offers the best holiday experience for families. In order to achieve this
goal we have to protect and defend the rest and relax of all our guests.

To provide an excellent service to our costumers, it has become our policy
not to accept stag, hen or celebration groups that might disturb other
guests. As a result of this policy we have been informing for almost a year
now all travel agencies that we do not allow those parties to stay in our
hotel. We also put extra effort in this matter by having people on our
Booking Department checking every day for bookings under different lead
names arriving the same day to detect “undercover” stag/hen groups and to
notify the travel agency immediately offering several alternatives.

The notice informing all our guests that we do not allow those kind or
celebrations groups is also available in our website.

Please notice this decision was the result of many complains of our guests
that came to our hotel to enjoy a safe and relaxing holiday and were not
allowed to because of those groups.

Yours truly,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for Easter weekend and paid quite a lot because of the time of year. We opted for all-inclusive as it wasn't that much more. First off, the main positive aspects are the very helpful and friendly staff, particularly if you put a tip in the jars on the bar, but even without that they are extremely friendly. The rooms, certainly for Benidorm, are pleasantly modern, of a reasonable size, large comfy beds and a sofa but no balconies (none of the rooms have balconies). Rooms were good. We were on the back as the hotel was busy but it still had a pleasant enough view. Rooms on the front would ave fabulous views. The roof top sunbathing terrace was fabulous, particularly at this time of year but I would guess it gets VERY hot in the summer. The location of the hotel is great although parking is difficult (and expensive at the hotel). The spa is pleasant but not worth €13 for an hour. All inclusive get a free session.

The negatives: The pool is pretty small for the size of the hotel, you couldn't really exercise in it and it is in a strange location at the rear of the hotel along a corridor up more stairs etc etc However it is covered in the winter so you could swim all round. The main negative is the quality of the food and wine. The wine was only just drinkable - ridiculous when you can get a fantastic bottle of wine for around €2.50 in a supermarket - and the food lacked creativity, quality and presentation. Breakfast was dreadful in our opinion. The restaurant isn't really big enough for the hotel so you get mad peaks where you can't get a table (unless you are just a couple).

We would stay here again but would probably go for room only. There are fantastic restaurants in the Old Town and they're as cheap as chips. Avoid the all inclusive option.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the front.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hillpudlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Hillpadlian,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our establishment is, None other than your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays special.

We look forward to welcome you back in a close future.

King regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Second time at this beautiful hotel,went about 6 years ago ,and had a lovely time.booked last year to go again and what a difference,The hotel has had a complete make over I believe some 5 years ago.its stunning ,spotlessly clean lovely food..and most important the most friendly,effectient.carrying,and helpful staff we have ever met,We like to cruise as well as have land holidays.and have never ever met such lovely helpful staff.every single member of this lovely hotel were a pleasure to have look after you on holiday.Would we go again most certainly.
The dining room does get a little noisy at certain times we found it quieter,as soon as it opened.The entertainment is the usual Spanish ,watchable.with a children spot each evening.The drinks are all branded.with good measures
.The chill out terrace on the 9 the floor is absolutely beautiful.We found the swimming pool to be a bit of a dissapointment not very big ,covered and not a lot of space around it for sun bathing.but with the sea straight across the road we didn't find it a problem trying to cool off.
The rooms in this hotel are absolutely beautiful we had a room at the back as all the front bedrooms were booked up we were on floor 7.it was very quite no problems sleeping
If you are seniors we believe any bus journies are only 1 euro 50 cents each time you use theming

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Molenny,

Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I'd like to use your opinion as an example of what the main goal of our establishment is, None other than your complete enjoyment and fulfillment of your expectations.

Your kind words about our staff make us really proud and will be directly passed to all of them to congratulate their hard work on making people's holidays the best.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays special.

We look forward to welcome you back in a close future.

King regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Just returned home from week stay. Hotel very clean, we had a sea veiw room, dining room was as someone said like a canteen. Aida waitress was lovely always had smile on face to greet us..plenty to choose food wise. Deserts could do with bit more variety. Bit too quiet for our liking and 20 min walk plus to get too nightlife.we went ai but they didnt do southern comfort so stopped on baileys. We alsogot free spa hour but we only saw the lady on the last day so that never happened. Chill out deck ok but listening to same music all day got bit to much. Plus it would have been nice to sit in chill out deck after dinner but closed at 8 so we had to sit on the front. Think a bit of music would liven up the terrace and few heaters would have been better to people watch at night or after you had had your dinner. It was a break tho.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank diane1958uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Diane1958uk,

Thank you very much for your kind words, we appreciate all positive comments and are pleased to know your stay was an enjoyable one.

The main goal of the Magic Costablanca chain is our customer, your satisfaction, fulfilment of expectations and enjoyment. and reviews like yours help us understand we are acomplishing our objectives.

We have intensive audit programmes that help us know the opinion of our customers,
and we will continue to work hard to make your holidays a special one.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,504 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
1.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,109 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
2,279 reviews
0.5 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#64 of 192 in Benidorm
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £83 - £263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing