We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing a problem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just back from a fabulous weekend staying in this hotel with a group of girlfriends. We had been very worried reading previous reviews about Groups being turned away but having visited now completely understand why the hotel would not want gangs of stags or hens running amok. Its just not suited to that clientele, with families and older and local guests staying there. We were simply there for a sunshine break (mixed age group 38-50) and having witnessed some of the carnage out and about, I'm glad they uphold that policy with other accommodation in the Hotel chain being more suitable. The staff were beyond helpful especially Angel at reception who was a star throughout our stay and the ladies who checked us in. Omar at the rooftop bar was also very friendly and helpful. Limited sunbeds on roof terrace so get there early and don't hog - be considerate of other guests! Great choice of fresh, tasty food. Rooms, facilities and branded drinks all fab. Situated right opposite the beach (clue is in the name). Pool area small and covered. Spa facilities adequate. 5 min walk to take you to shopping area and old town centre. Supermarket almost next door. c€7-10 taxi into Old Town / Nightlife or a No 2 public bus service from right outside hotel (20 mins). Would definitely recommend but word to the wise - raucous hens and stags - book elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if possible though a supplement might be payable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Pam R:

Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Hotel Villa del Mar ! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate Magic experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our Jenny's level of service, we take great pride in her accomplishments. Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,847)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,045 - 1,051 of 2,850 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

We love this hotel for its location,cleanliness,food and wonderful staff.
The location on the seafront on the edge of the old town is ideal with superb views out to sea,
The hotel is kept immaculately clean by the very hard working cleaning staff.
The food is second to none with a wonderful menu of British,Spanish and European cuisine.
The staff are exceptional.The lovely ladies on reception (Mar and Veronica) where nothing is too much trouble for them. Manolo, the bar manager who is always dressed smartly and the restaurant waiters and waitresses who make sure everything is to one's liking.Plus many more too numerous to mention.
The rooms are well furnished but perhaps a little more wardrobe space would be nice especially if one is staying for more than a week or two.
The drinks are well known brands but the only downside is the mixers which come draft only. A bottle or two of tonic would be nice for the Gordon's!
Entertainment nightly is usually varied to cater for all tastes. But for a change,it is only a ten minute walk to the Fenicia Hotel and another ten minutes to the Cristal Park Hotel,both of which are part of the Magic Group,where you can use your hotel card to get food and drinks and watch the entertainment on offer there.
There is a nice indoor and outdoor swimming pool with children catered for. A small gymnasium. A spa and massage parlour.
Enough said. We have already booked for four weeks next February!

Room Tip: All good quality rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanRevitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Dear Alan Revitt:

Thank you for your post about your fantastic stay at the Magic Hotel Villa del Mar! We pride ourselves on providing our customers with the ultimate Magic experience and are thankful to be able to interact with such kind and generous guests. We are happy that you found our hotel to be such an ideal vacation spot. Thank you also for your positive comments on our staff's level of service, we take great pride in their accomplishments.
Thanks for taking the time to share this review; we'd love to have you back!
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Clean, but the service poor, got stuck in the lift foor more than 15 minutes, other guests brought water, to drnk, but the hotel never even said sorry ! all inclusive, very dissapointing, the food was oke, but would never take seconds... just the churros here are very good. Rooms clean and nice with bed looking to the sea. No kettle in the room, no fridge, and no balony. The last to reasons made me not coming back.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, i did not hear anyone complaign, but no kettle and no fridge and no balcony made...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janine-ariane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2014

Dear Janine-Ariane,

We we would like to thank you for your comments, we appreciate this comments because they help us to improve day by day. The Magic Villa del Mar have different systems such as Qualitas that help us to develop a comprehensive monitoring opportunities for improvement in each department of the Hotel.

We also have internal and external audits that measures the satisfaction of our customers. In Magic Hotel Villa del Mar there is a high index of guests that repeat year after year,and this makes us very proud, even so we still work hard to meet your expectations.

Formula 24 Guarantee of Satisfaction. If in 24 hours your expectations have not been fulfilled, you have the right, by using our formula 24 guarantee of satisfaction, to cash in (with no costs for cancellation except services already consumed) and we will help you to find another accommodation, including in another chain. You holidays are our priority.

Thank you again for your comments which are received in a positive direction and in a spirit of continuous improvement.

Yours sincerely,
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel was amazing, The staff everywhere in the hotel were friendly and helpful and made you feel so welcome .. The food was unbelievable, you have to see it to believe it .. the presentation was the best I've ever seen, and as people have said before .. there was something there for everyone!! We ate 'with our eyes' because it all looked so lovely, and ate far too much :-) We had a sea view room, which we would recommend to everyone, very spacious, lovely settee, our room was bigger than we expected.. We only have one tiny criticism and that was.. we didn't think the dining room was big enough for the number of guests staying there, occasionally we had to queue, but we realised we needed to get there as soon as it opened, and was much better then .. We would have no hesitation of staying there again, in fact I cant wait to go back !! We went all inclusive which I would do again. I almost forgot the roof terrace, that is a must .. such comfortable loungers and easy chairs, one of our favourite places ... Thank you to ALL the staff in the hotel for a wonderful holiday !!

Room Tip: We had a room on the 5th floor, sea view and were Very happy with it ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 000JEAN000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear 000Jean000,

We we would like to thank you for your comments, we appreciate this comments because they help us to improve day by day. Hotel Villa del Mar have different systems such as Qualitas that help us to develop a comprehensive monitoring opportunities for improvement in each department of the Hotel.

We also have internal and external audits that measures the satisfaction of our customers. In Villa del Mar is a high index of guests that repeat year after year,and this makes us very proud, even so we still work hard to meet your expectations.

Also, we appreciate your comments about the excellent professionalism of our staff.

Formula 24 Guarantee of Satisfaction. If in 24 hours your expectations have not been fulfilled, you have the right, by using our formula 24 guarantee of satisfaction, to cash in (with no costs for cancellation except services already consumed) and we will help you to find another accommodation, including in another chain. You holidays are our priority.

Thank you again for your comments which are received in a positive direction and in a spirit of continuous improvement.

Yours sincerely,
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Magic Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

By far the nicest hotel room we have ever had in Benidorm, and we have stayed in many hotels in the last thirty years. We booked a spa room with sea view, the room was large, modern, had the double spa bath with sea view. The beds were very comfortable with nice linen. The decor was very modern, plenty of draw space, wardrobe with hangers. Fridge, kettle, tv, all in working order. The bathroom, large modern two sinks large bath great power shower, hairdryer for the wife, lots of hot water. Only fault poor quality towels, apart from that a perfect room, well done to the cleaning staff, spotless. Booking in and out was easy with Veronica and Mar they had all the answers to our questions and had great local knowledge, spoke good English and were very helpfull. Both a credit to the hotel. The dining room, on the ground floor very bright and clean, but some of the tables and chairs were far to close together for comfort, and some of the food quality was very poor, cereals, the lamb, the chicken and the quail. While the turkey breast and the swordfish were fantastic. If you are not in the que at 7.30 you will not get a seat. Please start earlier for those with kids. We dined out every evening as it was not a relaxing four star dining expierience. The bar great staff and good quality drinks. The spa, oh dear, we booked at reception and our 3 euros for flip flops and shower cap. You can only go in the spa centre on the hour and only for one hour. This was made very clear to us many times by CARLA the woman in charge, what an attitude, no people skills, needs to be retrained, or chained up outside to keep thieves and vagabonds away. The spa was very dirty and we did not stay long. We reported this at reception and asked to see a manager, who arrived within 1minute. A very very good hotel, we came back yesterday and booked again to go in September. A five star bedroom, and many five star staff, but only a three star dining room. Best wishes John T

Room Tip: Pay the extra and have a sea view, just fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOHN T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear John T,


We we would like to thank you for your comments, we appreciate this comments because they help us to improve day by day. Magic Villa del Mar have different systems such as Qualitas that help us to develop a comprehensive monitoring opportunities for improvement in each department of the Hotel.

We also have internal and external audits that measures the satisfaction of our customers. In Magic Villa del Mar there is a high index of guests that repeat year after year,and this makes us very proud, even so we still work hard to meet your expectations.

Also, we welcome your feedback about the variety of food, cleanliness, friendly staff, pool and offering All-Inclusive in which you can visit other hotels

Formula 24 Guarantee of Satisfaction. If in 24 hours your expectations have not been fulfilled, you have the right, by using our formula 24 guarantee of satisfaction, to cash in (with no costs for cancellation except services already consumed) and we will help you to find another accommodation, including in another chain. You holidays are our priority.

Thank you again for your comments which are received in a positive direction and in a spirit of continuous improvement.

Yours sincerely,
Jose Barrera Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I was due to stay in this hotel at the end of April 2014. The trip had been booked over a year in advance for 26 females to stay. The hotel was chosen after careful consideration.
Due to reviews posted just before we travelled I contacted the hotel direct regarding our booking to ensure they would allow us to check in. I sent three emails but did NOT receive a reply!
Upon arrival the rude 'Deputy Manager' and receptionist refused to check us in. The first question they asked when 3 of us went to check in (whilst the others stayed outside) was 'how many are you checking in'. We said 26 and the staff immediately spoke in Spanish!
They then told us their hotel was 'full' and our booking had been moved to a sister hotel. I said I knew this would be the Magic Cristal Park and the staff confirmed this was where our booking was.
Despite trying to reason with the hotel staff for almost 3 hours, and being told that the President of the hotel does not 'speak to people like us' they refused to let us stay and we had no alternative but to move hotels.
The way the staff treated us was a disgrace. It was like we were 2nd class citizens. We were a group of professionals who were not out to cause trouble within their hotel.
Upon arrival at the other hotel, 3 star at best, we then faced another lengthy delay getting checked in. We tried to make the best of a bad situation however the food was awful and the pool area was also very poor.

TO SAY WE WERE DISAPPOINTED IS AN UNDERSTATEMENT. DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL IF TRAVELLING AS A GROUP. THEY WILL REFUSE TO LET YOU STAY AND WILL MOVE YOU TO THE CRISTAL PARK HOTEL. LOOK IT UP ON THIS WEBSITE TO SEE HOW INFERIOR IT IS.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
11  Thank victoriasavage81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Victoriasavage81;
Family Gourmet Villa del Mar hotel is an All Exclusive establishment that
offers the best holiday experience for families. In order to achieve this
goal we have to protect and defend the rest and relax of all our guests.

To provide an excellent service to our costumers, it has become our policy
not to accept stag, hen or celebration groups that might disturb other
guests. As a result of this policy we have been informing for almost a year
now all travel agencies that we do not allow those parties to stay in our
hotel. We also put extra effort in this matter by having people on our
Booking Department checking every day for bookings under different lead
names arriving the same day to detect “undercover” stag/hen groups and to
notify the travel agency immediately offering several alternatives.

The notice informing all our guests that we do not allow those kind or
celebrations groups is also available in our website.

Please notice this decision was the result of many complains of our guests
that came to our hotel to enjoy a safe and relaxing holiday and were not
allowed to because of those groups.

Yours truly,
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The hotel is og good value, and I have stayed in this hotel 5 times now, and I like the idea that I can use the other hotels within the group, the only draw backs are the poor entertainment at night, and the lack of space to relax in, otherwise all is ok.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, pay the extra for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Colin S.
Thank you very much for your kind words of our staff. They work very hard every day and focus their efforts in fulfilling all of our customers expectations. We are proud to read this opinion to know that all their hard work is achieving our main goal wich is your satisfaction and enjoyment. As for the entertainment we take note of your suggestion and looking for continuous improvement.
I can assure you that all of them, me included, look forward to welcome you and your back in a near future.

Kind regards,
Jose Barrera
Duty Manager Hotel Villa del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,586 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
4,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
1,887 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
0.7 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £76 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing