We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Ranked #5 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Arrived in Benidorm on 14th June to know transfer coach - first problem.

Coach arrived an hour later and dropped us five minutes from hotel meaning a walk down cobbled streets with cases!

On arrival hotel appeared nice - we were given upgrades to Sea View rooms all on the 2nd Floor.

Unfortunately unknown to us - the air conditioning was not working on the entire second floor and after numerous complaints and useless gestures by the management of bowls of fruit, bottles of cheap sparkling wine and a fan - we were given the option to move to the Magic Rock Gardens which we accepted.

Big mistake - the hotel was disgusting by comparison - up a steep hill - the complete other end of Benidorm from where we had spent the first three nights - rooms were dirty - facilities were looking very tired and dated and definitely not what we had booked!

I ended up booking a flight home early to escape after spending less than 12 hours there - big disappointment!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Keith,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback. The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority.

At the Villa del Mar we take the opinion of our clients seriously, they are our main source of information for the continual improvement of our programe.
During your stay we did try to bring you the best services and possibles solutions in order to keep your stay as much as enjoyable it has to be.
Please let us know if you would require to speak with some of our Loyalty Department.

Looking forward to welcoming you again during your next stay in Benidorm.

Sincerely yours,

Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,943)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,063 - 1,069 of 2,943 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Just back from another great stay 20th to 27th June at the villa del mar, rooms spotless, food good and definitely better choice from previous years. Was great to be able to use the roof top for longer and have the bar manned from morning till night very relaxing. Staff very friendly and welcoming especially Jose, Ali and Aida they are a real contribution to the hotel and make your stay extra special. Only one small issue was arrived just after midnight on the Friday and in need of a drink and snack however this was not on offer unlike other sister hotels offered their guests. Will defo be back.

Room Tip: Would have liked a sea view however was in 712 pool view and was more than happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Tracy and Harry,

Thank you very much for taking time to share your experience of your stay at our hotel and for your kind feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holidays with us at the Hotel Villa del Mar and will gladly share your positive feedback about our roof aera and the friendliness of our staff. Obviously we will pass all to them.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Alicia Gruener
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

After reading reviews in February 2014 I booked 2 rooms at the Villa Del Mar to celebrate my sister-in-laws 65th Birthday on 19th June for 3 nights.
In April my son and daughter said they would like to come along with us as a surprise for my sister-in-law but when I was looking on the internet noticed that the minimum nights the hotel would book was 4 but as we had already booked and paid our money in full thought we were fine - how wrong I was.
I received an e-mail on 18th June, the day before we were going to Benidorm, saying that we had been moved to the hotel Magic Rock due to overbooking!!! After numerous telephone calls was told that the hotel had changed its policy and no longer took 3 night bookings. Had Villa Del Mar advised us of this sooner we would have had the choice to book 4 nights - not just ship us out to another hotel that was nowhere near as nice or suitable. We would never have booked the Magic Rock hotel as it is on the top of a steep hill and due to various problems, 3 of the 4 of us were unable to climb this hill meaning that every time we left the hotel we had to use a taxi. It's the same old story when booking a holiday you can go where you want but once you pay your money you will go where they put you. What is even more annoying is that I e-mailed the Villa Del Mar twice - once to see if there were any sea view rooms available and the second time on the 16th June to see if pool towels were provided and received a reply on both occasions so why wasn't it noted then that we didn't even have a booking there!!!

I e-mailed the hotel several times on 18th June requesting the e-mails are passed onto the manager but surprise, surprise have still not received a reply. We are all so disappointed as we paid a lot of money to make a special birthday special but this was ruined thanks to the Villa Del Mar

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
9  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear Sue,

Firstlythank you for taking your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.

Please notice your Agency was informed properly in advance about the situation of your booking.In light, they tried their best offering you another great hotel from our big company "Costa Blanca" which is Rock Gardens.

We, Villa Del Mar always try to achieve the best solution for our customer in order to proceed and bring them an excellent stay in Benidorm.

However, we did not receive any email from your part after your stay. Could you kindly send us back to our Loyalty Department?

We look forward to your reply.

Yours Sincerely,

Duty Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We were at this hotel from 5th June until 18th June and had a fantastic time. On checking in we received a free upgrade to a seaview room with a jacuzzi, a lovely surprise, and one that was greatly appreciated! I had emailed about a month previously asking for a high floor if possible, and we were on the 8th floor, it's nice to know that they try to accommodate personal requests where possible. The food was good, it was getting a little repetitive toward the end of the holiday, but where doesn't that happen after 2 weeks, in saying that, there was still plenty of choice, and we always found something to eat, and anything we did have was of decent quality. Getting a bottle of wine with your meal at night is a nice touch. As mentioned in previous reviews, the restaurant isn't overly big, and can get a little busy, but we found it busiest as soon as it opened, with some guests obviously very keen to get a particular table, if you're not bothered where you sit, you will get a seat. The restaurant staff were very friendly, if not always very organised, I think this is more to do with them serving drinks and trying to clear tables, it might be better if they had half doing the drinks, and the other half clearing tables, this was more obvious when it was a bit busier, as some night you were waiting a while to get drinks served, and your starter dishes weren't always cleared away when you came back with your main course, but these are minor gripes. All the bar staff, from the main bar, to the bar in the chill out area, and in the last couple of days, the pool bar were great. They always had a smile and something polite to say. Our room was lovely, and was made up every day, and anytime we met the maid, again a smile on her face, and always said "ola". We can't fault any of the staff at all. Cleanliness in the main areas was good, but the pool wasn't overly clean when we started using it, however, the couple of days before we came away, this had been rectified, and the water was far better. We were a bit disappointed that the pool bar didn't open until the Saturday before we came away, and this had actually put us off using the pool area, as it is 2 floors away from the bar if you wanted a drink (even water or soft drinks), but the chill out area was great too, although it was really warm on a few days, and was just too hot for us on the roof. The slight downside is where the entertainment is held, it's in the lower ground floor, and it really is a bit dark and dingy. I would rather have an outdoor entertainment area.The professional acts that come in are decent, but I think it must be hard for them to perform to their best. We used to take a walk at night after dinner to the Magic Cafe which is based in the Cristal Park so that hubby could have a couple of pints of draught cider (don't have it in Villa Del Mar), and we saw the same acts, and have to say, they were better in the Magic Cafe than in Villa Del Mar due to the acoustics. To be honest though, we met so many lovely people, we weren't that bothered about the entertainment, so again it didn't ruin our holiday. All in all we had a fantastic time, and are already looking at booking again for next year. Thanks to everyone at Villa Del Mar for giving us a great holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank greeneyedgal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear,

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback. The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority.
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Villa del Mar and will gladly share your positive feedback about our all the buffet and the friendliness of our staff.
We always try to do our best to get a smile from our customer, this is definitely our best challenge.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next summer.
It would be a great pleasure for us.

Best regards,

Alicia Gruener
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stayed last week, rooms were very clean, (try and get a beach view if possible, views are fantastic) staff are a pleasure, nothing is to much trouble for them. Food was good. Pool bar was great as was the rooftop area. Only complaint was the swimming pool could have done with a good clean, water was very cloudy and could not see bottom of pool. I was told it was cleaned daily. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4793ladies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear ,

We were so happy to hear you had such a great experience.
It is nice to read that you remark the perfect location of our hotel and that you noticed our friendly and helpful staff. Certainly we have passed this on to our employees. We are also happy that you appreciate our restaurant food.

Looking forward to welcoming you again next time.

Sincerely yours,

Alicia Gruener
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fifth visit at Villa Del Mar.Our experience at the hotel just gets better and better. Lovely hotel, food just keeps improving. Great location and rooms really clean and refreshed every day. Staff are so friendly and very helpful. (Thanks for the bottle of cava in the room) a lovely touch. Look forward to returning, thankyou Villa Del Mar.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kent h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Mister Kent,

Feedback like yours has been instrumental in the planning process for our futures upcoming, so we really appreciate you taking the time to provide your words. We are glad to hear that once again we have reach the line of your expectations.

Please accept a huge thank you from all of us in Hotel Villa del Mar and looking forward to seeing you in the fifth time with us.

Kind regards,

Alicia Gruener
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Wonderful hotel all very good. Staff very friendly.. Can't praise Mar and Veronica enough who helped me out so much after having my wallet stolen up the town thank so much..great food good rooms all round first class.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DENNISSUMBLING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Director V, Director General at Villa Del Mar Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Madam,

Please accept a huge thank you from all of us here at the Hotel Villa del Mar. We are so happy to hear you had such a great experience. We will make sure all your comments will be passed to the reception Team.

Looking forward to welcoming again with us.

Best regards,

Alicia Gruener
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 191 in Benidorm
1,707 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
1,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
1.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 191 in Benidorm
4,384 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
2,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Del Mar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Del Mar Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Armada Espanola 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £83 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Del Mar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa del Mar, totally refurbished this winter, in first line of the Poniente beach... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Del Mar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing