We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best meal we experienced in Benidorm”
Review of The Vagabond

The Vagabond
Ranked #1 of 832 Restaurants in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$34
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Best meal we experienced in Benidorm”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I came here with a mate and we did not have reservations but the restaurant owner made a special effort to accommodate us on Sunday evening (11 May) , which we both really appreciated. Food-wise, this restaurant is superb and it really does live up to its reputation. The prices were really reasonable and the staff and ambiance were friendly and relaxed. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone coming to Benidorm and would happily eat here again. My mate said the same. We were really lucky to get in without a booking but I would recommend booking early if you plan to eat there, as the Vagabond is very popular and gets booked up quickly. Cheers from Mark and Steve! :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oi_mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,346 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    91
    21
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best restaurant in all of Europe”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I have been to this restaurant many , many times and can say without doubt it is the best night out you could hope to have. Not only is the food fantastic, but the owners, Freddie & Marie are terrific hosts. I have never been to a place that makes you feel more welcome, I really can't say enough about this place. 11 out of 10 for food, drink, and the best atmosphere in Benidorm.
See you soon Freddie & Marie

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ali212094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“best restaurant in benidorm”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Dined in restaurant with friends Heather and Jim that had dined before .Sandra and Gus, Tricia and Dave all from dundee Rita and wullie from Carluke all experienced the best meal ever.food amazing what a chief Fred full of fun chatting and sang to us all ,very welcoming definitely be back.a restaurant experience not to be missed xxxxxxx

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sandragallacher912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Vagabond Benidorm”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

After been recommended this restaurant we payed it a visit this week with friends . Our first visit to Benidorm . It was perfect in every way . The food the service and the atmosphere were excellent . Would recommend to anybody and will definitely be paying it another visit when we return to Benidorm

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martininwillerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clogher, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Chief was a little upset!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We visited here in Feb and had booked about a week in advance, on arrival we were seated in a table that was directly beside the bar/front of house area. We both ordered steak for mains and some wine. My wife specifically asked for the steak to be burnt which is the way she likes it and wont eat it otherwise. When the mains arrived the steak had blood running out of it and she sent it back. At this point I went to the restrooms were I overheard the chief/owner ranting in French about having to spoil a perfectly good steak by burning it. This really put me off. Now if the customer asks for their meat to be burnt then the chief should accommodate the request!! It did return burnt and we finished the meal. The guy did come over and awkwardly explain that steak shouldn't be cooked like this we but it did ruin the evening some what. He should learn that the customer is always right!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
11 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fouroulou, Owner at The Vagabond, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
you have waited 3 months to post this comment WOW !!! if you did it at the right time your review should be expired by now . instead of bothering people in restaurant with your burned filet mignon
do yourself a favor get some raviolis in the can and stay home, ....get a life !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Vagabond also viewed

 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to The Vagabond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing