We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed”

El Corral Del Pollo
Ranked #159 of 845 Restaurants in Benidorm
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Been going to el Corral del Pollo for the last 26 years. Very often visist the place when I used to stay in Benidorm and now I visite the place at least 3 times when I go there on holidays.
Myself and my family loved to go there as we enjoy the food and brings us great memories from the past as we had great meals there.
The last time we were there one of my guest found 2 body hairs in the chicken. Called the waiter and he started measuring the lenght of the hairs....(???). Walked away, didn't remove the plate and didn't at least apologise (???). 2 minutes after the manager arrived with a sour face and asked with a very bad actitude: what problem do you have with the food???. We explained the problem and I personaly asked him to remove the plate and he started giving us excuses that his chefs are wearing a chef hats in the kitchen. One of the waiters brought us back another 1/4 piece of chicken in a bad mood.
I heard that the place changed ownership and I can see that the new management needs to find an better way to deal with situations.
The answer for the suitation was to remove the plate right away and say: I am really sorry about this! That's it, very simple.
Unfortunately I will not go back there again because of their actitude. The rest of my family which they live there feels the same. Business like this needs customers as the crisis in Spain is really bad these days. Do not put people off.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luciano L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    110
    58
    11
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great chicken and ribs”
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Our 2nd visit great value and very tasty chicken and ribs. If you like BBQ cooked food and well cooked rotisserie chicken in a rustic setting not too far from the main bars it is worth trying. We will be back next time we come to benidorm

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seltjarnarnes, Iceland
Level Contributor
105 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Decent food but not the best service”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Over the past 20 years I have gone to this restaurant a number of times. They are always lacking just a little bit.

I went there with my family last week. When we walked in we were almost met with a "sigh" by the waiter, as if he did not have time to seat us and take our order.

The food was Ok,, We had 3 chickens,one portion of ribs and fries. (there were 8 of us) One of the chickens was really good,, the other 2 were a bit dry. The ribs were good, but the chips soggy and almost looked like they were boiled in oil.

Maybe this is due to the fact, that we were really early,, around 1800 so that the chickens we had may have been since the lunch rush.

Ive had better at this place, so I am gonna give them the benefit of the doubt

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank heyvinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“If you like chicken this place is for you”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The restaurant is almost hidden from view as is covered and the street side is lined with well established plants. Basic seating on benches but spacious. Service a little slow but the food was excellent. Although on half board at our hotel this made a good change from the norm for one night. Would definitely go again if in the area.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricardo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
152 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best casual dinner in Benidorm”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

We discovered El Corral del Pollo in our vacations last year; we loved the food. This year we went 4 times already, they have an excellent roasted chicken, delicious salads and the best ribs. The service is very good and the best price/quality relation make this Restaurant a place you can not miss in Benidorm.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Federico B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Corral Del Pollo also viewed

 
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
Benidorm, Costa Blanca
 

Been to El Corral Del Pollo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing