We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average hotel, shame about the location.”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #54 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

This was our second trip to benidorm for a long break over the easter weekend. Last time myself and my Husband visited benidorm we stayed in the old town, in the Villa Venecia Boutique hotel, so it was somewhat different to the Melia Benidorm, however that was also reflected in the huge difference in the price between the two.

Hotel - The Melia is a good hotel, I would rate it as an average 4*. It is clean and has everything that you would need for a holiday of this type. The reception staff were friendly and helpful, and the communal areas were kept clean at all times. The pool area is quite nice.

The rooms are again clean and have all amenities that you would need for a stay of this nature, and the maid service was fine.

Food - We did not eat any food in the hotel so I cannot comment on this aspect.

Location - This was the biggest down fall about the hotel, but I suppose that all depends on what you want out of your trip. We are a yound couple in our early 20's that like to have a good time, yet we dislike the whole british pub thing that benidorm seems to have going on. We much prefer to go into the old town and do as the spanish do, with Tapas and Sangria ect.

I would say that this is hotel is ideal for a girls or lads holiday who want a bit of cheap sunshine and easy access to the tacky parts of benidorm.

If you are looking for something special / romantic I would suggest staying further out of this area and heading towards the old town of benidorm.

On the whole, this hotel served its purpose and was adequate for what we wanted; a cheap hotel in the sunshine, however I would probably not stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tommy06Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Hello tommy06manchester, first of all we want to thank you for sharing all this comments about the different areas of our hotel with all our followers. We understand your point of view although we also allocate a lot of couples looking for a quiet and romantic holidays. Thank you for choosing Meliá benidorm this time! Kind regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,094)
There are newer reviews for Melia Benidorm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,933 - 1,939 of 4,101 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

We stayed at Melia for 1 week from march 19th 2013 so been back home foe a week now. Planning our return already :-) This is for various reasons. Hotel staff all mainly very friendly particularly Alexandra on the bar service and Andrea and Paolo ! Lovely people and very friendly . Alan on the karaoke entertainment was great and we looked forward to nights he was there as always fun. The hotel had an overall relaxing atmosphere. Our room was lovely and had great views and the restaurant always had something nice to eat and always food accessible at various times to all inclusive guests which we were. Location of hotel was perfect for us as within walking distance of beach and main nightlife but far away enough not to be disturbed by noise of main strip. If I had to mention any negatives it would be that the entertainment in large entertainment room seemed flat and could have had more varied diverse entertainment to suit families. Maids did not mop floors in our room as my daughter was sick and we could smell the sick for days. ( due to alcholol consumption and not the hotel ) one day maid did not come at all and I had to chase this up 3 times with reception as we had no clean towels and waiting to get ready . Overall though this hotel was fab and we will be returning :-) Thanks Melia and particularly Alexandria for making our stay a friendly one.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank pauline_mcpartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Hi pauline_mcpartland, thank you for your nice feedback about our hotel. We are proud of receive opinions as yours. We hope to see you again in Meliá Benidorm. Best Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

I stayed at the Melia for 10 nights last summer in July. The hotel is located in a great place, near shops and bars. However, the hotel is not close to the clubs and the main ''square''. The walking distance is fine though, and there is always something to do in Benidorm.

The Melia is a fantastic hotel and I recommend it to everyone who wants a peaceful holiday sunbathing by the pool, or wanting to have walks in and around Benidorm. The food is lovely! The rooms are very clean and modern. I was very pleased.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarrotCake_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hello CarrotCake_123, thank you very much for sharing now your experience in our hotel last summer. If you expect to come back next summer again we will try to satisfy all your request as we do with all the guests that choose Meliá Benidorm every year. Great Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Just returned from 12 nights all inc at the melia benidorm, an overall pleasant experience, nice room, maybe a bit on the small side, beds ok, nice balcony, lovely grounds and pools, good indoor pool, jucuzzi and suna. The check in process is to slow and needs to be overhauled, also the management need to plan for, instead of reacting to an upturn in guests arriving, as staffing levels at meals times were way to low, the food was plentiful with fair choice but the hot food was hit and miss on several nights, and the cooked breakfast was mediocre. Most of the staff were lovely apart from jesus at the restaurant entrance, who was miserable and unprofessional, maybe he had a saw bottom as he was scratching it rather a lot, poor lovey. I must commend alexandro and jose as high as possible for their fantastico service, can do attitude and sense of humor while doing so, what ever they are being paid it should be trebled at least. Apart from waiting for what seemed forever for the lifts to come to your floor, we had a nice time at this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms on either end of hotel have double balcony
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank largernlime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E-Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2013

Hi Largernlime, thank you for your feedback about your experience in our hotel. We appreciate so much all your comments and we will consider them to improve our service, because the opinion of our guests is a big value for us. We hope to see you soon again if you come back to Benidorm. Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

My partner and I spent a week in the Melia in January. We were most impressed by the quality of the accommodation and the overall ambience of the hotel. The food selection at all meals was excellent and well prepared. There was entertainment in the evenings and those providing it were good at their jobs which was a challenge for them as there were only a few quests in attendance. Staff were at all times helpful and friendly. We would be happy to stay in this hotel on a future occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E-guest Experience Manager at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2013

Hello Janet5353, thank your for your feedback about the food, entertaiment and staff in general. We hope that in the future you will choose Meliá Benidorm again when you decide to come back to Benidorm. Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We only stayed one night bed and breakfast but found the hotel was much better than the last one we stayed at in Benidorm. Check in was fast and the room while a little worn was OK for our needs. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom fine. The TV did not work but that did not worry us. They charge for internet and room safe. The breakfast choice was varied, but my wife and I are not big breakfast eaters.The gardens around the pool are lovely and there is plenty of space outside and in the lounge area. I would stay there again B and B on another trip to Benidorm.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EXPATMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hi EXPATMAN, first of all thank you for your time to share with all the Tryp Advisor followers your experience in Meliá Benidorm. Opinions as your give us strengh to carry on working hard to satisfy our guests. We would like you to visit us again if you come back to Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

went in march this year, my third stay at this hotel. staff at reception very helpfull at all times, but I allways had to wait as they appeared short of staff. the room was nice, plenty of room, clean and warm, although you could hear some noise from other rooms at times. The restraunt has lost something since my last visit, there where never enough staff on duty, sometimes only two at breakfast this caused some problems with plates remaining on the table, similar problem on an evening, the food was adequate, but i am a fussy eater when abroad. we noticed that there where no longer any tablecloths on an evening, this could relate to the obvious staffing shortages.We also noticed a lot of the plates where not clean, and allways had to inspect the plate we where about to eat off. the pool area was under renovation, they where painting the area that surrounds the pool red, on previous visits we found problems with the sun beds, they had foam padded covers, but where left out in all weathers and filled with water, which you where un aware of untill you lay on them, these have now been replaced with standard sun beds that look second hand, quite a few where broken. All this said i will admit to being a bit 'picky' i did enjoy my stay there but can't help feeling standards have dropped since my last visit.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MeliaB, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Hello Dennis W., we like to thank you for writing your comments about your last visit to our hotel. We apologize if this time we did not satisfy all your expectatives as previous visits. As we explain to previous followers, we change the style of our restaurant like many modern hotels do in our company and other hotel companies, but of course we accept that many guests prefer the classic fashion with tablecloths. In our pool we replace every year a lot of our sunbeds with new ones. We like to thank you again for choosing Meliá Benidorm and we hope to see you on your next visit to Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,217 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,800 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
1,391 reviews
3.2 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
920 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#12 of 192 in Benidorm
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#28 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £66 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Melia, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing