We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August 2014 stay in Sole Melia Benidorm”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #47 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Newry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“August 2014 stay in Sole Melia Benidorm”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Totally enjoyed my trip this summer everything was excellent as usual and will be back for the forth time this year at Christmas. Staff were very helpful and could not do enough for you hopefully when I retire I will be there for longer periods through out the year

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brendan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Brendan M, first of all, thank you very much for choosing again Meliá Benidorm to spend your holidays, and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again on Christmas Time! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,365
    1,337
    664
    246
    161
See reviews for
1,179
1,547
74
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (752)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Stayed here for a wk in August booked last minute just needed a wk in the sun! Good points room cleaned daily, nice size bathroom only complaint would be pillow was like sleeping on a brick! Food great always plenty of options ( lady who cooks the fish could try smiling though!)
Bad points!! The hotel does absolutely nothing regarding reserving sunbeds. A lot of people left them on all night, surely they should be removed? If you are not down by 7.00am to get one of the remaining beds then forget it!
The hotel management need to get it sorted & for this reason alone I would not return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Col M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Col M, thank you for your review. We will consider your good and bad points in order to improve our services in the Hotel. Great regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Ok, so a great looking hotel with a great pool. Lagoon style with lots of palm trees, only problem is you have to be up by 7am if you want a sun bed! Towards the end of our stay it got even worse as people were leaving their towels on the beds overnight - effectively reserving the best spots for the whole of their holiday. When I complained to reception they simply shrugged said there were "no rules though we have many complaints" and "I will pass it on to the manager" we never saw him once during the whole holiday. Come on Melia you can do better.

Food was pretty good - good variety with steaks most nights, we were all inclusive but not sure we got value for money drinks wise as the evening entertainment was so poor we went out most nights. It's definitely geared towards the spanish guests which is understandable as they were in the majority but apart from some drab music the variety acts were only 3 nights a week and half an hour long. The hotel is very close to some great bars and drinks are cheap (Levi's showboat, Tropical and Rock n Roll bar)

Service by the maids was excellent and I'd single out Penelope and Jose Javier from the restaurant as being particularly good. I'd also agree with the other reviews about the bar staff making more of an effort with Spanish guests but Andrea was very friendly with a great smile.

In all once you got a decent spot for a sun bed it was a great holiday, that just took the gloss of it for me and Melia you really need to look at this if you want better reviews.

Room Tip: We were on the 17th floor. Quiet and a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunInTheSun875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
FuninTheSun875, thank youf for your good comments about our restaurant and housekeeping service. We will also take your complain about the sunbeds to improve this service in the future. Great regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Well overall this hotel was excellent, can't complain about anything to be honest. The rooms were very clean, nice warm showers, excellent view, just all round good! The food was excellent, great choice and was very nice! However, maybe more frying pans in the morning for omelets would be more efficient as there was a que quite a lot. The pool side was extremely clean, always got sunbeds with a decent enough entry and view to the pool and close to the bar.. the all inclusive was also good, they give you a normal drink, obviously in a smaller cup than just normally buying, with the same amount of product you would normally get from buying which is very good! The wifi was also very good, as it's a "lazy" holiday you would want to contact home and this hotel allows you to do so, you have to pay but if you say you have a 'loyalty' card wifi comes free with it. it's fast and very efficient but it doesn't allow you to FaceTime, just whatsapp or any other messaging like that!
The only disadvantage was a certain barman, not sure of his name but he just threw the drinks onto the table without no manners whatsoever, sometimes the drink come out of the glasses, just no need and it doesn't take much effort to nicely place it on a table for you.
However, this hotel was fantatsic for the time I stayed and would recommend it for you.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregga123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear gregga123, first of all we like to thank you so much for your time to share here on Tryp advisor your opinions about our Hotel. We will share them with our staff and try to solve this little mistakes in our bar department. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My husband, 4yr old son and I stayed here for a week in August b & b. I am pleased we didn't opt for all inc as we only had one drink in the hotel as it wasn't very nice. (It was also quite expensive) and the entertainment was pretty drab. The breakfast was nice and a lot of selection for everyone, I'm vegetarian and usually struggle on holiday with variety for breakfast but I had lots to choose from. The room was spacious and immaculate with towels/bedding being changed daily, the maids are fab (the little extras in the room are a lovely touch) The pool area is lovely (with exception of the smelly pool bar toilets) but to get a sun lounger in the morning is impossible, we noticed alot of guests reserving them at night for the following day. The location is really good, opposite the hotel is a selection of bars, eateries and shops, the rock n roll house was a regular of ours and the Chinese (little china I think??) Was gorgeous and really the nicest Chinese takeaway me and my husband have had.
The hotel is about 15 mins walk to the beach and there's a market just around the corner on a sunday. mundomar is only a 5 min bus ride away, our son loved it, the dolphin show there was amazing but book tickets through tourist information over the road from the hotel as it saves about 30 euro.
All In all it is a lovely, clean hotel, a nice place to stay and a good base for a wonderful holiday, just don't rely on the hotel to provide your enjoyment.
Also take some snacks while you wait to check in Lol we were 7th in line and waited about 30 mins to be checked in, it took forever and the staff on reception were far from service with a smile.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Deegriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Deegriff, thank you very much for sharing your review on TripAdvisor. We celebrate that in general you enjoy your stay with us. We hope that in the future you will visit us if you choose Benidorm again for your holidays in Spain. Great regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

My Husband & I stayed at this hotel for 6 nights from 9th August. If I had to make a complaint about the hotel, it would be the delay for checking in, & not being able to get a bed round the pool area unless you were there putting your towel down around 7am to 7:30!! Other than that the room was really big as was the bathroom, it was kept extremely clean. All reception staff were very friendly but unfortunately I can't remember the the name of one in particular!! But he did wear funky coloured glasses, he was great!!
The hotel is about a 10/15 min walk to the beach, 10 mins to the strip. Tiki beach is a great place to go for an afternoon drink, very lively, with great live music!
Would go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Amanda G, first of all, thank you very much for choosing Meliá Benidorm to spend your holidays, and for taking the time to write your opinion here on TripAdvisor. We are very glad to read that you had such a lovely stay, and we would be delighted to receive you again with us! Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I stayed here from the 21st July 2014 for a week with my 6 and a half year old granddaughter. This was my 5th stay at this hotel. We had a lovely room on the 10th floor. A superior room on a corner of one of the buildings. Lovely views. Our room was cleaned well and fresh towels daily. No complaints with our cleaners. The pool area is lovely. We got sunbeds every day. Aqua aerobics was very good.
I think what let's the hotel down is the offer of all inclusive, with the full and half board clients. If you wasn't AI you certainly paid for your decent drinks. One evening we went to watch the entertainment, I ordered a Smirnoff Vodka and Diet coke and a diet coke and it was 9 euro. I gave a 10 euro note over the bar and got no change. I didn't buy another drink there. The entertainment was not very good in fact like most people we went out every night after that.
I also saw a decline in the quality of food. Bed and breakfast is what I would do in future if I returned. Breakfast was the better meal, but like other comments if you want an omelette, be up early as there is only one chef with a very small pan. The toasters too need updating. To get a decent tan on my toast one morning 2 slices of bread went through 5 times.
I think hotels should either do b & b, half or full board or just do All inclusive, Not Both.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. All are pool view. Superior rooms have L shaped balconies and 2 wardrobes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harriet11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Harriett11, fhank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are very disappointed that this time we were not able to fulfill your expectations during your stay as previous visits. On the other hand, we are glad to read that you felt satisfied with your room and breakfast service. Thank you for visiting Meliá Benidorm again. Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,644 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,613 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
0.6 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#27 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Property: Melia Benidorm
Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#26 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Melia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing