We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“find a sunbed”
Review of Melia Benidorm

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Melia Benidorm
Ranked #52 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“find a sunbed”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

the hotel rooms were what you would expect from a four star, clean spacious,towels changed every day,the staff were very courtious, the big bummer was that it was full of spaniards who thought it was their given rights to keep a sunbed for their vacation, this meant that the towels were left on their beds permanent, very frustrating when having three young children

Room Tip: all rooms face the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlie788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Charly788, thank you for visitng Melia Benidorm with your family. We will consider your comments and keep on improving all our services. Great regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,939 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    1,384
    696
    269
    173
See reviews for
1,235
1,610
77
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at Melia Benidorm and the previous reviews are absolutely right - you have to leave your towels down all night if you want a sunbed. I've been travelling abroad for almost 30 years and have never come across another hotel that allows this. I kept having to get up earlier and earlier (6.30am one morning!) and couldn't understand why there were more towels down yet I wasn't seeing anyone else about. We wandered down to the pool area one evening just after midnight and, sure enough, nearly all the beds had towels and inflatables on them. Several people complained to the management, only to be told that it was allowed! This would put me off staying there again, which is a shame as it is a lovely hotel - great big pool area, plenty of shade if you want it, very clean. We were on a bed and breakfast basis, but we could have gone self catering as there are loads of bars and restaurants within a 5 to 10 minute walk. The beach is straight down from the hotel, about a 15 minute walk, and there are loads of places there too. The old town is a bit further, probably a good 25 minute walk along the beach front, if you want to shop. The queue at breakfast was a nightmare, literally like a cattle market, and we could also see people having to queue for lunch and dinner too. We've gone to other resorts on an all inclusive basis and have never had to queue at meal times. There wasn't really anything for our daughter (aged 11) to do, so it's probably not the best hotel to go to if you want your kids to be entertained. They also allow smoking in this hotel - we even saw people smoking in the swimming pool! We will definitely return to Benidorm as it's a fun place. Would recommend the Union Jack pub - great food, very reasonably priced and lovely staff.

Room Tip: This hotel has 23 floors and you will have to wait ages for the lifts, so try to get a room on one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flo2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Esteemed Flo2106, our sincere apologizes for the problems caused due to the situations that you mention in your review. We hope that on your next visit you will find that our Hotel improve some aspects that this time you did not like. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldham
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

We have just returned from the Melia Hotel in Benidorm, as usual we have a lovely stay , the food has improved and the staff remain friendly and very helpful.

The one problem is the pool area, it Is a lovely pool but unless you put your towel on a sunbed before you go to bed at night you have no chance of a day round the pool.

my husband and I managed two afternoons by the pool, by patrolling the pool and grabbing a sun bed as people left. on our last day we did manage to spend and afternoon by the pool and witnessed a couple who sat on the sunbeds that were covered in towels sit on them for 30 minuets. The lady who we chatted to said that she had managed to save her sunbeds for the past 3 days by leaving her towels on them over night. The couple previously mentioned apparently left the towels there everyday. This is an all inclusive hotel if you have children and are on a budget this would seriously spoil your holiday. I suggest that notices are placed in the pool area informing clients that towels will be removed after 60 minuets if they are not used. This gives people ample time to have lunch and come back to the sun bed. other wise selfish people spoil it for the rest.

Room Tip: the de-lux rooms have a large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanml55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Susanml55, thank you for choosing Meliá Benidorm again for your holidays in Benidorm. It is nice to hear from you that in general you enjoy again our services. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Seen this hotel built in 2002 and stayed 4 times. First 2 times splendid but cuisine poor. Vastly improved 3 years ago, with cava in the morning, show cooking, choices of hot, first dish and main dish. evening or late afternoon. My travel company offered half board or full.. Was there now begin august. Hotel crowded but kept its high standard. Pool fantastic, garden luxurious. Inside pool also, with fitness and wellness center. Very light entertainment in "le salon" piano but shows evening garden outside. Of course lots of kids having a good time until midnight. They will renew the hotel this winter. The boss is there already from the beginning. Exceptional for a hotel part of a group. Keep the good work on! Hope to be there this winter. Of course you are a 12 minutes walk to the paseo but its a lively street so day or night, always something to see. and the supermarket across the street is well furnished and not expensive..And to the left a very lively rock and roll cafe with 50 and 60 music

Room Tip: from the 15 floor on you can see the sea (about 5 cm between buildigs hahaha) top level is 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ossemivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Dear osseviman, thank you for coming back and for your time to complete this review.We hope to welcome you again this winter. Great regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Just returned on 29th of August from a 6 night stay with my partner and 5 y.o daughter. When we arrived the hotel looks nice as you would expect from a 4 Star, you then get to the reception desk where 1 receptionist was expected to check in around 20 people...45 minutes later we was given our room card. Up to the 18th floor and was impressed with the room... Clean, spacious, large beds, large bathroom and a 32" flat screen tv with 24hr english kids channel. Next was the pool.. Well the pool area was great. 3 pools, 1 for infants with 2 slides and 2 larger 1s with sloped walk in and waterfalls. The only problem with the pool area, which let the hotel down is the sun loungers. The spanish reserve them the day before which leaves the odd one scattered around (usually under a tree or by a bin!!) i had to get up 1 day at 6.40 to get 2 loungers in a half decent spot. The management say nothing about the spanish reserving them the day before!! And dont get me started on the spanish there on holiday.... Rude is a huge understatement!!!! All in all the Melia is a lovely hotel but if you are going to stop there try to avoid the busiest times, i.e kids 6 week holidays

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed for 1 week August. Arrived late but was greeted with a nice receptionist. The only problem is they expect you to be know where everything is and what is included with " all inclusive " with very little guidance. Our room was clean but small with a put up chair bed which I thought was a cheek considering the price. The food was nice but repetitive. Deserts selection were rubbish . No effort made to present the food nicely. However drinks were served to the table and waiting staff very friendly. Don't go for breakfast, lunch or evening meal late. It is not a nice experience. If you arrive early it is much calmer. I missed being able to snack outside . Sun beds! Totally spoiled our weeks holiday, never have I stayed in a hotel where the management do not manage. When you informed them of your problems they did nothing. I was verbally attacked more times then enough over sun beds. I had to get up 7 am to reserve a bed then accused of moving towels and beds. It was a horrible experience. I would return to benidorm I was pleasantly surprised by how nice it was but not at the Melia. The pool was a nice. Plenty of shallow water for kids. The entertainment was rubbish . The kids stuff all Spanish .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Nicola C, we are very dissapointed if this time we did not fulfill your expectations due the reasons that you mention is your comments. We will take your "bad " points like a great value to improve our services. Kind regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

just returned , lovely rooms overlooking pool ,
spacious and clean , towels changed every day room cleaned , sheets changed half way through our 6 night stay ,
fantastic food , something for everyone and really high quality ,
never seen such a high standard of food , cooked fresh , and literally in front of you .
pool area was beautiful , spotless ,
but for the avid sunbather lots of shaded parts too ,
one big complaint , the usual sun bed towel brigade , putting towels on overnight to get a spot , maybe more beds needed in peak times .
reception staff great , especially porters jose and xavier .
would stay again , maybe in off peak times even better ,
lots of spanish families here , some very very rude ones too sadly .

Room Tip: all rooms face pool , higher floors are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tracy_and_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raul_MBenidorm, E- Guest Experience at Melia Benidorm, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Dear Tracy_ and_ family, thank you very much for sharing your opinions with all our followers here on Tryp Advisor.We celebrate that in general you enjoy your holydays with us. We hope to welcome you all next year. Kind regads!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,929 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#29 of 192 in Benidorm
1,746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#7 of 192 in Benidorm
1,316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#38 of 192 in Benidorm
2,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Benidorm

Property: Melia Benidorm
Address: Avda. Doctor Severo Ochoa 1, 03500 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#46 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 526
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Hotels International present Melia Benidorm. Located in the Rincón de Loix and at 900 meters from Levante Beach, is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers, thanks to the extensive and comfortable facilities and its superior quality services. The rooms (526) with views to the spectacular lagoon pool with waterfalls and the magnificent gardens of the hotel with tropical vegetation. Decorated with stylish design in Mediterranean colors, equipped with 2 single beds (twin), LCD 32 'TV', hot / cold, functional workspace with Internet access (Wi-Fi) and socket for laptop, AACC, sofa bed, safe, minibar (*), bathroom and terrace (chairs / table). Enjoy the indoor heated pool, full gym, sauna and two whirlpools, and a full and varied program of day and evening activities. Playground, spacious dining areas. 10 meeting rooms and banquet facilities (*), parking exclusively for our customers (*), taxi and bus stop in front of the Hotel, amongst other sensational services. (*) With charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Onthebeach, Booking.com, Ebookers, Melia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Melia Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Benidorm Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Melia Hotel Benidorm
Benidorm Sol Melia
Hotel Melia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing