We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3* Hotel 4* Holiday!”
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #36 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
High Peak
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3* Hotel 4* Holiday!”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Reading some previous reviews I was very apprehensive after booking at this hotel. I need not have worried. This is a fabulous hotel. My daughter and I stayed all inc in the Ocas. Rooms are very modern and clean having been fully refurbished. Air con excellent. Several uk channels on large flat screen tv. Maid service great as rooms can be cleaned later in day if you want a lie in. Food excellent, both on cooking and choice. Yes there was chips every day but also mash, boiled, jacket and roast. Different roasts every day as well as fish, cold meats, salads, pizza, pasta. All staff are helpful and friendly and work very hard. To comment on previous reviews, some staff do not speak much English and so they do struggle with communication, but for goodness sake, you are in Spain. Try learning Spanish. There was no waiting at the bars to be served as plenty of bar people. One reviewer complained that there were three in their party and they could only have 2 drinks at a time. In my book, that means 3 people - 6 drinks.
There was plenty of entertainment for children who all seemed to be enjoying themselves and also an opportunity for them to take part in the excellent evening shows. Must mention here, the male dancer with the beard looks to be a professional dancer and better than the dancers at the Palace.... We had no problems getting a sun bed. There were many beds where people had placed towels to reserve and then disappeared for most of the day. This is not a fault of the hotel but selfish guests. No balls or lilos in the main pool. Great. No balls splashing or having to swim round lilos. However, these are allowed in the Ocas pool. All in all, a fabulous holiday at a great hotel. Will certainly be coming back next year.. Keep up the good work

Room Tip: Any room in the Ocas
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Helen O,
Thank you very much for your detailed review. Opinions and reviews as yours are very important to us, as they confirm that we are working in a correct way and that we are satisfying our guests with our services and facilities. We will pass on your comments to "the dancer with the beard" :-) and you are right, he is a fantastic dancer and his work is of a great value to our guests and our Management. We are very glad to hear that you will return next year and we really look forward to welcoming you again in Sol Pelícanos Ocas! Kind regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,774 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,651
    2,301
    1,181
    396
    245
See reviews for
2,582
2,103
146
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,819)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Thought we'd booked for the Pelicanos but when we got there at 10.30pm and after being kept waiting for 10 minutes by a rude receptionist, we were told we were 'next door'. Went next door to the Pelicanos Ocas and were met by a very smiley and efficient man who was helpful.

Both the interior and exterior are immaculate. The room was modern and spotless; big walk in shower, good air con, comfortable beds and a fridge. Clean sheets and towels every day.

Went all inclusive and wasn't sorry. Huge variety of good food every day and at breakfast omlettes were cooked to order while you waited.

Satff work very hard and do it with a smile. The childrens entertainers deserve a medal.

Never had any trouble getting a sun lounger regardless of what time we went to the pool. They might have queued in the Pelicanos because it's the 'pool off the telly'.

If I've got one very slight gripe it's that the entertainment is 95% child focused even late evening, but with the amount of bars etc on the doorstep that's not a big problem.

I've stayed in a few hotels in Benidorm and this is by far the best.

Room Tip: We asked not to be on too high a floor and we got rooms on the 6th floor which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Arrived around two oclock in the morning and was informed our room was occupied and we would be put into another room until the next day,after searching for our room which we could not find we headed back down to reception who said he was sorry he should have gave us directions as this room was through some sort of fire door at the end of a corridor on a stairwell,its the last thing you need at two in the morning after travelling all day.
Things got worse,we went out to meet our friends for a couple of drinks who were already there on the the way back to the hotel i was attacked by two youths who seemed to be local and had my money stolen( i chased them and got some of my money back which i dont recommend has they turned quite nasty) I reported this to the same guy in reception who just said sorry the police will all be asleep now and made it plain he wasnt interested,People we spoke to for the next couple of days all had a story about people being mugged or followed.
I have holidayed far and wide for the last few years and the interest of the tourists have been paramount it seems in benidorm no one give a toss about you,the police know whats going on and could clean the streets up but dont seem to care.
The hotel was nice and clean but had paper thin walls ,on a couple of occassions when returning from a night out we walked through reception into the hotel without a soul in sight given what had happened to us I thought the security was poor anybody could walk in and out without being challanged, and if you didnt get up at the crack of dawn and put a towel on a sun bed you werent going to get one so never bothered with the pool.
To sum up if your out and about in the late evening be very careful its not safe,and you wont get any help.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ViktheViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The Sol Pelicanos Ocas was in a great location very close to all the night life and beach but far enough away for some peace and quiet if you are not into all the hustle and bustle of an evening, the swimming pools where amazing, best part of the whole hotel, reception, dining area and bar all maintained well although we was very dissapointed with the room only because there seems to be an issue with sewage on the side that we where staying on. We complained to the management that the bathroom had an awful smell coming from it so asked to be moved, unfortunately the hotel was fully booked so instead of somebody looking at the bathroom we had a maid visit out room with an air freshener! Typical Spain i guess, fortunately she left the air freshener because we had to spary every evening before bed and in the mornings before we left the room, it was that bad. If you book this hotel avoid room 210 or anywhere on that side if you can. Other than that the hotel staff where friendly and helpful, bar snacks overpriced but nice, did not go fully inclusive only BB but if the breakfast was anything to go by im glad we eat out in the evenings, fully inclusive would probably suit familes just for the amount of money the bar snacks and drinks cost. Hotel in general would suit families, couples, friends and single people. Couldn't understand comments previous to our trip stating about having to be up very early for sunbeds we managed to get one every day we stayed around the pool although for a large party this could have been an issue!! All in all I am not sure i would stay at this hotel again considering what we paid for a week as there are many hotels in Benidorm that i would say personally are better value for money but for the swimming pools and location if you are desperate to book somewhere its worth a looking, you also may get lucky and not have Beckton Sewage Works wafting from your bathroom!!!!! :)

Room Tip: Avoid Room 210 or anywhere on the East Side, i imagine they may smell as bad as the room we stayed i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldham5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Oldham5,
First of all, thank you for your review and for spending your holidays in Sol Pelícanos Ocas. We are glad to read your positive comments on our services and the maintenance of our Hotel. We do regret the remarks about your room, and we assure you that your comments will be used to avoid any similar situations. We hope that you will grant us another opportunity to receive you in our Hotel. Once again, thank you for your comments. Yours sincerely, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holyhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2012

On arrival told that we would be in Sol Ocas. was initially disappointed by this as another group of friends were in the Pelicanos. Our rooms had no balcony but when we asked at reception we were moved to the front as soon as a room was available.
We were allowed to use the facilities in both hotels - dining rooms, bars, pools etc. (I wonder from the comments if this is not the case in high season). We were staying all inclusive and none of us were ever asked to pay for a snack at the pool bar. We found the Ocas dining room to be a bit quieter so we opted to dine there most of the time. Yes, there were busy times but these can always be avoided.
Staff were always pleasant with us. The entertainment staff seemed to work long days and, although we did not have small children with us, from what we could see the children were having a great time. We even got into the spirit of it with the water aerobics every afternoon!!
The hotel is well located for the beach and the night life, very clean, pleasant rooms with a good variety of food and a lovely swimming pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megso52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, 22 September 2012
Dear Megso52,
Thank you for your positive review, and for spending your holidays in Sol Pelícanos Ocas! We are very pleased to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that you liked our wateraerobics! Our Entertainment Team does work very hard and we assure you that their hard work is of a great value to our guests and our Management! We hope to receive you again in our Hotel! Best regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

we came to this hotel for a week on the 3rd sept. first time so have nothing to compare it with. spotless but did nt like the smell that suddenly appeared at times.had no probs gettin sunbeds although i watched them waiting to grab them from about 8 30 am.from our balcony.meals were very varied but soup tasted the same every night although had a different name to it.loads to eat and anybody thant can t find anything to eat here is just so hard to please.one moan is the man that gives you your juice or water for your dinner is the most sour faced person i have ever seen, felt like he was doin me a favour givin me my juice, never cracked a smile the whole week.went all inc but did nt go for lunch all week cos we were so full after breakfast as it goes on till 11 00 am. long lies for us. the maid did nt bother you till you were out of your room,which i liked. room was a bit small but if we go back i would ask for a bigger one as they have them i ve found out. would definitly go back again. as i said the only downside is the smell that you sometimes get.

Room Tip: we were in 217 and thought it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Catherine H,
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holidays and I assure you that we have taken note of every comment that you made. We would delighted to receive you again in Sol Pelícanos Ocas. Thank you very much for choosing our Hotel to spend your holidays! Best regards, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Myself my husband and son aged 9 had a brill time, yes my hubby did have to get up a 8am to get sunbeds but always got where we wanted, yes even though you had to pay for drinks at the swim up bar even though we were all inclusive but this did not bother us the main pool was fab very big enough space for everyone to swim we stayed in ocas hotel this was nice,clean and very quiet (once the patio doors were shut ) noisy when open ! but be aware these are hotel rooms and not apartments so quite small but when do you spend a lot of time in your room! the staff done a good job expecially the entertaiment team,location was great near to a lovely sandy beach and plenty to do at night with lots of clubs and bars Food was good and plenty to choose from but did get busy around 9pm lots of spanish families whom were very noisy Overall we had a good time and will return with my older children and thier wives and my four year old grandson but think a week is long enough we were shattered when we got home (too many late nights down the strip) I was nervous after i had read some very negative reviews but honestly i am very fussy and would recommend to all ages shapes and sizes

Room Tip: we paid extra to have a pool view we requested a lower floor we got the sixth floor which was good w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie-SolPO, Guest Relations Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this review, 12 September 2012
Dear Emma P,
First of all, thank you for your review, and for choosing Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays! I am glad to read your positive review, as the satisfaction of our guests is the main commitment of our Hotel and our company, Meliá Hotels International! We really look forward to welcoming you and your family again with us! Best regards and see you soon, Valérie Arnauts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#48 of 192 in Benidorm
3,851 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
945 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
1,656 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Property: Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Melia, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing