We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but still no free wifi in 2014 spoils it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Ranked #37 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

I have stayed here a few times and decided to go again. Rooms are basic but very clean. Food was good and the pool area is what draws me back as its huge so no problem getting a sun bed unless its July or August school holiday time. I will try somewhere else next time though as I still can't believe NO FREE WIFI in 2014 at the hotel is ridiculous. IF they had free wifi throughout people would spend more time there and spend more in their bars. The TV in the rooms is also very poor it had 2 or 3 UK channels but not the best picture. I think they could change this hotel from a good one into PERFECT if they just made those simple changes. Come on Melia get FREE WIFI at Sol Pelicanos please and we will be back.Benidorm did not let us down it was sunny 18 degrees everyday and still plenty bars etc to keep us entertained even in January.

Room Tip: Book superior room at Ocas if its open. It closes in the winter. These rooms are more modern with ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kingmunkee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear kingmunkee, we regret not having achieved your expectations mainly because of the no free wifi service. We take note of your comments as we are sure it will help us to improve our services, as I can assure you that the satisfaction of our guests is always our main commitment. About the English channels, from this week, we will have Sky Sports in our bars, to follow all the Premier League games. Thank you very much not only for having chosen Sol Pelicanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm but also for sharing here your personal opinion with other travellers. We are glad to read that you appreciate our cleanliness and food. We continue working hard to offer the best services to our customers and nowadays this popular website is one of the most usefull tool we have to know our guests' thoughts when they arrive home, allowing us to detect the areas where we have to focus our efforts, so many thanks once again for your time and attention. Best regrads, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,440 - 4,446 of 7,424 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2014

just had a week in this hotel half board...everything about this hotel is great the staff, the accommodation, and the food....its one of the best hotels I have stayed in and would definitely be returning...

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank kerrlynne18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear kerrlynne18, we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your holidays among us and even your are thinking about returning ...this is the best reward we can receive from our guests!. Many thanks in the name of all the staff at the hotel, as we all work hard every day and words so positive like yours encourage us to continue giving the best of each one to offer our customers the best services. Please, do not hesitate to contact me in your next stay here as I would like to welcome you personally. Of course, you can be sure that once again we all will do our best to make your next visit as pleasant as this one or even more!!. See you soon!!, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed in the Sol Pelicanos for New Year. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. Although it was to cold to use the pool, the pool area was spacious. Rooms were big and cleaners were in everyday. Ideal location, only 5 minutes walk from the beach. Bars and restaurants all in walking distance. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jill035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Jill035, many thanks for your review about your New Years’ stay at Sol Pelicanos Ocas and for so kind words about our services and staff!!. We are delight to read so positive words about our location, room facilities and cleanliness, public areas and staff,The satisfaction of our guests is always our main commitment and your lines tell us that we are working in the correct way!. In the name of all the team at the hotel we want to thank you for your tim because your review encourages us to continue working hard to satisfy all our guests and always with the best of our smiles. We all sincerely hope to see you soon and be able to make you live again an unforgettable experiencea mong us!. Best wishes for all our team, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Loved the hotel and location friendly staff and half decent entertainment. My only down side was the so called gala dinner on 31/12/13. Did have Christmassy tablecover but self service gala dinner, was just like any other buffet night. So disappointed. Was at the Bali, Benidorm 31/12/12 they had a seven course gala dinner waiter service was magical.

Hope the powers that be take note and improve for next time

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mazscot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear mazscot, thank you for having chosen Sol Pelicanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm and also for sharing here your personal opinion with other travellers. We are sure it will be very useful not only for them but also for us because it helps us to detect the areas where we have to focus our efforts. So we take note of all your comments in order to improve our services, the good ones about our hotel, staff and entertainment, and of course we deeply regret not having achieved your expectations in our Gala Dinner. We hope to see you again in our hotel, and to try to make the perfect holidays for you. Many thanks once again for your attention. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

just back from another week at sol pelicanos had wonderful time everyone was so helpful and friendly we went at new year as havnt been there before it was magic receptionists were so helpful we got to pick our room so had top floor which was great as you didn't hear any noise and had wonderful view . one of the receptionists rosebal or something like that was so helpful she did everything to help when we went golfing they were all so nice . couldn't fault anyone all the staff were so nice and friendly the food was amazing I had t bone steaks 2 days on the trot and plenty steak beef pork and fish if anyone moaned about food they must think their royalty we loved it all. the hotel is just 2 minutes from all bars we went to neptunes that's the bar in the tv programme Benidorm its called morgans had great night next night we went next door to talk of the coast good show then we went to talk of the town brilliant night there man with a monkey was sooo funny good show again. on new years eve we stayed in hotel so glad we did it was magic everyone started dancing with the first song we got party bags with hats and so on at midnight we did the Spanish new year then at 1 we did our new year couldn't fault a thing all the staff worked really hard. we had been to this hotel in October 2012 for my grandsons 15th birthday we had a cake for him and the hotel gave us a bottle of champagne was so nice of them I cant wait for this new year so I can go back thanks to all staff for making it a wonderful holiday xx

Room Tip: top floor for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ELIZABETH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Elizabeth G, thank you for having chosen Sol Pelicanos Ocas once again to spend your holidays and also for sharing here your personal experience with other travellers. As we can read from your lines you have gone home satisfied with most of our services and location and this is the best reward we can receive from our guests!. We never stop introducing improvements in our services in order to cover our customers' expectations. All the staff at the hotel work hard every day to make our guests live here unfogettable experiences, and words like yours encourage us to continue in this way!!. Thank you very much once again for your attention and we all sincerely hope to see you again soon. Kind regards. Maria Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Location of hotel is ideal, close to Morgans bar (Neptunes in TV series) A short stroll and you are on the beach. The main pool area is large and very well maintained although v. cold when we were there

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Melia Hotels International
2  Thank Carole Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Carol Ann B, first of all, thank you for taking your time to write a review and share it with Tripadvisor’s users. We are very happy that you like our lake pool, it is one of our stronger points as well with our profesional and happy staff. We looking forward to see you again soon in our hotel. Best regards. Maria Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This holiday was booked for me and another friend as an excuse simply to get out of England for a week of pure relaxation, we paid around £500 for a week all inclusive in September which I thought was really reasonable. To be honest the main reason we chose this hotel was because we thought if we're visiting Benidorm we may as well stay at where they film the ITV show Benidorm to be able to say 'we've been there'. When we arrived at the hotel, unlike what others say on here, we got checked in almost straight away and given our all inclusive bands, we also paid a little extra for the safe in room and fridge. The room itself was really basic - 2 beds, wardrobes with plenty of hangers, a TV, 2 glasses and a clean bathroom which had a bath and overhead shower. I must admit, I think it was quite poor that we had to pay for a fridge but it was a necessity for us keeping bottles of water and alcohol for drinking whilst getting ready before a night out.
The hotel was really nicely kept and plenty of lifts to get from room to reception, the food was really nice and it did vary day to day so it never got repetitive and I never had any issues with getting up to get drinks and refills. The people that are moaning that you can only get 2 drinks at a time, you have 2 hands, how many more are you expecting to carry?? The thing which I loved about this hotel was the pool and sunbathing areas. I always found there was plenty of sunbeds available and not many people did the whole towel reserving thing whilst we were there! As for night time entertainment at the hotel it was mainly catered for children putting on Disney shows, we would have a few drinks at the bar then head out to the bars.
The hotel location is really central near all the main bars and restaurants, most of the bars consisted of the same entertainment, Sticky Vicky, hypnosis show, comedians etc. We found that Benidorm consisted mainly of stag and hen do's, older couples and families. We didn't really see many groups of friends which was kind of annoying as was hard to mingle in with other people. Before booking this holiday I was a little worried about reading about pickpockets but we didn't come across any or hear of any incidents. All in all I would definitely revisit Benidorm but maybe on a stag do or when older! Would I stay at this hotel again? No would be the answer to that, I can happily say I've ticked it off the list and enjoyed my stay but feel it is more of a family hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Liam N, thank you very much for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays. We appreciate you have spent your valuable time to send us your comments and share it with Tripadvisor’s users regarding your recent stay at Sol Pelícanos Ocas. As we can read from your lines, you have enjoyed your holidays and you are satisfied with most of our services (food, , drinks, cleanliness, pool area, location, etc), our main aim is to exceed our guest’s expectations and I am glad to hear that we have achieved our goal. Regarding to the entertainment, we hope you give us the opportunity to show you our entertainment evening shows inspired by musicals such as Grease or Mamma Mia in your next stay. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sol Pelícanos Ocas. Best regards. Maria Sierra

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,227 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
2,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#25 of 192 in Benidorm
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
905 reviews
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
943 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia

Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#17 Best Value Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £36 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Melia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing