We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”
Review of Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Ranked #35 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed for a week half board, there was 6 adults 1 child all different age ranges from 20's to 60's.
I suppose every one's opinion of the staff is different, but i found them to be very friendly, polite and very helpful.
The hotel is one massive rip off though and if i had know i would seriously have thought about taking my business else where... this is not the fault of the manager this is the fault of the chain...
€8 per day for wifi
€30 per week for a tiny fridge
€25 for a safe for a week (€10 is returned)
Ok so this is normal in some hotels BUT what i object to very strongly is not even getting free water with your meal and having to pay €2 for a bottle that you only get 2 glasses out of in the first place !!

Also in the restaurant my other half was asked to take his hat of...
it wasn't offensive or a peaked cap, it was a trilby type, he had no problems about taking it off after all it was dinner BUT people in the dinner room (for dinner not lunch or breakfast) were allowed in in swim wear and young girls who more or less had their vagina's on show.... either have a decent clothing rule or have none at all because that was beyond a joke, i have never been any where, where you can have dinner in swim wear !
The food was a good choice but very repetitive with cheap quality products, on the 4th day my sister and i both came down with we presume was food poisoning, we had not seen each other all day, met up for dinner and were the only 2 in our group to have (tuna) coleslaw, then after dinner went our separate ways again, both of us, during the night were projectile vomiting etc.... and we were bedded down for 2 days, we tried to report it but it was laughed off and told it couldn't be from here, did you have ice... no we didn't have ice, we weren't together other than dinner time.... it may have been a mystery bug but seems strange how no one else got it, and just us two who ate the coleslaw were both ill.... make up your own mind ?!?!?

Also there was a massive problem with the pool/sunbeds or lack of them....
I appreciate Benidorm pool scenes are filmed at this hotel but i certainly didn't appreciate it, half of the pool is blocked of and you can not use the swim up bar, if i pay for a hotel i would like to be able to use all the facilities !!! if you so much as made a noise near the film crew you were told off lol, tell me how do you stop a child from making a noise and having a good time ?
Also there were never ever any sunbeds and you could never get one regardless of what time you went. people were queuing before breakfast to 'reserve' sunbeds, there is a notice saying if your towel is there after an hour it will be removed, however this rule was never applied.
Until the last day 10th June), there was a man there asking for room no's and names, when we queried this apparently people from other hotels were using our facilities to watch the filming... so the actual guests of the pelicanos could not use their own facilities - laughable.
This strict policy should have been applied all week not just this one day !

The bar in the hotel is very expensive too €3.50 for not even a full pint of lager, €2.80 for a slush (that isn't that slushy)
We went to the Benidorm Palace and i said oh this will be expensive, but to put it into context the palace is actually cheaper for drinks than this hotel !!!!

I certainly do not feel like i have got value for money with this hotel, and i will not be going back. Like i said not the fault of the manager, the hotel is spotless and the staff are very nice, i just feel like that if it weren't for the cast and filming of Benidorm i don't this hotel has a lot to offer except it's location.

Our flight back to the UK on the 11th was before breakfast, so the day before i spoke to the receptionist and asked if they did a take away breakfast as we had a 3 year old travelling with us and he would need to eat, also we had paid for this breakfast.... she assured me that we got a breakfast, low and behold when i asked the next day - nope no breakfast ! nothing, so i said about the lady the day before and no amount of arguing was going to get me a breakfast, so in theory i have paid for meals and never received them which should constitute a refund haha i won't hold my breath.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 522 and had a lovely pool view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindseyw897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7,211)
There are newer reviews for Sol Pelicanos Ocas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,944 - 3,950 of 7,211 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

A great hotel, filming taking place at the sister hotel next door although in isolated areas. Many of the cast using hotel facilities, interesting for character spotters. Stayed on a bed / breakfast basis. The one night we decided to eat in restaurant it was closed and we were directed to the sister hotel Sol Pelicanos, literally a walk across the poolside. Good catering all round, 10/10 for staff who were very friendly (improvement on previous reviews). Did not consider all inclusive as facilities for band-holders seemed quite restrictive and there were a multitude of restaurants and bars within 2 to 10 minutes walk.
5 to 10 minutes from beach, one minute from pool of sister hotel which had larger and more interesting pool area. Our room was on 10th floor in a noisy neighbourhood, but this didn't bother us as there was good noise insulation and air con.
Bathroom shower / bath, well appointed. Only grumble was scum build-up on sides of bath.
We enjoyed our short stay immensly. Would stay there again and recommend it to all but the most fussy of our friends.

Room Tip: Would recommend de-luxe rooms as they are of a good size.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sleepindawgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Sleepindawgs, thank you very much for so kind review about your last stay at Sol Pelícanos Ocas Hotel, as we can read you have enjoyed your stay and you are satisfied with our services (rooms, food, pool, etc). Nowadays this website is one of the most useful tools we have to know our guests’ opinion and at the same time it helps other travellers who are looking for more information about our location, facilities or services, so many thanks for sharing here your personal experience among us and also for having chosen our hotel to spend your holidays in Benidorm. Thanks once again for your time and attention, we sincerely hope to see you again soon!. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Room was ok. Maid came in everyday to make the bed Ect. Pool disappointed we could see where they was doing the filming. It was all blocked off by fencing. Food was reasonably nice. Spanish chefs trying to cook British food. Some turn out ok. Others not quite right. Wifi. Forget it 8euros a day. Bar just 200 yards away for free. Actually plenty of bars with free wifi. My sister had 2 of her gran kids with her, so they ended up in the Ocas. Told no family rooms in Pelicanos. Did not believe them.Staff are ok. Plenty of bars close by.

Room Tip: Do not go all inclusive. Not good for your weight.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dano50chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is my second time at this hotel my last visit was 3 years ago it was clean and tidy but standards have dropped a lot rooms are fairly clean with clean towels but that is as good as it gets the staff are helpful where possible but don't excel themselves the waiting room was rather dirty with furniture that is in need of repair or replacement the food was not as it should be we ate out most of the time
I think they have done a lot of cut backs at the expense of the tourist and that people go because that is the hotel where Benidorm is filmed we wont be returning.

Room Tip: we were on top floor and was quiet most of the time
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I have never been to Benidorm before so wasn't sure what to expect. I didn't hate the hotel nor did i love it. I just like there are few things they could do to make it that bit more better.

We stayed for 4nights with B and B. The rooms was very clean and neat But didn't have a fridge to keep your water cool or even a kettle now I am so British I need my cups of tea. Breakfast was really nice everything you could possibly want was there it was lovely.

the pool area was really nice lots of room and kept clean. had to flight for a sun bed though.
Like i said it was average.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear charlotte b, thank you for review about your stay among us and above all for having chosen Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm. Many thanks for sharing here your personal experience with other travellers, you can check all our services at our website page. We are glad about your lovely words of our breakfast service and rooms. We take note about your comments in order to improve our sunbeds facilities. We all sincerely hope to see you again with the assurance that we will do our best to make your next visit you love Benidorm!. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here twice now and even though the rooms are basic the pools and breakfast buffet are fab for the price! The hotel is in a brilliant spot, close to the shops, beach and bars. Cleaners are there everyday and always change the towels. The only downside to this hotel is the reception staff! Rude, unhelpful and miserable infact dam right scary! They defo need retraining in customer service.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Siobhan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Siobhan H, thank you very much for so positive comments about your last experience at Sol Pelícanos Ocas and also for sharing them here with other travellers, we are sure they will be very useful for them. We work hard everyday to offer our guests the best services and words like yours help us to improve every day to the correct way!.We sincerely look forward to see you soon on your third visit!. Best regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I've just returned from a four night break at the Sol Ocas, which was my first visit to this hotel. The staff at the hotel were very attentive, the breakfast buffet was as good as any I have experienced and every area of the hotel was clean and tidy. The bar prices were expensive compared to the surrounding bars but not compared to UK prices. I stayed on a B&B basis but this hotel also does an all inclusive tariff so if you intend to spend a lot of time at the hotel then this may be worth considering. I would definitely return to this hotel if I go to Benidorm again.
As for Benidorm, it's a great place to go that has something for everyone. But beware - there are lots of pick-pockets on the prowl, particularly attached to the gangs that go around with the three cups con, where somebody will be shuffling 3 cups, one of which has a pea or ball beneath it, and you have to bet money on which cup is hiding it. The guy doing the trick is very good at it and is very engaging with his audience. Once a group has gathered round to watch his gang members are picking your pockets and passing your property straight on to another gang member who walks straight off with your stuff. There'll be 2 or 3 in the crowd around the guy doing the trick and the whole area will be surrounded by a group of about 6 who are watching out for the Police or ready to step in if any trouble kicks off. They're experts at what they do and will be very entertaining - but beware. Later in the night you'll find prostitutes offering their services to passers by on the main strip, there are people offering drugs and more pick-pockets.
This may all sound very off-putting, but it doesn't need to spoil a visit to Benidorm as long as you are aware and take sensible precautions. The prostitutes and drug-pushers were not around during the day time and everything was OK till about 11 - 12 at night, by which time families are usually back in the hotel.
We had a great few days in Benidorm and I will return to this hotel the next time I go. Just beware of the crooked element that could easily spoil your holiday if you're complacent.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mar_SolPel, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager at Sol Pelicanos Ocas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Rhondda_Rob, thank you very much not only for having chosen Sol Pelícanos Ocas to spend your holidays in Benidorm but also for having taken your valuable time to send us your personal opinion about your last stay among us. As we can read from your lines, you have enjoyed your family holidays here and we can confirm that you have gone home satisfied with our services (staff, food, cleaning…) and this is the best reward we can receive because all the staff at the hotel works hard every day trying always to achieve our customers’ expectations and in your case...we did it!!. Thank you again for sharing your experience and advice about Benidorm to all the Tripadvisor members. We sincerely hope to see you soon! Kind regards, Mar Sierra, E-Guest Experience Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
4,094 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
920 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#24 of 192 in Benidorm
2,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Pelicanos Ocas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Address: C/ Gerona 45, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#38 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £41 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol Pelicanos Ocas 3*
Number of rooms: 783
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia present Sol Pelicanos Ocas is situated in Benidorm, in Rincon de Loix, 300m from the magnificent Levante Beach and close to the shopping and leisure areas. Ideal for enjoying a family holiday and discover one of the most important tourist destinations in the Mediterranean. Its climate, its beaches, nightlife and a variety of theme parks, Benidorm become a destination where you can enjoy all year round. The complex has 5 swimming pools, one lagoon-style where guests can enjoy a Jacuzzi area, and the Bar Caribbean (July and August). Its cuisine offers international themed buffets, areas dedicated to local specialties, different bars and cocktail bars and a complete Snack Bar where you can discover the advantages of All Inclusive. You can also enjoy our full program of sports and fitness activities for adults and evening shows inspired by Broadway musicals. Its extensive program of activities for children and childcare facilities, playground area or games room are some of the proposals for our youngest guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Melia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Pelicanos Ocas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Pelicanos Ocas Benidorm
Pelicanos Hotel Benidorm
Sol Melia Benidorm
Sol Pelicanos Benidorm
Pelicanos Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Pelicanos
Benidorm Sol Pelicanos
Hotel Sol Pelicanos Ocas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing