We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sea view”
Review of Sol Costablanca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sol Costablanca
Ranked #59 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 30 October 2013

room ok, food ok, BUT if you want a sea view, a fact that is not told on the application is that a 33 euros per night will be added to your bill. the view from the back rooms is that of the car park, RIP OFF.
Also there are notices that sun beds can't be reserved yet every morning all the sunbeds have towels on them, a complaint to staff resulted in nothing.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to pay 33 euros per night extra (231 euros per week) on top of a high price per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank daveclark21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear daveclark21,

First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this comment. Tripadvisor is a travel website that assists customers in gathering travel information; therefore many tourists use it to help them choose hotels for their holidays. In Sol Costablanca we take every single review into consideration, and I would to thank you every much for sharing your experience with us. We are deeply concerned about your dissapointment.

This information has been transmitted to our all departments in order to solve or improve the inconveniences you found during your stay.

We do hope that this experience will not deter you from returning to Sol Costablanca in the future and if you would be so kind to inform us to the dates of your next visit, we will do our best to ensure a nice stay.

Your sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (965)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

494 - 500 of 965 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2013

We have visited Benidorm a number of times over the last few years and have always admired
the Sol Costablanca, so we decided to take the plunge and book a one week stay on half board
basis. First issue, unless you book a taxi transfer you will have approx. 200 m walk to the hotel.
On entering, the hotel is somewhat dated, but is clean and tidy. Our check in experience was rather slow, the lady dealing with us was constantly asking advice from her colleague. We arranged a room upgrade directly with the hotel from a side sea view to front sea view, our room
was on the second floor and was worth the 70 euro cost. The room was clean and tidy, but nothing out of the ordinary, without a complimentary tea & coffee tray (which I find unusual in a
hotel of this standing). The bathroom, however was certainly in need of upgrading. Now on to
most disappointing aspect of our stay, THE FOOD. In the dining room there is a 'show cooking'
area, there is very little actual cooking in this area as the food is already on display when you
enter the restaurant. On our seven night visit chips were served every night and pizza was served
on six nights, this is OK in a family hotel, but in adult only hotel?? There was a very poor choice of
alternative to chips (no boiled, mashed potatoes etc). All the food served was very greasy. At
breakfast all hot food was very greasy, the fried eggs were cooked in a pan containing deep
oil !! We did speak to personnel at the hotel about this, but there was no change. The sun
lounger problems have been highlighted by other reviewers, all I would add is that 34 beds for a
hotel with a capacity of 200? guests is very poor indeed!! All in all a real let down, if we did ever
return to this hotel it would be on room only basis.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms above the restaurant get the sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank vincent s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your opinions regarding your recent stay with us.

We appreciate all your comments, it sure will be helpful for other travelers. We take note of all areas for improvement, because for us the opinion of our guests once have been in the hotel, is the most important.

Regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Have just returned from yet another visit to this hotel on the sea front in Benidorm.
As always, the staff were exceptionally helpful and professional, especially on the main
reception desk. Nothing too much trouble for them, even recommended a lovely restaurant
for our meal last night, called booked a table and booked a taxi to get us there.
Wull certainly be visiting again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, book a room with a sea view, otherwise some of the other rooms with the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paulinettolley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear paulinettolley,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your stay at Sol Costablanca for taking time to write a review, and for having your holidays in our hotel.

We are very pleased to know that you could enjoy your holidays in our hotel. Furthermore, we are glad that our staff could satisfy you. We work hard every day to give our best to our guests.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Have just returned from this lovely hotel. Location is great, right on the prom, with good restaurants bars, and shops really close by. Totally flat for the disabled. Good rooms, and plenty of choice for breakfast. Did not eat there in the evening, but I am sure that could be arranged. We had a side room, and even though there is a noisy sports bar just along from the hotel, it did not disturb us at all at night. Air conditioning in room free of charge. Lovely beds and good clean room. Helpful staff. I wanted to check the prices for January and February but the Hotel is closed from 31st October until 1st April. I feel they are turning money away. Not many sun beds around the pool but the beach is literally right in front of you.

Room Tip: Request a front room, you will overlook the prom and beautiful beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for publishing your review on the TripAdvisor. It is an absolute pleasure to hear such a review.

We are glad to know you were delighted with the service we offered. We look forward to your next visit and we hope you come back on holidays each year.

Thank you once again. Sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends. Hotel clean, staff helpful, plenty of choice for breakfast.
I can understand previous reviews regarding sunbeds, quite a small pool area not many sunbeds, plenty of table and chairs for sitting having a drink. The lack of beds didn't bother me as I prefer to swim in the sea. The location was great for the beach and the old town. We had a room on the side although not much of a view it was very quiet.
One of my party had a birthday a few days before travelling, in her room the hotel had kindly placed a bottle of fizz in an ice bucket - very nice gesture.
We will definitely return next year .

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WLK133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for all your comments which are really appreciated and the time you have taken to write your review and we do hope you had a great stay with us.

We take note of your suggestions about sunbeds.

We look forward to hosting you again. Regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

I stayed here for my 30th birthday the view From my room was unbelievably super beach and pool view .I also got a bottle of sparking wine sent to my room from hotel.breakfast was a let down not nice .But I would return to this hotel very relax and peaceful right on beach front

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l33ann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear l33ann3,

First of all, thank you very much for take your time and post your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy because you had a pleasant stay with us.

Very pleased to read your positive feedback about your stay at Sol Costablanca.

I read carefully your comments and I took notes about your review. Our customer service philosophy is to make the guest’s experience enjoyable, we will keep working hard for our guest’s satisfactory.

We hope to see you again and you come back soon to the Sol Costablanca.

Sincerely,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

The hotel is in a very good position,20 metres from the lovely sandy beach,a 10 minute stroll into the heart of the lovely old town with its back street tapas bars and excellent shops,throbbing with the sound of visitors from mid morning to late night.The hotel has a nice (but small) swimming pool with a small number of sun beds and ample tables and chairs surrounding it. Waiter service is a available round the pool for drinks and a small number of snacks (toasties),though the drinks are expensive,3.90 euro a large glass of beer (3/4 pint glass),much better value drinks are available in most of the bars in the area,all competing for your custom,there is an excellent small supermarket only yards from the hotel. We stayed at the hotel on a full board basis and the food was very good, plentiful and varied,although the restaurant hours could have been longer,breakfast 8-10 and dinner 8-10. The rooms were good size,the bathroom was a little dated but worked well, bath with shower over,toilet,bidet and sink. We had a side sea view and balcony which was lovely.The rooms were well serviced daily.One small criticism is the size of the elevators which are very small and if you have large suitcases you may struggle to get in to them. This hotel was not the cheapest available in Benidorm but if you are looking for a good quality hotel and are not too fussy about minor faults then this one should be fine. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly recommend it.One more point is that the bar next door has live bands till quite late at night and though the soundproofing is good,noise is still audible from the side rooms of the hotel,this did not bother us,in fact we quite enjoyed listening to the music in the afternoons and evenings sat on our balcony,but if you don't like this then get a room at the front of the hotel where the music will not be audible.

Room Tip: Get a sea or side sea view room,it's entertaining just to sit on the balcony and people watch th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank martin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M_Jose_Berges, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sol Costablanca, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all your comments which are really appreciated.

We are delighted that you are happy and we hope you will visit us when you come to Benidorm again for a holiday.

Regards,

María José Bergés
-Guest Experience Coordinator-

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.0 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cimbel
Hotel Cimbel
#39 of 192 in Benidorm
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,560 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol Costablanca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol Costablanca

Address: Avenida Alcoy, S/N, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#30 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#48 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £79 - £2,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sol Costablanca 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sol by Melia presents Sol Costablanca. Located right on the magnificent Levante beach, in the shopping and entertainment heart of Benidorm (Alicante). It is the best choice to relax, unwinding and enjoy with your partner (only for adults over 16 years old) with the best service in an elegant and quiet atmosphere. The rooms, all with terrace (furnished table/chairs) the majority with sea views, are equipped with LCD 32 TV, AACC cold / hot with individual control, free WiFi throughout the hotel and socket for laptop, telephone, minibar (*), safe (*) and full bathroom, hairdryer, bathroom amenities (shower gel and shampoo). The Hotel offers you unique dining spaces so you can have a real dining experience with local and international cuisine. Live music, and evening shows to enjoy on our wonderful terrace overlooking the sea, on one of the most lively promenades in the city. Free WiFi and private parking for the exclusive use of guests with 49 spaces (*) With charge (*) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Melia, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sol Costablanca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol Costablanca Benidorm
Sol Costablanca Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing