We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yet another happy re-visit!”
Review of Hotel Don Pancho

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Don Pancho
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I am conscious that my reviews concerning the Don Pancho might be repetitively boring to readers - but the fact is, that having visited on many previous occasions, the venue has lost nothing of it's quality or attraction. We visited for another three week period from January into February and thoroughly enjoyed returning to meet our "old friends" amongst the guests and "younger friends" on the staff. The Don Pancho is a meeting place for previous guests and an oasis of calm in a fairly frantic Holiday Resort Environment. The standards have been maintained year on year thanks to the seemingly full time presence of the Manager (Maria) and her senior staff. The majority of the bar, dining room and Reception staff have been at the Don Pancho for many years - and their knowledge and attention to detail are proof of their "loyalty and commitment" to guests and management alike. Two critical points (though not serious) are 1) the entertainment in the hotel has changed from the popular group of previous years and (it has to be said), 'not for the better'! I'm sure that situation will be resolved before long. 2) For those wishing to utilize Wi-Fi (which strangely must be paid for) I would advise taking one of the lower floor rooms as reception on the upper floors is all but useless. Those two very minor points apart, we enjoyed our stay and all being well will return yet again in 2015.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floors have only limited access to a Wi-Fi signal. In view of the fact that unfor...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Big_Bike_Buddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time and share the experience you had at Don Pancho hotel.

The Don Pancho hotel really appreciate so much your positive comment about your experience here.
We are sorry if you didn’t like changes in the hotel entertainment, we will consider your feedback.

We hope you will visit us again in near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,799)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Don Pancho
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

This hotel is totally worth its 4 star rating with great service throughout, from the reception, maids, barstaff and chefs and waiters. The food is excellent and drinks all reasonably priced. A lot of the rooms are being refurbished to a very high standard and although we did not stay in one ours was still good if perhaps dated. A tip is take your own hairdryer as the the one supplied is very old and does get extremely hot. The views rom the bedrooms are superb as all rooms have are front facing and overlook the sea. You hear no noise from the clubs on the next street to the hotel and there are not stag or hen parties staying there.There is quite a good selection of entertainment provided so there is no need to go out if you don,t wish to. We would recommend this hotel if you want a quiet vacation in a lively resort in total luxury and superb food

Room Tip: A high floor has better views
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank thecat97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much for your visit and for taking the time and share the experience you had at Don Pancho hotel.

It is such a pleasure when we can share positive comments such as yours about our facilities, food, service and also with our location in Benidorm.

It would be a big pleasure for all us to welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is truly a flashback to an era of great service, great food and peaceful comfort, which is incredible, being in the centre of the Stag & Hen capital of Spain!

As soon as you step inside you forget the other side of Benidorm - there are no stags or hens here. In fact, the hotel caters for an older clientele which younger visitors would find quite alien.

Therefore, it is civilised in a way which would probably terrify those looking for Party Central! This suited my wife and me as well as the numerous guests I spoke to who stay at this hotel on a regular basis. With all of them it is the hotel that counts.

The hotel itself is in the process of refurbishment and will definitely benefit from this.

I more than anything must compliment the staff from top to bottom- they are all stars who cannot do enough for the guests, and who are always ready to help with a smile.

A tip for those who are hypersensitive to noise at night is to consider buying ear plugs from a local pharmacy if you can hear the base from the nearby bars.
It worked for me, but I never heard anyone else mention it. I slept like a top.

A wonderful hotel all round.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea facing. If you can get a corner room you will have a little more space.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you very much indeed for your comments about your recent stay at Don Pancho hotel.

The team of the Don Pancho hotel really appreciate so much your positive comment about your experience here. I would like to thank you for your positives comments about our staff and relaxing atmosphere.

We look forward to welcoming you back Don Pancho in Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed at don pancho last summer have stayed many times before every thing was wonderful right from checking in cannot do enough for you,food is excellent stayed in a refurbished room on 17th floor and cannot fault it,hotel in fab position and although benidorm is not my favorite resort it is the hotel that always brings us back.
Thank you all will visit again soon I hope

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patriciaobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

First of all thank you for your positive comments and thanks for sharing your opinion in the TripAdvisor website.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you in the future and offer you another enjoyable stay in Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We came back on 25th February after our first visit to Benidorm. If you have booked this hotel, give yourself a pat on the back.
When we arrived, the reception staff dealt quickly with the 30 or so guests that were checking in. We were given room 503, although not as high as some, still had a great view. The room itself was clean and big enough for our stay.
The first night at dinner, we were shown to our table and given a quick tour of where everything was. The food itself was good with plenty to keep everyone happy. Roast chicken, roast beef, pork, chips and potatoes. There were also numerous desserts to choose from.
Breakfast consisted of full English, fruit and cereal. Wee tip, fill up one of the pots for tea with coffee, will save you from going backwards and forwards with your coffee cup!
One highlight was that on my wife's birthday, we were given a bottle of champagne with our dinner, a very nice touch, thank you for that.
All in all, a very enjoyable stay at a very good hotel. Every member of staff we came across was friendly, helpful and always had a smile on their face.
Special mention to Phillipe and Isobel in the restaurant and Sergio and Luti in the bar.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian2405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us and all TripAdvisor users.

It is a true pleasure to know that once again your stay at the Don Pancho hotel was a pleasant one and we hope there will be many occasions to welcome you back in the future.

We are glad to hear your satisfaction about our rooms, food and our staff.

Looking forward to seeing you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Just back from another great holiday at this hotel. Food very good - excellent selection to suit most tastes. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Drinks in bar and restaurant very reasonable with good staff. Staff in restaurant excellent nothing to much trouble. Rooms very clean and many of the floors are being updated. All rooms are sea facing one road back from the beach in a great location. Would not consider staying anywhere else in Benidorm but the Don Pancho.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Firstly I would like to thank you for your kind words about our hotel and for sharing your opinion in TripAdvisor website..

Receving this type of comments and welcoming you again in our hotel are the best rewards that we can obtain.

Looking forward to welcoming again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Location.
2nd line from seafront on the main tourist area thoroughfare, though traffic noise not bad. Convenient for beach and the rather tacky, down-market bars and businesses that surround the hotel.
Google earth.......... 38°32'11.19"N 0° 6'48.21"W

The clientele are mostly elderly but with good manners and well dressed; ladies you can come to dinner in your best dress without feeling out of place. Men you must wear long trousers – happy with that.

The building.
High rise and starting to look a bit dated, but well maintained and very clean. Fairly spacious lounge and bar areas which I expect for this type of hotel. 5 lifts operating well.

Rooms.
Standard hotel room, a bit smaller than usual, but again well maintained and clean although looking a old fashioned, though nothing wrong with that.

A fridge which is free to use. Contains costly beer and soft drinks.

Chargeable safe - which should be free, why do hotels charge extra for guest’s security, when it should always come as standard ?

No tea/coffee making facilities in room.

T. V. Channels good, several bbc itv sky sports etc.

Carpeted, so you shouldn’t get noise from footsteps above.
Cleaning ladies did a very good job.


All rooms face the sea, because of the curved frontage room numbers 0 to 7, get more morning sun. 8 is centre, whilst 9 to 15 get more evening sun.

Restaurant.
Spacious enough, though many tables are too close together. Not particularly elegant or sophisticated, but adequate, clean and pleasant. A good point, dine when you want, not those awful 2 sittings that some hotels are introducing.

Standard buffet offerings that you will probably be familiar with. Overcooked vegetables and meats that have lost much of their flavour and texture, mass catering is what it is. Can recommend the house wine, we drank it all week and not expensive at 7.95 euro.


Somewhat disappointed with breakfast, no cooking station for omelettes, or crisping the bacon; a guy is cooking fried eggs in a huge frying pan swimming in oil, all he seemed to do was very soft eggs. Why not do a few over easy or hard ? Also he refused our request to cook an omelette, a waiter was consulted and he kindly arranged for the kitchen to undertake the task. Failed miserably to get a poached egg – “not possible” – hardly what you expect from 4 star hotel. And kippers, this makes a nice option, but why only on the odd occasion, not daily?

Bars are comfortable with plenty of seating. Service in the Lobby bar was terribly poor, slow, waiters didn’t seem to see you unless you stand up and wave, not particularly friendly but then, suddenly, it got a lot better when we tried leaving a small tip! Uhm…?? Seemed to favour certain customers, probably they tipped also.

Entertainment.
Low key, not exciting - except the Flamenco - mostly the usual local acts, plus resident group who provided music and songs for dancing which was very popular with plenty of Spanish customers adding a bit of local colour. Gets very crowded when the locals arrive.


So, in summary a typical holiday hotel with a few minus points making it average.

Though we’d be happy to return if we wanted to stay in that part of Benidorm. But think that nearer the old town would be a better choice for us and others looking for a more authentic Spanish location and experience.

P.S. Apart from…….. I had a haircut at the barber next door (turn left at foyer exit). Great, best haircut I’ve had. Loved the cut- throat razor smoothing and neck trimming! Then there was the powder and the grooming after, and all this from a proper gent’s barber, 8 euros.

Room Tip: See text. End rooms (balcony on corner) will end 0 or 15. Centre rooms slightly bigger, but not eno...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank johnybones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Don-Pancho-Hotel, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Don Pancho, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you a lot for taking your time to post a comment in TripAdvisor about your experience Don Pancho hotel.

We regret to know that your experience in Don Pancho hotel was not as pleasant as we would love. We are in a constant improving of our facilities and service. We do our best to exceed our guest expectations and we are sorry to know that we have not reached yours and do not hesitate that your comments will be taken into account.

On the other hand, we very much appreciate your positive comments

Once again we thank you for your recent visit and we hope to welcome you at Don Pancho hotel another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,087 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,762 reviews
1.3 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Don Pancho? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Don Pancho

Address: Avenida del Mediterraneo 39, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £77 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Don Pancho 4*
Number of rooms: 255
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Don Pancho reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing