We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Time”
Review of Gran Hotel Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Delfin
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Relaxing Time”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Situated outside Benidorm this hotel offered a nice relaxing break from the hustle and bustle of staying in Benidorm Itself. Its about a 30 minute brisk walk into the old town and approx an 8 Euro taxi ride. The area itself has quite a few restaurants and bars and just down the road (the opposite way to Benidorm) is La Cala beach a lovely little bay with loads of bars and restaurants. The Grounds are lovely with ample sunbeds scattered about. We did not have any food at the restaurant but did use the bar. There is entertainment in the evenings and it looked like everyone was enjoying themselves dancing the night away. It doesnt seem the place for hen or stag parties which makes it ideal for a quieter life! The room was clean the bed comfy, and the air con was excellent - the only negative is that our room did not have a balcony but sitting in the grounds made up for that. The reception and service was excellent We would stay again at this hotel

Room Tip: Book a seaview and if you are staying for a longer break get a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Operaghost999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are really happy to hear from your great experience during your stay at Gran Hotel Delfín. The best gift for all of us is making your stay in Benidorm an unforgettable memory.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

795 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    302
    80
    25
    15
See reviews for
216
395
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

D & A Bruce.

We visited this hotel on an offer of two nights full board, including an evening at Benidorm Palace, we were not quite sure what to expect. When we arrived we were delighted to find ourselves in a lovely Hotel. Low rise (unusual for Benidorm), situated beside the Poniente beach with large café terrace overlooking beach. Good pool area and gardens with pool towels provided, entertainment room. Pleasant buffet restaurant and good food and choice without being exceptional. All the staff were friendly and helpful, the hotel clean and tidy. It's a long walk along the promenade to 'Old Town' and Levante beach area, but bus stops with regular buses are situated beside the hotel so not a problem. The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment which included our room overlooking the street - not noisy at night in March. The room was spacious, fridge and safe which we found useful and a nice touch with a complimentary bottle of water. The bathroom was excellent with shower cabinet (no bath but that was fine for us) sink had vanity unit surround so somewhere to store toiletries - very useful, hot water always available. This Hotel will suit the more mature guest, or families (though unable to comment on any special children's facilities) who want a quieter location than the busy Levante beach. I certainly recommend this hotel and will be happy to make a return visit.

Room Tip: Request refurbished room overlooking beach or gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear AnitaB:

Thank you for sharing your opinion with the rest of travellers. We hope we can offer you our services once more in the future. Wishing you all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dehesa de Campoamor, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We first saw this hotel when we were staying elsewhere a couple of months ago, and loved the location and look of the place so we were delighted when we saw an offer we could not refuse for a 2 night stay. We went with friends and also went to Benidorm Palace with the offer, superb. The location could not be better for us, at the quiet end of Poiniente Beach. Great for walking, either right into Finestrat, or left along Poiniente Beach into old town then onto Levante Beach, have done both. The hotel is right next to the beach, with a bus stop outside if you need it. There was plenty of parking in the streets around (the hotel charge €10 a night). This hotel is 'low rise' with a large frontage, including a great terrace with views of the sea, the pool and gardens with great views of the sea and the tennis court with great views of the sea. We made use of all of these. We had rooms on the 3rd floor overlooking the side road, but this was the afternoon sunny side with a lovely balcony with chairs and a clothes airer if you are there long enough to need to do some washing! The room had a fridge (not sure if you have to pay for this at times, but we did not have to). Also a safe, no charge for this either when we were there. There is free wi-fi. Beds are ok with clean, white linen. Blankets in the wardrobe if needed, also if extra pillows needed, they are just a phone call away. Bathroom was a little cramped, but clean and adequate. There are no tea and coffee making facilities (which is often the case in Spanish hotels) no problem if you take your own.
We were full board, breakfast was very good, with a cooking station where the chef will cook your eggs, omelette or pancakes to order, plenty of fresh fruit and good juice, even Cava if you want it for your Bucks Fizz. Lunch and dinner were very much the same, the salad buffet was fresh and varied, as were the cold meats and cheeses and the breads. Wasn't so keen on the pre-cooked hot food, but you did get a choice, so you wouldn't go hungry. Not sure I would want to be full board for longer than a couple of days. The restaurant staff were exceptional, courteous, efficient and friendly, they even sorted out a round table for the 8 of us in our party for our stay. The drinks in the bar were normal bar prices, and I think perhaps you do not always get the same service, on our first night we were offered 'nibbles' with our drinks, and our vodka tonics came with a really nice orange twist, the 2nd night, no nibbles offered, and not even a slice of lemon for the drink! Also the tills were not working properly as we were almost charges way more than the day before, this was all sorted out after querying it though. All in all a fabulous trip, will definitely return some time to this welcoming, even if a little tired hotel.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank costachrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear costachrrisy

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, the hotel facilities and staff services. Your opinion is very important to us and we would like to thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

Please don’t hesitate to contact with us over our guest experience team and we will assist you in futures reservation.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We hadn't been to Benidorm for many years but tired and in need of some rest and sunshine (because of a washout winter in the UK) we decided to go back. When I say we decided I meant my wife decided. I really didn't want to go back to a place where every restaurant served chips or all day breakfasts and there was a British bar on every street corner. This time however I was pleasantly surprised.

Architecturally speaking Benidorm still has it's high rise issues but, on just four floors, The Gran Hotel Delfin is a jewel on the Costa Blanca.

The building itself was built in the 1970's and, although going through an upgrade, has, thankfully and unashamedly retained it's 70's retro feel with just a hint of modernity in the terrace bar areas overlooking the sea.
The hotel has a wonderful stained glass window completing a side wall that covers the main staircase. It's beautiful, almost cathedral in grandeur, and pays homage again the time when Benidorm was a lot smaller than it is today.
This hotel has an enviable position right on the beach with a stunning promenade walk right into the heart of the town. If you don't enjoy a good walk you may wish to find another hotel closer to the centre of things but, that said, the bus links are fantastic and the bus stop is directly outside the hotel.
The staff here should be praised for their yesteryear approach to customer service. Always smiling, always helpful, never overpowering and always considerate of their guests needs.
The pool area is well maintained and clean. There are more than enough sunbeds here for all. The snack and terrace bar areas have been upgraded for the better and are a really nice place to relax with a nice cold glass of whatever you fancy.
The prices in the hotel are to be commended. The management obviously realise that there is a lot of choice locally when it comes to bars and restaurants and so their prices reflect this. A glass of white wine and a beer for €3.50.
We had a very early flight on our last day and the head receptionist arranged for breakfast to be served earlier for us. Thank you.

This is truly a beautiful hotel and, if you're headed to this part of Spain, I urge you to stay here but Please...Shhhhh...Don't tell everyone, let's just keep it between ourselves.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank DavidLyndonHedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, General Manager at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Davidlyndonhedges:

We just read you comment on Tripadvisor and we are really happy and we apreciate to much your words. We are doing a total refurbishment into the hotel but we are trying to keep the esence of the 70ties.

We will say to all the staff to keep going working hard in this way to make happy guest like you.
We will be very happy seing you in Gran Hotel Delfín again.

Yours faithfully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan de Alicante, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I have not stayed at this hotel but as I live close by I have been inside many times and visited friends staying there from England. For a long time the hotel looked like a bomb site whilst it was being refurbished. The refurbishment is now complete and everything about the hotel is 10 out of 10. The rooms, the furnishing and fittings, the staff, the food all are excellent. For those wishing to go into Benidorm centre which is about a mile and a half away there is a regular bus service that leaves from the front of the hotel and returns at the rear. It is very difficult to find a fault of any kind with this hotel.

Room Tip: If possible try to obtain a room at the front overlooking the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Antony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Antony:

Thank you for sharing your nice comments of your experience in our hotel over Tripadvisor.

Please don’t hesitate to contact me and I will assist your friends in futures reservations. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Amazing value b/fast of fresh orange juice, bacon,baked beans, tomato, sausage, mushroom, toast and coffee. The fresh orange juice can be 2-90 on its own elsewhere and its a good sized glass. all served with nice tablecloth and napkins.

Did not actually stay in hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HoneyMonsterontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for sharing with us your review.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Returned from holiday recently after a 28 day stay,and naturally saw many aspects of the hotel,probably unnoticed on a short visit.

Firstly the good-I found all the staff to be very good indeed from reception to bars,restaurant and cleaners,and must mention by name those most seen in the bars and restaurant with whom most contact is made;Hester,David,Maria,Julia,Jose(1 & 2),Philipe,a and particularly Wen,for his attempts to actively encourage everyone to fully partake of all the offerings that he and the chef had provided, in a most endearing and enthusiastic way.Well done to them all,and finally Augustin, who how he found time to supervise them all was in itself a form of entertainment,and he worked so hard to keep it all together.

The location of the hotel was excellent,with good sea views,and a terrace that captured the benefit of full sun(when available)and for sitting out with a drink and friends or reading would be hard to better,particularly with waiter service for many,but not all, and more comment on that later.

The rooms,although basic were very clean,adequate in size,and had a good sized flat screen TV(sadly lacking an ITV channel for the UK visitors),and a good air conditioning system.

It also helped that for the time of year the weather kept very good.

I was on an all inclusive holiday,and found the drink selection,though not branded, was of good quality,and best of all the coffee was made to order and proved to be excellent.

There were naturally bad points,and this was reflected in the food particularly at main meal servings,as the breakfast was in line with the majority of tourist hotels fairly consistent in what was able to be presented,but Gran Delfin had porridge,actually I believe made by 'Wen'and it was very good,but the remainder,suitable for both UK and locals,was very average,and as it seems to be customary not very hot,but cooked to order,again involving 'Wen'was quite good.

The mains however were of a very different order,as usual just warm,a selection of fish often presented badly and whilst named??seemed either over or underdone-always a' chefs special'
consisting of unspecified ingredients,sometimes dry,or alternatively floating in a fluid of some description,vegetables of known varieties,and other ancilliary items,of which a meal could always be manufactured,but all to frequently poor.Salads and sweets were available in good supply,and did assist in making main meals worth a visit for dining,and the microwave was always helpful.

The nightly entertainment was presented every evening with the exception of Sunday,but after having been seen once,continued every other evening without change;ie,on a 28 day holiday you were able to be entertained by Jose and Frank 24 times, on the guitar and keyboard,and I would like to say you would never hear the same tune twice??,and for this reason the hotel should install the ITV channel on the bedroom tv.

Finally the only other criticism is over what must be the hotel policy in that guests who are not on all inclusive basis, are not given waiter service, and those paying for drinks are,even to the extent that all inclusive guests waiting at the bar on most occasions to order, are having wait for a waiter to become available, after serving those paying, and considering we have already paid and the hotel is in possession of our money this seems to present an unacceptable anomaly.

Despite these views would I visit this hotel again-yes I would!The criticisms although they seem to be many,are in my view outweighed by the general atmosphere of the hotel and its surroundings,but more importantly the staff.

Room Tip: Had a side sea view on third floor with afternoon sun.Overlooked the street but no major noise probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cojoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juan D, Director General at Gran Hotel Delfin, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Mr.Cojoh:

First all we appreciate your comment and we are very pleased because you liked our Staff atencion and the cleanning of our instalations.

Regrettably we dont have ITV Channel but we have got BB1 London, BB2 England, BBC World News and Euronews in the commom rooms and in the bedrooms.

We are improving all the details into food and we take note about the temperature and we will try to increase it as much as we can.

We will say to José and Frank your words about them because they are really worried about not repeat any song but in a 28 days estance is really difficult.

We will be really pleased if we have you visit again during 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
2,699 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
1,455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#32 of 192 in Benidorm
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Sol Costablanca
Sol Costablanca
#60 of 192 in Benidorm
904 reviews
1.6 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Bali
Gran Hotel Bali
#71 of 192 in Benidorm
5,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Delfin

Property: Gran Hotel Delfin
Address: Avenida Vicente Llorca Alos 19., 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Delfin 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Delfín, 4* hotel, enjoys the perfect location, at the beachfront, ideal for long walks and to enjoy Benidorm’s beaches and the skyline from anywhere on the premises, with the Island of Benidorm in the background with its unmistakeable presence. Far away from the concept of mass tourism, Gran Hotel Delfín is designed for those who prefer to escape from the noise and look for a quiet area, comfortable and friendly space in which to relax on their holidays. A pleasant holiday in the fashion destination, Benidorm, but with the privilege of being settled in "The Other Benidorm". Gran Hotel Delfín offers accommodation in Benidorm with the highest quality standards: 98 comfortable single or double rooms and exclusive suites to fully enjoy your holidays. All of them are fully equipped for your comfort and designed to satisfy the needs of our most demanding guests. Our wide range of rooms all have magnificent characteristics and the ideal conditions so that you can find the type that best suits your preferences. The inventory includes a desk, sofa, radio, television, air conditioning and heating, free Wi-Fi Internet, 24H luggage storage, dry cleaning and laundry, telephone, bathroom amenities, 24h room service, pillow menu, hair dryer and mirror makeup. In this way, customers are immediately surprised to see how their stay in this exclusive four-star hotel turns into a unique and unforgettable experience that they can not resist to repeat, and, Gran Hotel Delfín turns out to be the charming holiday home to The one that everyone dreams of returning: the one in which they will be reunited with what they like best, where they will be happy and in the end they will enjoy their deserved vacations. The relaxing area where you can enjoy the eternal sun of the Costa Blanca, the typical Mediterranean cuisine, excursions to dream places and, finally, the relaxation of disconnecting from everyday life to immerse yourself in an oasis of peace and Tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Gran Hotel Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing