We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Gemelos II(Benidorm)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kennedy I/II(Benidorm)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Monver 8-10(Benidorm)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Reviews (3,188)
Filter reviews
3,188 results
Traveller rating
1,284
1,084
500
193
127
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,284
1,084
500
193
127
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyellow brick roadstaff showsrio connectionfull montythomson repsstar hotelbar pricesgala nightmed playaplenty of choicesingle roomdirty dancinggreat holidaycheap drinksmain barpool areabuilding work
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,913 - 2,918 of 3,188 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2008

booked with thomson as a package holiday and after a bad start with a nearly 13 hour delay and put up in a hotel for a few hours by the time we realised that the flight had been delayed because there was no communication with thomson at the airport having already lost a day of our holiday we arrived feeling tired but the hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. the rooms are quiet basic and not for you if you like comfort but was ok as we were only staying for 4 nights.food was excellent always a good choice of starters mains and desserts and the show cooking in the restaurant was excellent and there was always something for everyone.entertainment was good and there always semed to be something going on.the hotel itself is very clean and tidy

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MOLLYWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

Rio Park is a great place for pensioners and those with mobility problems as it has its own hire service for powered buggys. All areas are easily accessible. All staff are very friendly and helpfull.
The downsides are that the location is on a slight hill (10 minutes walk to the beach) and the food was on occassion only luke warm (but their was a good choice).
A new building is being erected directly opposite the front of the hotel and some noise was experienced between 8am and sunset but nothing significant and it was interesting to see the spanish technique of building (you may never set foot in a high rise again).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hucknall_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

Stayed at the Rio Park for my father in laws 65th birthday, booked the holiday through Thomson direct. Arrived at the hotel and got directed to our room, which we told was by the pool. When we did find it i wished i hadn't opened the door. It was the worst room we had ever stayed in, both myself my wife and 16 year old son were disgusted. The room looked like a prison cell, the only thing missing was the bars on the windows, although it did have some blue fablon with fishes on it covering the only window, this was obviously to stop people gawping in as they walked past. There were two single beds and one double bed in the room, one wardrobe, no chest of drawers. There was no natural light in the room, so you had to have the lights on, and open the door in the day to get some light in, this resulted in the people around the pool looking into the room, so privacy was out of the question. The room is above a terrace, so you could here tables and chairs being dragged across the floor until all hours, karoke until late, with an annoying spanish entertainments bloke,the bin man comes round first thing in the morning dragging a wheelie bin behind him, so you get woken up early. When we woke up the first morning we were greeted by a cockroach that had wondered in under the door. We had complained the first night and the hotel did not want to know, they said Thomson had to sort it, when i spoke to the Thomson rep the next morning, they didn't want to know, they said there were no more rooms, although we could move to the calypso for £300 pounds more. The main rep Jacki was the worst one, she was quite smug when she spoke, basically the response was get on with it or give us £300 to move. Both reps were adamant the hotel was 2 star, although the Thomson website clearly states it is 3 star , the reps were no use, and neither was the 24 hr helpline to the uk, as they didn't want to know either when i rang them. The reps said that no one else had complained about the family rooms, but i found out that three other occupants of the rooms had complained two days before us, and it was all about the same complaints that we had. They didn't even speak to us about moving us to a room in the hotel once other people had moved out.The main hotel itself wasn't too bad, the food was ok, the entertainment was rubbish, and once you had dodged the mobility scooters, zimmer frames, and wheelchairs, you could sit in the bar and have a drink. Benidorm is like Blackpool with sun, if you like bingo, karoke, cheap tacky gift shops, and entertainers that were around when dads army was on the telly, then you will enjoy it, we will not be returning to Benidorm or the Calypso, and definately not be booking with Thomsons again, they will take your money, but if anything is wrong, they will act as though you are not even there, i haven't attached photos, but have them to go with my complaint to Thomsons.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Nospeakathalingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janmpspain, Customer Services Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2008

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Rio Park . We have a total of 456 rooms at the hotel and only 9 of these are the family rooms in which you stayed. Our customers are generally satisfied with these rooms, but we will look into the points you have raised and ensure we make any improvements where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2008

Not long back from Rio park,did not find any dirty glasses,must say the handwash as you go into the restaurant is a very good idea and should be taken up by other Hotels.I found the food very,very good,and that comes after staying in the5* Hilton,malta in January.Nothing but praise for for the food.For a so-called2* Hotel not bad at all although the main bar area is more like a works canteen.The single rooms are tiny but very clean,(you are only going to sleep there anyway).Bars round the corner beer or wine only 1EURO.very good value and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank woody928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2008

we got back last saturday, that's me hubby and one year old. the good things were it was very clean, hotel staff friendly, cheap drinks at bar,lovely weather, the pool, plenty of sunbeds, the food was ok nothing spectacular but good for the baby as she had a lot to choose from , no bad stomachs to report anyway ! twelve o clock check out time....the not so good was ages waiting for lifts, building works although this wasnt a big problem, no kettle in rooms, you have to hire the telly remotes and hairdryers so take your own hairdryer as they only have a few and you can only have them for a few hours, nineteen euros for hotel safe and you get four euros back, loads and loads of old people who needed electric scooters in the day but could do the can can at night !! the beds were awful to sleep on and the baby cot was like an orphange one, we enjoyed terra natura and the baby loved it , have been to terra mitica before and that's really good. thought the night entertainment was a bit rubbish in hotel but plenty going on in benidorm anyway although most bars are still smoking bars so spend a lot of time outside with baby. it is still good value for money so enjoy !!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dazness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews