We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Angie Plymouth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
Ranked #50 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Have just returned from another fantastic stay at the Rio Park. This is the eighth time I have stayed at this hotel and it just gets better. Entertainment has now been added to the hotel which is excellent. The food in the restaurant is very very good. The hotel is kept spotless only criticism I have is the rooms are now needing an update they are looking very weathered.

Room Tip: ask for a poolside room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Angie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you Angie for choosing to come back to the Rio Park again! We are so pleased you had another great time at the hotel, and we have passed your comments on to the Management.
We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,983)
There are newer reviews for MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,683 - 1,689 of 2,987 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Travelled to Benidorm and stayed at the Rio Park for the 14th time. When we arrived the room was as always exceptionally clean and the cleaning, reception and bar staff were always very friendly and hard working. The food though has definitely dropped in quality and the standards in the dining room have slipped a little since our last visit last October. The biggest issue we had was with one of the new management team who seemed to spend more time looking after his own presentation than that of the customers. I think he was called Alfredo or something similar. We witnessed him telling off a hard working member of staff in a non professional manner in front of a number of guests in the pool area. This would not have happened under the old management team where the manager respected the staff and as a result they were totally respected by the staff. Feel extremely sorry for the current staff as they all fear for their jobs with a number of them already having major cuts in their hours and pay. Come on Rio Park give the staff and the returning guests the respect they deserve or you will end up with large numbers of vacant rooms over the winter months and very little quality staff to run the hotel.

To end on a positive note the rooms were cleaned daily and the cleaners were fantastic. In addition the bar staff as always were excellent and remembered us from previous visits as did the reception staff.

Sorry but unless changes are made we will be looking to go elsewhere in future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank TartanTranmere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with everything at your most recent stay at the Rio Park. I hope you discussed your concerns with the Management of the hotel as we very much value loyal customers such as yourselves, and sometimes it is easier to put things right while you are with us in the hotel. The Hotel Manager is aware of your comments and we would like to reassure you that although there have been changes to the entertainment for the summer,(for the better as our current guests tell us ) the rest of the hotel services and facilities continue to be of the same standard as previously.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, we will make sure they are passed on and we sincerely hope you will come back to the Rio Park for a fifteenth visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I have just arrived and found it to be clean tidy and a pleasant place to stay. The location is central and has all you could near by. Only a 5 minuet walk from the beach with plenty of bars around.

Entertainment for children is good as something is going an all of the time.

The only thing I would say that if you are on you own the single rooms are very small but still tidy.

Listening to some other people some rooms could do with a pick of paint.

Overall though a good place to staff for families as this is what that are good at.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Thank you for your comments which we have taken note of- we hope you enjoy the rest of your time at the Rio Park. Please don`t forget to apply for our Amigo Card with Gabrielle, our Guest Relations in the hotel, if you haven't got one already! Have a great holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

we went on a late deal but yet again its got better than before the hotel his spotless cleaners always on the go rooms were clean and maids very good at there job. cleaned every day and towels every day while we were there sheets changed twice we noticed every evening there were managers around to check every thing was okay food was much better and we are fussy eaters the roast beef was wonderfull so tasty and the sirloin steak so tender also roast pork loin very good also lots choice currys and pie also salads salmon prawns.ham cheese roast pork good choice was always something that you would like breakfast all good also entertainment was the best we have seen at the rio park some nights watched from our balcony outside stage very good outside space at the rio park super and lots of sun bathing space well done rio park and thomson staff excellent10/10.ps gill super on reception so friendly and likeable air condition.was very good

Room Tip: corner room great we had no noise pool views from 201/ 601/etc upwards sun in the mornings
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank kathStokeOnTrent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have just returned from a week away at the Rio Park Hotel. I am 19 years old and my friend is 21, and of course we had people saying it was for 'old people' To be honest, the hotel itself does accommodate for mainly older people, but did that put me off? no.

Firstly, this hotel should not be a 2* The rooms were cleaned everyday (even when my friend was ill, the maid cleaned up and didn't even bother) Bathroom was clean and clean towels everyday. The maid even folded up our clothes and put them in the draws. There is a TV but we didn't use it, I imagine you have to pay for it. Also there is no hairdryer, so bring you own! We got a swimming pool view on the 11th floor. It was very high up, so if your scared of heights, ask for a lower floor or don't go on the balcony. Heads up, if you are on the top floors, the lifts take LONG time, they even have seats outside the lift so you can wait sitting down.

Food: I am a VERY VERY fussy eater, and although there wasn't much choice for me personally, I still found something. Breakfast there was a full English, plus a bit of continental. served with all hot and cold drinks. Dinner time, there was something different everyday. Heads up, bring your purse as you buy your drinks when you get into the restaurant. Me and my friend were greeted by ( I think) a manager, who was lovely, always smiling. We never waited for a table, however, I can imagine that if you went straight down at 6.30 it would be as parents want their kids to eat earlier so they can get to kids club. We normally went down at 7.30 and there were plenty of tables, plus WIFI...even better.

Swimming Area: The pool is massive. There are three sections. Obviously very shallow for babies and smaller children, middle section for older ones, and the big pool where you can dive and jump in. It was clean, however I did find a can of red bull in there one day, so I quickly chucked it out. The area where you sunbathe is really big. We always found a space and a bed so I don't understand why people were complaining. Yes people are going down at 6am to reserve beds, but lets be honest...who doesn't. They do in every hotel. so stop complaining and just go get a bed. There is plenty. There is also loads of shady areas, one by the pool and one by the bar.

Entertainment: There was entertainment every night, and they rehearsed during the day. I found this quite funny and entertaining during the day, it gave me something to do but can imagine other people getting annoyed if they want to sleep and relax and all they can hear is singing. The entertainment staff were really friendly. I had a conversation with most of them. Mainly with Hannah, Max, Alex and Josh. They did shows such as mamma mia, grease, dirty dancing and Michael Jackson, It was fantastic

DRINKS ARE VERY CHEAP AND VERY STRONG. Single vodka and lemonade is more like a triple, so be careful! (but this is good, makes it a cheap and cheerful holiday)

Overall, I had an amazing holiday. P.S be aware if you are young and going out on the strip. Drinks will get spiked.

Enjoy this hotel as much as I did. I will return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Victoria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks Victoria R for your review and comments. We are really pleased to hear you had a great time at the Rio Park recently and we hope to see you back again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We were in Benidorm for the month of June and decided to eat in the Rio Park. It cost €8 each night except Sunday when it is €9.

Could not fault the food we went in early and had roast beef, yorkshire pudding, potatoes and three veg. It was really good. After that could not resist the fresh prawns and garlic dip (yummy)
then we topped it off with apple crumble and custard. We ate there every week would definitely go again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Truthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janmpspain, Guest Relations Manager at MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

So glad to hear you enjoyed the food at the Rio Park and thanks for choosing to stay at our hotel again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just got back, Hotel very clean, Such a shame to see most of the staff left cos they can`t afford to stay, wages been cut and at least a dozen entertainment staff taken on and 5 managers, Enjoyed watching Duo Zodiac but most of shows reminded me of Butlins, Plenty of choice of food but not very hot but you can use the microwave.Cleaners very good as are bar, dining room and reception staff.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Jacqs57190724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.6 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,217 reviews
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#40 of 192 in Benidorm
1,956 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
2,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Castilla
Servigroup Castilla
#15 of 192 in Benidorm
912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,094 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#22 of 192 in Benidorm
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park

Address: Av de Murcia 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#37 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £55 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park 2*
Number of rooms: 456
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The many repeat customers could tell you why they come back to the Rio Park again and again- location, atmosphere, and friendly staff. The hotel is a short walk to the beach and resort centre, and offers you plenty of options inside the hotel too. With a fresh modern reception, a choice of bars to relax in, plenty of outdoor space and great food and entertainment, it's not hard to see why the Rio Park is such a popular hotel. The hotel is a lively place with plenty of atmosphere. It's a great hotel to make new friends, meet old ones, or just relax with your loved ones and enjoy all the fun. The staff at the Rio Park provide a friendly and welcoming service and everyone wants to make sure you have a good time. Free Wi-Fi available in all hotel bars. Benidorm offers a wonderful climate all year round, and with its sandy beaches, impressive promenade and lively resort facilities, it is a favourite destination with all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio Park
Rio Park Hotel Benidorm
Rio Park Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing