We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
Ranked #42 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

Have just returned from a 2 week stay here and all I can say is I love this hotel, all the staff are so nice and they work such long hours.
A special thank you to Peter the entertainment guy he is amazing!! Anyone that can entertain my son for a fortnight is worth his weight in gold!!
I asked for a room on the 1st floor and got the exact room I requested, thank you Paula for putting my request forward.
We arrived about 10.15 on the Saturday morning and were given the room key straight away! Brilliant.
This is a perfect family friendly hotel, not too big that you don't know where your kids are.
All areas are spotlessly clean and are always being cleaned! Food is as always really good there is always something to eat, and it is replenished all the time, on the carvary nights the meats were beautiful.
The snack bar was excellent this year, they gave you real chips not wedges like last year.
I would thourghly recommend this hotel and I'm trying to book for next year as I write this review.
Location is brilliant out the front gate at the pool and your straight facing the Union Jack pub.
We were picked up at about 7.20 in the morning for our return home and were allowed down to the dining room for a continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weejoycie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Joyce,

This is Paula here. Thank you for your kind words.
It is most gratifying when we see that our Guests enjoy themselves during their holidays at the Regente, as that is our major goal.
Thank you very much for all your compliments. Comments like this one are really motivating. You are lovely.
As you know, you may contact us to benidorm@medplaya.com if there is anything we can do for you.
We will be happy to see you back next year. Please, remember to bring your Amigo Card.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,972)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 1,973 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

Just back from 11 nights at the Regente. Positives 1st :- very clean, rooms cleaned & fresh towels every day and maids are lovely. Most friendly staff iv known at a hotel, great with the kids especially Peter who works tirelessly to make sure both kids & adults are havin fun. Pool is good and wasnt too overcrowded. Location is good. Now for the negatives :- could only use main gate with the code from 9am till 6pm and it was very intimidatin goin to the main entrance at night, a few muggins and even the shop keeper in the mini market told mum to take her gold chains off :( food was poor and very little choice especially for kids. Not alot of parasols for shade but loads of loungers, life guard couldnt make up his mind if lilos and other pool novelties were allowed or not and seemed to be one rule for one and another rule for others, evening entertainment was basic but kids enjoyed it. Air con is rubbish. Would i stay again...yes, if they maybe had security patrol the outside so people felt safer going out and comin in.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angela-G-Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Hello Angela,

Thank you very much for writing this review on TripAdvisor.
Sounds that, overall, the holiday was enjoyable for you and your family. We are glad to know that your kids had fun with the entertainment and liked our compare Peter, that you found the Hotel to be clean, the location and pool area good, and our staff friendly.

We are taking note of your comments. Thank you for helping us improve.
Regarding the security, believe me that we are doing all that is in our hands and have informed the Police and City Hall about this. The Mayor has recently promised that an increase in the security measures in the area will take place soon. We have never known insecurity in the area before this summer. When it comes to us, we have improved our illumination and have a security guard every night and a camera at reception.
Unfortunately, for various reasons we must have the pool gate closed after 6pm.
Should you have any enquiries, please, forward them to benidorm@medplaya.com
Thank you.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed here in June for a week with the hubby, my two year old and both sets of grandparents. I was pleasantly surprised as to how good this hotel is. The rooms although a bit on the small side are very clean, like the rest of the hotel. A mini fridge and a kettle would have been a good addition but can't complain! The pool area was a good side and we were always able to get a sun bed no matter what time we got there. The really good thing about this hotel is the food. We stayed half board as I often get fed up of eating the same thing for a week on all inclusive but the food here was excellent. Not as varied as other hotels I've stayed in but the quality of the food makes up for it. The location of this hotel is also really good, only short walk to bars etc and bit further to the beach. The entertainment was ok and I should know as having a room overlooking the pool area where most of the evening entertainment took place meant that I had a front row seat whether I liked it or not! All in all this was a lovely hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Hello sandle22,

We are pleased to know you had an enjoyable holiday at the Regente and that you would stay with us again.
In that case, you should get an Amigo Card, as all our regulars do.
Thank you for stating you liked our food quality, the pool area, the entertainment and the cleanliness of the hotel.
We hope to see you back soon.
Make sure you let us know if you have any enquiries to benidorm@medplaya.com
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

If you want a quiet hotel and holiday DO NOT go to this hotel.
Having travelled to Benidorm many times, and having lived there for 3 years I think I know what this fantastic resorts good and bad points are.
This hotel is located in the busy Rincon De Loix area close to all the clubs, bars, eating areas, the indoor market and shops, which is a definite plus, it is also a good 10/15 minute downhill walk to the beach, think about the return journey when its hot and sweaty.
When we arrived at the hotel Regente we were met with a crowded foyer apparently, there was a football tournament on and it seemed that most of the teams were there at the same time all being very rowdy, and very loud, it took at least three quarters of an hour just to get to the sole receptionist, who once we got there was curt and sharp, obviously as browned off with it all as we and my partner were.
I actually felt as though i was treated as a second class customer as I/we were ONLY half board and not all inclusive, perhaps it was just me.Our room allocation was on the 6th floor, yes you can walk up the stairs but not with luggage, so you have to use the dreaded lifts, the absolute worst lifts i have ever seen, small cramped and very slow indeed. The room was clean and tidy, the maid came in everyday and cleaned changed towels made beds etc, the air con was rubbish for such a hot climate,the bathroom/toilet had no extractors, although the balcony was quite large, overall, average.
The food was plentiful, but poor quality, for a country with such a climate you would assume that the fruit and veg would be fantastic, as it was when we went to Australia, it wasn't, it was hard and tasteless and totally unappetising.
Night time was the worst part, there were noisy uncaring people screaming at each other, slamming doors, running along the corridors and up and down the stairs, of which our room was next to, children of all ages being allowed by their parents to do as they wish, at all hours of the day and night, the security was non existent, just a total waste of money and i for one will not be going back there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benidorm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear Benidorm03,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel Regente.

We are glad to know you liked the nearness of the hotel to the main nightlife and other attractive venues in the area, your room balcony and the cleanliness of the room.

We are sorry if our 3-stars Hotel did not meet up your expectations.

We would like to apologize if you felt you were not treated properly by the receptionist. We are all human and, in some occasions, we might be tired or not in the best mood possible, and I suppose this could have been the case. And by no chance we treat differently our Guests depending of their board basis. It is a pitty that you had that impression.

Regarding the noise, I am afraid that, as you might already know, Benidorm is not exactly a quiet resort, especially in summer time. Maybe for a future holiday you would prefer to choose Medplaya Hotel Riudor, which is an adults only hotel in also a very central location, and nearer to the beach.
We hope that, overall, you enjoyed your holiday.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

great hotel all the staff were brilliant. rooms cleaned everyday food was good. always got a sun bed nice small hotel were everyone was friendly meet loads of friends. great entertainment 4 everyone will be going back again. only problem the muggings round the bins. and when i went down 4 dinner i only got up 4 a second and my plate was always gone.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hello Justin,

Thank you for the excellent scores you have given us, and for writing this review.

As you might know, we are aware of the mugging that took place one day. The Regente's area has always been a very safe one and we had never had to face events like this one until now. We informed the Police straight away that day. They have increased their patrols, we have a security guard every night, have illuminated properly the location of the bins and have a camera at reception. However, I am afraid that, as in any touristic city, during the peak season muggings increase in Benidorm and these can take place anywhere. In this occasion, unfortunately, it was near the Hotel. However, I would like to point out that Hotel Regente's area is known to be pretty quiet and safer than other areas.

We will keep on working to improve our services and to contribute to our Guests' enjoyment of their holidays.
Thank you for stating that the Regente is a great hotel with brilliant staff!
We will be looking forward to seeing you again.
We encourage you to get an Amigo Card and to email us to benidorm@medplaya.com should you need any help.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Just returned from staying at the Hotel Regente for 10 nights with my grandparents, we had an amazing time and are defiantly thinking about returning next year.
The hotel itself is kept clean and you can see that all the hotel employees work extremely hard to ensure that all of the guests in the hotel are enjoying their holiday.
We had a pool view room although we didn't request it and we were lucky considering the other side of the hotel has views of apartments but it wouldn't have bothered us either way as we didn't spend much time in our room, everything was fine in the room although the shower could be updated but it still worked fine.
The restaurant is very hygienic with making sure that all guests use the hand sanitizers before going in, always found there was something for me to eat even though I am very fussy, one night there was very little option except fish but overall there will always be something.
We always managed to find sun beds around the pool even in the middle of the afternoon although some people do go down and put towels on the beds before 7! (waste of time)
Peter who does the entertainment is always trying is best to make sure that all the kids can join in and are enjoying themselves, he is very friendly and makes all the children feel welcome. Juan (it think) on reception is very helpful and polite every time you walk in, he clearly loves his job and he is very funny.
We went to Mundomar to swim with the dolphins and we booked with the rep and it was €100 to swim and €21 for family to go into the park for a day and it was well worth the money, we will definatly visit again when we return to Benidorm, Aqualandia is also well worth the visit and we could have spent the whole day there, plenty of things to do for people of all ages and it is only about 10/15 minutes walk away from the hotel and €1.50 on the bus per person but it is definitely well worth a vista.
The only downside about this hotel was the muggings on a night that I heard about as people have been hiding in the bins at the side of the hotel that are well dressed so you wouldn't expect anything but we returned to the hotel every night after midnight and never seen anybody lurking around but it is best to be on guard and only carry things you need for the day, also the safes arrant expensive with it only being €10 deposit which you get back when you check out and €2.50 a day which is a small price to pay considering what can go on outside of the hotel.
Over all we had a great holiday, we would recommend it to anybody and will defiantly return in the near future!

Room Tip: Request a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XxEmmaxX10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Hello Emma,

We are really happy to know that you had an excellent stay at the Regente and that you will be coming back.
We will be more than happy to welcome you back.
We are glad as well to know that you appreciated how Juan Manuel (at reception) and Peter (entertainer) work, and that you liked your room and the food.
We hope you have applied for an Amigo Card.
Please, feel free to contact us to benidorm@medplaya.com if you need any assistance with your future holidays with us.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

First time in benidorm very nice fantastic holiday only one problem with hotel all the muggins just outside hotel at bins mostly the elderly and the hotel is playing it down on saturday there were three before 6pm. so take care the muggers are well dressed you wouldnt expect it from them

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MedplayaBenidorm, Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations at MedPlaya Hotel Regente, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Hello Caroline,

We are glad that you had a fantastic holiday at the Regente.

We understand your concerns regarding muggings. Unfortunately, these take place in any touristic city, and that includes Benidorm.

The Regente's area has always been pretty safe and quiet, it is not known as a dangerous area at all. Even though it is true that we have been experiencing some pickpocketing lately, these only took place on the last few weeks and, as the Hotel staff is aware of it now, the Police was informed straight away. This is result of the higher activity there is during peak season, when we get more holidaymakers in the city.

In general terms, if tourists are aware of pickpockets, they do not even bother, as they go after easy targets. It is always recommendable too to hire a safety deposit box to keep the most of your money in it instead of taking it with you.
At the Regente we care for our Guests and have a security guard every night, and a camera at reception.

However, we are glad to know you found Benidorm to be very nice despite these events and that you enjoyed your holiday with us.
We hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards,

Medplaya Benidorm Guest Relations
Medplaya.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
#49 of 192 in Benidorm
3,014 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Rialto
Servigroup Rialto
#18 of 192 in Benidorm
1,233 reviews
0.5 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,264 reviews
3.1 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Regente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Regente

Address: Calle Monaco 5, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £46 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Regente 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Regente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regente Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Regente
Regente Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing