We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
Ranked #42 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, good value for money”
Reviewed 11 June 2009

Just got back on Monday after an 11-day holiday A/I at the Regente.

We flew from Leeds and Bradford with Jet 2 and used the online check in service so we only had to drop bags. It was easy to do and so much quicker.
I was disappointed to see that Greggs has closed, as it was the only reasonable place to grab a snack, everywhere else in the airport is so expensive.

Arrived at Alicante 20 minutes early and David Gutteridge from Prestige tours was waiting for us, we had the whole mini bus for the 4 of us so plenty space.

We got to the Regente about 2pm and were allocated room 312 facing the pool. (We had requested a low pool facing room) It had 2 single beds and bunk beds, not masses of room but bigger that the Dalmatas last year, and spotlessly clean too.

We didn’t bother unpacking straight away; we went for some lunch instead. They have hand was gel as you go into the dining room and most people were using it although there were a few that didn't. The food on the whole was really nice; it was always hot, fresh and plentiful. I did see a boy lick a serving spoon and was going to tell his parents but they spotted it too and made him give it to the waiter,( I hate stuff like that)

Breakfast was 8-10.30am Lunch 13.00-15.00 Dinner 19.00-21.30.

When you order snacks, it’s waitress service; you order them from the tables around the pool area. They are served 10.30-12.00 and 15.00-17.30 although they did seem to finish around 17.00 for some reason. I do have a list of snacks but won't bore you with them unless anyone is interested then they can p.m.me.
Tea coffee and cakes were also available at the bar from 16.00-17.00
Late snacks from 21.30-11.30 can be ordered in the restaurant; again they are cooked fresh to order.

On all-inclusive you can order drinks from the pool bar or the main bar and there were no separate queue, we were all treated the same as the paying guests.

If you book half board then on arrival you can upgrade to A/I for €12 or €8 a day if you are full board. You can also buy international spirits at 50% of the normal price as well as things like bottles of cider and bacardi breezers. You can only upgrade for a minimum of 4 days and everyone in the party has to do it. If you do choose to upgrade just for 4 days then it has to be the last 4.

Went to several bars and found a new one on Calle Londre called Betty Boos owed by a guy called Richard, his wife is Spanish and is a dead ringer for Betty Boop!!
He not only offers free Wi Fi access but will also give you free use of his laptop.
My partner mislaid his phone one night so we rang it the next morning and Richard answered it saying that he had found it on the floor in the bar, we were very touched by his honesty.

Enjoyed seeing Deb and Her at the White Horse, and also Terry Foster the Hypnotist who was on at the U.K caberet bar, didn’t really see any more acts this time except the ones in the hotel which were hit and miss depending on individual taste. The best we saw were an acrobatic pair called Havana, they were really good.
They have a parrot and a birds of prey show at the hotel but if you don’t want to pay €10 for a frameless picture then tell them you don’t want one taking because otherwise they just plonk them on your shoulder then ask for the money afterwards which can be embarrassing for some people.

The animation girl is called Estelle, she does the bingo and mini disco on an evening and various things through the day, and she’s very friendly and comes around talking to individual guests. All the staff at this hotel go out of their way to make you feel welcome and most of them have been there for years, which says something.

We met some lovely people including some crazy girls from Barnsley who we are still in touch with via facebook. There were also 2 stag parties but they were very well behaved and didn’t cause any bother, I really hope that now they are doing the A/I option that it doesn’t spoil things.

I would recommend the Kebabish over the road next to the Union Jack, at €4. their kebabs were delicious for a late supper.

As for the “sickness bug” I only came across one person in 11 days who was ill for 2 days. I’m sure if it were rife like some people make out then we would have heard of a lot more. I wouldn’t hesitate in staying at the Regente again, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

David picked us up at 10.45am as planned (Mr reliable) and we arrived at the airport about 50mins later.

Although we had checked in online, when I asked, I was advised that we still had to queue like everyone else although when we got to the front, the girl on the desk told us that we needn’t have but there was nowhere else so I didn’t quite get that bit.

Roll on September for my next holiday.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Naburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,892 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    700
    320
    115
    76
See reviews for
644
626
47
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (510)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2009

Clean friendly hotel with simple but enjoyable entertainment. Food was very exceptable mainly targeted at the British tourist. (bacon and egg for breakfast, steak and kidney pie for dinner. ) The jacuzzi wasn't working and the loungers around the pool need cushions. Well placed hotel 10 mins walk from beach and on the regular bus routes to the old town. (1.25 Euros) . Rooms are clean and practical but you have to leave a returnable deposit for the hairdrier, TV remote control and safe key (50 euros )

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColinOldham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK/Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Have just got back from regente (a group of 8). First thing we noticed was how clean the reception area was. While there we saw people cleaning constantly, you could even smell that the lifts were cleaned. Great idea to have your hands sanitised as you walk into the restaurant. We went A/I and thought it was great (just watch how much you drink or you'll get a head ache the next day). Food was good and hot. Rooms were SPOTLESS and cleaned daily. Entertainment was better then most hotels I've been to. Go twice a year to Benidorm and will go back to Regente. Also, staff were really friendly. Had a great stay. Also, we drove to the hotel (as we live near) and managed to park virtually outside the hotel for free.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philipmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
1 review
Reviewed 3 June 2009

i enjoyed my holiday to benidorm ans my stay at hotel regente but i i didnt enjoy the food as it was mainly the same every night and didnt taste quite nice some evening the food especially the meat and fish meals. which a few of the people i was and myself to be ill for a few days. also i wasnt too keen on the rooms they was to too 'boxed' liked and wasnt alwayed cleaned it to the fouth day when i had to go out and by my own cleaning products, which is something to you want to be doing when your holiday.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 May 2009

We aarrived in the Regente app 12-30 sat night. we we greeted with friendliness from the night manager and given a packed meal to eat. In the morning we went down to an immaculate dining area, greeted be a friendly waiter. the hygine standards are excellent.
The hotel, cleaniness, staff, pool area are second to none. Rooms cleaned every day, towels clean, maids so friendly, meals and choice of meals, excellent. Friday night is gala night and i would recomend this evening to all who stay there. All in all, one excellent hotel .
Close to all amenities, but, so quiet at night.
Would go back or recomend to any one !

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justmeEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
birmingham england
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2009

The hotel has a friendly atmosphere. Entertainment every evening, starting with something for the children. Restaurant is clean with a good choice of food. Gala meal every Friday evening with a carvery and champagne. Swimming pool area is clean, only fault they allow smoking on one side if the entertainment bar and you can smell it on the non-smoking side other wise no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizBirminghamEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somerset
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2009

I thought the hotel was good value for money.The hotel should be a 3 star and not 2.The food was very good and great hygiene standards.My children loved the area by the pool to play.The hotel was in a quiet area but still a short walk to the beach and shops,bars etc.The family rooms were a little small but a lovly bathroom and cleaned every day.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank newlyweds09somerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,923 reviews
0.7 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
MedPlaya Hotel Rio Park
#49 of 192 in Benidorm
2,899 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Rialto
Servigroup Rialto
#19 of 192 in Benidorm
1,186 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riudor Hotel Benidorm
Riudor Hotel Benidorm
#33 of 192 in Benidorm
1,263 reviews
0.6 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#23 of 192 in Benidorm
962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MedPlaya Hotel Regente? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MedPlaya Hotel Regente

Property: MedPlaya Hotel Regente
Address: Calle Monaco 5, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — MedPlaya Hotel Regente 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Expedia, Onthebeach, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your MedPlaya Hotel Regente reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regente Benidorm
Benidorm Hotel Regente
Regente Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing