We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Staff, Terrible beds and local spirits......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Gran Hotel Bali, we booked a last minute all inclusive week with lastminute and paid about £320 each (including baggage) Flights and transfers went swimmingly and a benefit for us was that we were the first drop off on the coach. Upon first appearances the hotel was very impressive, very imposing and modern. We checked in without problem but I would suggest that you insist on a sea view, the other rooms don't seem to have a balcony. The room itself was basic, we were in building 1 which is the smaller of the two. It was clean, two single beds with a seperate day bed and a small flat tv on the wall. We were on the 4th floor and had a partial sea view that was very nice. The bathroom was well equipped with a bath with shower over, plus a seperate shower cubicle, bidet, sink and toilet. It also came equipped with hair dryer, combs, shower caps, soaps, small shampoo and shower gel sachets. We ate lunch and dinner on the first day but then did not eat again in the hotel, there was a canteen feel about the eating scenario of which i did not like, but then again the entire area was similar standard. The staff were lovely, especially at the bars, they were particularly happy to assist with my Spanish and I tipped them every time - which seemed to aid the quick service. There are seperate areas at the bars for all inclusive and if people were paying you were overlooked until they were served. This property was definitely crowded for the older generation, so if you are looking for the hustle and bustle of Benidorm, you must have some money for a Taxi or Bus. In short, I thought that the local "booze" was very cheap quality, it was too isolated for us, it almost felt like Blackpool out of season. We hired a car for several days which gave us much more freedom, but when we returned the car we felt isolated again. I know that we were out of season but it was just a little bit depressing. I would definitely go to Benidorm again but without the all inclusive hotel, perhaps a villa or apartment.....somewhere more central and felt like we had a bit more freedom! The beds.....were rock solid, we didn't sleep well at all and have returned with back pains, which is the reason we paid £200 to return a day early. In all, Benidorm is what it is, fun, cheap and fabulous for architectural design, but, we couldn't find somewhere special to eat, it was all the same sort of egg and chips places, friendly people and stunning beaches. I wouldn't stay at this hotel again, simply because the rooms weren't as comfortable as I would have liked, it was chilly and was too far out from the "action" as it were. if you want a quiet, all inclusive break and wouldn't want to venture too far from the hotel, this maybe for you!

Room Tip: Sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 1979ccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,706 - 2,712 of 5,364 reviews

Reviewed 3 February 2012

Had an excellent week's holiday at the Bali with three friends, one of whom was disabled. The staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well appointed. The food was excellent with a wide variety of salads, hot foods and show cooking. We loved the evening entertainment and joined in everything. The guests were mainly Spanish pensioners who just loved to dress up and dance. We found them friendly and they taught us their version of line dancing. The hotel was pretty quiet considering that it was full. A few minutes walk from the beach and then a nice walk along Poniente brought you to the Old Town. For those not fond of walking, buses stopped outside the hotel every 15 minutes into Benidorm Centre. Although the hotel was on a hill, the pavements were good and did not hinder our disabled friend on his scooter or in his wheel chair. Our only disappointment were the English 'yobs' who were drunk most of the time and bleated about the hotel not catering for the Brits. You all know the type.. tattoos, vests worn in the dining room, T shirts with obscene writing on.... the ones who make you ashamed to be British! This apart, we found the choice of hotel to be excellent. We enjoyed a very pleasant winter break and would certainly go back again.

Room Tip: We were in the smaller of the two hotels which comprise the Bali and all rooms seemed to be of a hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2012

i really dont know what people want this is the secondtime here and we were on the 21st floor plenty of lifts too,, food was plentyfull and there was something for every one plus good entertainment on a night it is what you make of it ,,,its your holiday!!! the hotel is clean and if there wasnt a smell of disinfectant you would have something to say!!!

Room Tip: floor 21 is good and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank ann m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2012

The hotel needs to smarten its act up somewhat; it could be so much better. I don't think it really knows what its target customer base is - and maybe its sheer size creates issues in terms of break even levels and profitability. There are contrasts in the hotel. The lobby area is quite impressive; on the other hand the two main restaurants are a little like works canteens. Food-wise, there were many alternative choices, so one could usually find something that suited - albeit that the overal quality was not as high as one might have expected. My fifth floor bedroom was very nice - but hardly sound proof. One could here anything untoward happening next door! The street view over the front of the hotel was not particlarly enervating, but the views over the pool area were apparently better. I cannot comment on views from the high floors. The staff, on the whole, were friendly and helpful although some looked bored rigid! There is parking in a basement carpark which has good access to the lobby, although the card readers to allow access/exit sometimes needed a little convincing. A huge new hotel (twin towers!) is going up not too far away; maybe this may act as a stimulus!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Apollo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

ive just came back from a stay in this hotel all inclusive, very nice hotel indeed, food was dead on , a luxurious hotel lobby and front, lots of people walkin around takin fotos of the pool areas and things and they were right too! lovely lay out all round , rooms wernt gorgeous, but very comfy and bathrooms were spotless, room service everyday , cant really fault it at all, wud go back defo, but not for the prices quoted in july when im off again! loads of elderly spanish in the hotel in january , this seemed to upset some english people!but i thought it was a nice change from the norm and im irish so get on with anybody! lol. i got the hotel for 357 quid for 9 days all inclusive so no wonder i was happy , bus ran every 15 mins into the egg and chips side of benidorm if needed for 1euro sumthin ,

Room Tip: in the smaller buiding get if you can get the eighteenth floor, panoranic veiw of the whole stretch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank franco1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We loved it ,3 married women on a 5 day retreat brilliant,food nice there was something for everyone every nite,a great selection,would stay there again,only problem was it was 2 far away from the old town n the new town,but we were very lucky,we met a lady n gentleman from wales,who were staying in our hotel n had a car,who showed us the whole area,n we thank them very much,we walked the beach,from are hotel to the old town in about 20 mins,and it was beautiful,would recommend,really enjoyedare trip and would tell all are friends 2 stay here.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor,as the views at nite time are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank wizardcrilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I genuinely couldn't decide whether to give this review 3 or 4 stars. But I'm gonna stick with 3 stars. Let's start with the good things about this hotel. Personally, I love the location. It's at the far end of the Poinente area, 2 minutes walk to the beach, and 5 minutes walk to the smaller bay of Cala de Finestrat (nice). I like the fact it's in the quieter, less commercial area of Benidorm, if you're going for the stereotypical 'Beni' experience, you'd be disappointed. To get to the Rincon/Levante/commercial part of Benidorm, there's a bus that stops almost outside the hotel, it stops every 15 minutes or so and it's a 1 Euro 20 (any distance, same price) and a 20 minute trip up until around midnight.
I've heard a few bad reviews of the food, but I thought it was really good! I stayed all inclusive and it's buffet service for every meal. There's so much choice, I mean seriously, if you are staying there for a week, how on earth can it be 'samey'?! The drinks service at dinner is good too, there's one counter in the restaurant to get your drinks and they serve wines, beers and soft drinks. For other drinks you have to go to the bar.
The rooms were really clean, very basic yes, but definately clean with fresh towels daily, a good supply of toiletries and a decent sized bathroom. The views are phenominal! I stayed on the 26th floor with a view over the 2 bays. The mountain views give you exactly that too. For non all inclusive folk, there's lots of bars and cafe's in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Oh and the lobby is impressive too.

Bad points - some of the reception staff are rude (and I can speak some Spanish - even that is met with apathy and a mild frown). The rooms DO need some new furniture. But the worst point about the hotel (and this applies to the all inclusive option again) - there is only one bar open at any one time. Yet the hotel is one of the biggest in Benidorm. So expect to queue for on average 15-20 minutes at any one time for a drink. And there's a one drink policy. And it's nasty 'local' spirits. They open 90% of the bar to paying customers who also get given the brand name spirits, but if you happen to be one of the all inclusive holidaymakers (who incidentally must make up 75% of the residents!) then you queue in a single file at the very end of the bar. As other reviewers have said, you are treated like a second class citizen. And finally, if you're expecting 'entertainment', then here's hoping you like a bit of 'Vic and Bob' style club singing in a social club environment.

Mixed feelings then really, but I sort of did like the hotel and at a push I'd stay there again, just maybe B&B next time as it's a very good price for a 4* resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors and avoid floor 11 as there's a noisy generator on that floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank LexiNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
3.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
951 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
1.4 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
2,847 reviews
1.9 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#62 of 192 in Benidorm
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali

Address: Calle Actor Luis Prendes, 4 | La Cala, Playa Poniente, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#34 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £48 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 776
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gran Hotel Bali is the most singular hotel on the Costa Blanca, being the highest hotel in Europe. It is situated in La Cala de Benidorm, very close to the sea and is made up of two buildings with impressives views of the Benidorm skyline and Poniente Beach, certified with Bandera Azul. Our highest tower, was built in 2002, measures 186 meters with 52 floors of which 43 are of use for guests, and the total is 776 rooms, where there are 12 suites. In-room amenities include with an additional cost: room service, laundry service, and wireless Internet access in rooms. Our emblematic hotel has a luxurious lobby with 18 lifts, two of which are panoramic, and the reception area is open 24 hours. Among the services offered by the reception, the rental of safes, courtesy rooms, our service of the wallet card where you can use the room key-card to pay for your drinks and food without money, recharging the same and enjoying a 15% discount, and currency exchange. It also has a TV room, our Club Cotton Club and a games room. Gran Hotel Bali has two air-conditioned restaurants where we have high chairs for families with children. Also, there are areas with show cooking and buffet. Regarding to the cafeterias are 4 areas for use and enjoyment of our guests. With respect to the offer of leisure and entertaintment, Gran Hotel Bali has an extensive complete and adapted program to all ages. As well as, the hotel has 3 swimming pools on our magnificent terrace: one for adults and children, a children's pool and the large lake with an outdoor jacuzzi, surrounded by a large solarium area with sunbeds and umbrellas. In the same area, children can enjoy on our mini playground. In addition, we have additional services with cost as the visit to our viewpoint for our clients or those who want to enjoy the heights of our hotel looking Benidorm. There is also a hairdressing salon, our Fitness Center (sauna, massage, beauty salon, gym) and garage for an additional payment, as well as a free Wi-Fi connection in public areas. Gran Hotel Bali also offers a several multifunctional lounges fully equipped to host any type of event or celebration, highlighting our magnificent and spacious Palacio de Cristal lounge with direct access from our garden. As well as, our business guests could use our conference room and Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gran Hotel Bali - Grupo Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Hotel Benidorm
Gran Hotel Bali Benidorm
Gran Bali Benidorm
Gran Bali Hotel Benidorm
Hotel Bali Benidorm
Hotel Gran Bali Benidorm
Bali Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing