We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“On the Strip!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Ranked #27 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“On the Strip!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We were touring the Costa Blanca coast and chose this hotel as a base, mainly because it is one of the few with a carpark. Carpark cost 15 euro per night, but worth it for peace of mind as it's very secure.

Check-in was quick and straightforward with pleasant staff.
You pay a returnable fee for a remote control for the TV and for the use of a safe in your room.
If you want to be within walking distance of the nightlife, this is the place to be so bear this in mind if you want a quiet nights sleep.........you can't have everything!
Our room was on the 10th floor in Ambassador 2, overlooking the pool and, between other tower blocks, we got glimpses of the sea. We'd a twin room with balcony which was an average size for Spanish holiday hotels. The single beds were, without doubt, the most uncomfortable I have ever encountered. If you've ever had the misfortune to have been in a hospital bed you'll get the idea. Narrow, hard, minimal sized sheets and a thick rubbery mattress cover that if it goes into a wrinkle under you, is like lying on the shaft of a brush!
As I've mentioned before, the nightlife is very close and until 6.30am you'll hear passers by heading home singing their hearts out at the top of their voices. As I lay awake listening to them each night, I envied their sensibility to obviously stay in a quieter area than 'the strip'!!
There is a bar adjoining the hotel at the front door, directly below pool facing rooms, which has music nightly until late.

The room was clean but I felt that the bath and sink needed a really good scrub and polish. It was like a build up of invisible grime that you only felt when the water was in the bath or sink, then you could scrape it with your nail! On the plus side, there's no danger of slipping in the bath as you shower because it is quite grippy!!!

We booked half board but only had dinner on two nights.
Though there was plenty of choice and what was there would 'fill a hole' so to speak, we opted to eat out after the second night. All dishes and desserts are labelled clearly..ish even though some have titles like, chefs cake, chefs dessert or chefs surprise! The chefs surprise was the bread and butter pudding from the night before cut into individual squares.
There are so many cheap food options within a few hundred metres of the hotel, including a freshly cooked, full English breakfast and three course dinners that we wouldn't bother with half board if we stayed here again. John and Joseph's opposite the front door is open 24 hrs and do very nice coffee, tea and food cooked to order, with great service.
If you want Spanish food or tapas, you'll have to travel a little further.....maybe London??? Seriously though, Spanish food and tapas are available but not so much in this immediate area.

We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and around it was packed with sun bathers. The beach is only 5-10 minutes walk away anyway if you can't get a space.
The Old town is within walking distance and even if you can't walk, mobility scooters are for hire absolutely everywhere.
Morgans Tavern (TV show Benidorms Neptunes bar, is 50 metres away on the opposite side of the road).

All in all, this hotel will suit families, couples and groups of friends who want to be in the middle of everything that's going on and don't mind noise. Apparently the rooms at the back are quieter!
You could leave the hotel on foot and be entertained by numerous tribute bands, get offers on drinks EVERYWHERE, have a bite to eat and stagger back all within what felt like a very safe area to us.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marticass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    922
    399
    105
    67
See reviews for
690
1,067
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

This was our second visit to this hotel prompted both by price and the good experience of our first visit. We were impressed again, the restuarant was really good, clean and well organised, the food excellent with a good choice available. The room was a little tired in places, but spotlessly clean, the cleaning routine was very efficient and timely and we have no complaints there.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful, We were particularly impressed with the Managers that greeted guests constantly during meal-times and generally there was an air of attention to detail in evidence everywhere.
The pool was covered because of the season, but it was warm and not overcrowded. If the hotel has a downside it is the night-time noise from the nearby bars, but then it both suffers and benefs from its convenient location.
Would we recommend this hotel? Yes most certainly.

Room Tip: don't ask for a room with a pool view if you wish to avoid nightime noise from the nearby bars
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from a week at The Ambassador Playa 1. We travelled with a 71, 50, 48, 18, 15 and 13 years. We had 3 twin rooms which were very clean and fresh. We asked if it was possible to move a bed so all the teenagers could be together and it was not a problem. The twin rooms are more than big enough, a real squash with 3 beds in 1 room, but that was the kids choice. It was my husbands 50th birthday and the restaurant manager, Antonio, had a bottle of Cava sent up to the room. The food is delicious and varied. There was lots of choices, although more or less the same every night, but when you have custard, rice pudding, a poached fruit, a fruit crumble, blancmange, trifle, cake, fresh pineapple and mandarin segments, and fresh fruit. There was a chocolate fountain twice. Every night there was at least 1 fish dish, fresh salad, meats and cheeses, pizza, soup and a variety of breads. Then you would have things like goulash, roast pork, a pasta dish, lamb dishes, curry, and so much more at both lunch and dinner. Breakfast...cereals, toast, jams, cheeses, hams, as well as sausage, 2 types of eggs, tomatoes, beans, sausage and blackpudding. We are all on diets after a week! The restaurant is reasonable for drinks and you can buy a bottle of wine and have a glass and they will keep the bottle for you for next time. We got involved with the games and fun which is set to get bigger and better with Ian -Oogli. The aqua gym is fun in the morning. Killer pool in the afternoon, and not forgetting the Oogli milk shake dance in the afternoon. We went on a Thomson package and it was great. Kenny and Haylie were lovely, as was Matthew their replacement. The Explorers bar staff were good fun, and Michaela was so welcoming. From the managers, to the cleaners everyone was so nice. My mother want to return there for Christmas, prices allowing. We spoke to loads of customers who had returned many times. I would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you like sitting on the balcony in the sun ask for a pool view. The opposite side of the hotel i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fmh39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewsburyYorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Came home 31 March, wehave stayed here over many years, had lovely weather for 3wks, only saw 2lots of rain! We sunbathed by pool in our swimsuits everyday, the hotel pool is a right suntrap and gets sun all day long, got alovely tan!
Was very impressed with the overall regurbishment of the hotel, particular the change on the resturant. The food presentation and choice had vastly improved, and the food was always hot and replemished frequently, unless you went in at the very last minute when they were ready for closing.!!
There was a new manager Antonio who came from Presedente, as Pasquel as swapped places with him. At first we didnt like him, but as days went on and he new we always visited tnis hotel, he became quite friendly, snd always wentout of his way to found us a table when it was busy.
The only thing was on my second day i had dbad S&D and was confined to my room for 3dYs.i just got right when my hubby started but he wasnt as bad. Quite a few people had same problem.
that was when they decided to make use of the hand gellmachines which they always had but never put onto use...
The entertainment in both rooms was goodif you didnt venture out, but we couldnt stay in as it was much too hot with heating on full and full of people, so we went out everynight. Plenty of bars to go to, and we went to Cafe B twice to see one vision and The boys brill from south america!
We always have pool view room, and never have any problem with noise from outside, but we dont goto bed early!
We had bedrooms cleaned and towels changed daily sheets 3times a week and all tne bedding and towels were spotless and white.
Now i cant understand why people expect to have free drinks with there meLs, you only get that with all/ incl. Also howmany 3star hotels do you get free coffee and tea making facilities in. We always take our own for early morning cuppa! Well i could go on, but for the price ypu payto stay in this hotel, you would pay a lot more at home, i think it good value! and will continue to stay here in the winter months, to get away from the cold winter at home.

Room Tip: Sun in front cold in back in winter months . you dont get as much noise on low floors as personally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThornhillLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Joined to the hotel is a building site, the reception greets you , its very nice newly refurbished I think, the rooms are like shoe boxes with poor tv , no kettle , no fridge , we had medicine for the little one so asked for a fridge , but nothing, the rep seemed to be interested but I think she was happy to see us leave , we stayed with a small child requiring a cot so had no space in the room at all. Very noisey at night . A very small childs pool with pieces falling off, hotel staff didnt seem to worried as the pieces were still in the water the next day. The food is well suited to anyone who likes cheap food full of rubbish , there were options but by the end of the week it all tasted the same and I was sick of it ,especially the smell . The bar staff were nice but I will never stay there again, very poor really in my opinion.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same so cant help there sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Arrived at the Hotel to be told room was not ready which is understandable as we got there quite early , we had a little look around the hotel whilst waiting and on first impression things looked good. The bar had a a new recently refurbished feel and drink prices were reasonable .
After lunch we were able to get into room and once we seen it i was totally disappointed ! Our room for a family of three was tiny ! Literally you couldn't swing a cat and I was just pleased I didn't suffer from claustrophobia !

We soon changed into swim wear and headed to the pool to find that every available space was occupied ! Omg it was ridiculous how cramped it was , people were practically lying in one big bed !

The restaurant was nice and food was tasty however the female waitresses were totally miserable and rude! I was starting to feel uncomfortable eating there as once you finished a course they would snatch the plate away as if it was such a hassle ! The male waiters however were nice .

The Hotel spa was lovely and a bargain at only 10 euros per person and children over 8 are welcome also , again however one of the women on the desk's attitude was a disgrace and I could read disdain in her expression when we were paying to use the spa ! Her attitude did not spoil our enjoyment after all and I rather pitied her in the end, if she hated her customers and her job so much ..

I enjoyed my holiday in benidorm however the staff's attitude has made me dislike this hotel . When you are paying money to enjoy something you don't expect to be treat baldy . Next time il stay at the pelicanos

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 03021987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

Recently returned from a week's stay in the the Ambassador Playa 1. Beds and pillows like bricks, food always cold (microwave used at every sitting), and repetitive (different variations of bread & butter pudding at EVERY MEAL (except breakfast). Sheets and blankets had cigarette burns in them, and think the towels were washed in bleach - they also felt like rubbing a brick on your body and caused my son a severe reaction resulting in a bad rash.

Only positive thing to say was that Paco and Maria (desserts) in restaurant were very friendly, but the dark haired woman on bar in restaurant could do with a few lessons in customer service! Not once did she crack a smile or say "thank you", always made to feel like you were putting her out.

Finally son got IPhone stolen out of his pocket when walking along the front - Spanish Police did not give a damn which is probably why there were seven British Holidaymakers at the Police Station the same time as us - ALL REPORTING STOLEN MOBILES, MONEY AND BANK CARDS, so beware! Do not fall for ANY distraction techniques from anybody, these people are reckless and will not stop at anything to rob you! Highly unlikely we will return, and if we do, it will not be to the Ambassador.

Room Tip: Make sure you are away from the Sports Bar of the hotel, we were right above it and the noise from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFollon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#16 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,650 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Calypso
Servigroup Calypso
#15 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#21 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II

Property: Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Address: C/ Gerona, 39-41, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#21 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambassador Playa i And Ii
Ambassador Hotel Benidorm
Ambassador Benidorm Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Benidorm
Ambassador Playa Benidorm
Ambassador Playa Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing