We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Ranked #28 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed 15 April 2009

The Hotel Ambassador in Benidorm is one of my favourites, mainly because of it's superb location within the resort of Benidorm. The hotel is situated on Calle Gerona which is a nice totally flat street right in the heart of new town Benidorm where all the action is . There is easy access for disabled tourists and parents with children in buggies,The entrances have automatic doors which is very handy for some people.
This hotel has 2 wings which are pretty much identical.The 2 wings of the hotel share one dining room.
Both wings of this hotel have a nice clean lobby area with comfy furniture to sit on.Check in can be a bit slow at very busy times but the staff are usually efficient. Actually , my only little gripe about this hotel involves the staff...ssome of them could smile a lot more, put it that way.That said I have stayed at this hotel at least 5 times so that speaks volumes .
There are 2 lifts up to the rooms.The best rooms I think, are located at the front of the hotel overlooking the pool and street but ALL the rooms are very nice.They are very clean and modern.They have a safe for hire, sometimes a fridge and most have a nice sized balcony which is furnished.
All the hotel is nice and clean and smells fresh.
Theres a large pool area with a covered pool for the winter.
The dining room is situated on a lower level which can be reached via the lifts. It's a large dining area which is spotlessly clean.Queues can be big at main meal times so get there early ! Everytime I have stayed at this hotel the food has been lovely.It's always very tatsy and well cooked with a good variety. It's ok for kids too usually. Lots of cakes etc to choose from.
The guy that is the boss in the restaurant is a really nice fella .He NEVER forgets a face and is always ready for a friendly chat. It's always nice to see him when I go there.
The hotel has it's own 'night club' where they have various local acts performing . I think it closes at about midnight though.
This hotel is in a prime location in Benidorm right in the heart of the action.It's close to the beach too, being just 5 minutes walk at the most along flat streets. Just directly across the road is the famous 'John and Josephs' bar. I love having a night in there then it's just a few drunken , jollysteps across the road and into bed ! The hotel has it's own couple of bars by the way.
So, all in all , I heartily recommend this hotel !

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank BritishBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,772 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    980
    432
    110
    76
See reviews for
730
1,134
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,084)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2009

Ten girls stayed at the Ambassador for a long weekend 27th to 31st march 2009 for a 40th birthday bash.The hotel was average standard,the food was ok,could have been better.The spa was great just 5 euro's for 2 hours.It rained most of the time we were there so did not get to use the pool area much except for one afternoon alot of the sunbeds seemed to be broken.Hotel is in a good position for the bars & nightlife,5 minutes walk to Stardust bar/club & 10 minutes to the strip & Cafe Benidorm & about 5 minutes to the beach.Ok for short stay would not want to stay there for a week or two.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poshfrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

after reading the reviews for this hotel we were dreading staying here,but i can honestly say we had a great time . the hotel is clean staff are very friendly and cant do enough for you,when people say the food is terrible i would like to know what they eat at home there is enough choice for everyone.the rooms are basic but modern plenty of wardrobe space,satellite tv including sky sports,bbc and itv etc.safe deposit box,nice balcony.the location is great,towels and bedding were changed everyday during our stay.the hotel facilities include a swimming pool indoor and outdoor and a spa in the basement and includes sauna,steam,jacuzzi,pool and steam room and was only 5 euros to use not 7 as in one of the reviews.would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Liked — modern and clean with satellite tv
  • Disliked — cant fault it
  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank angie40Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2009

went to ambassador last week in august 2008. when we got there we were put in hotel 2 and were a little worried what hotel was like. shouldnt have as rooms were perfect size for two adults and two kids. food was spot on and staff were very friendly. manager was great and was always asking if everything was ok. rooms were clean and we had a great view of the pools and could see the beach from our room which was only 5 mins walk. nightlife was very good and there was always somewhere to go.entertainment on night time was pretty good kids had a ball trying to keep a 7yr old and a 3 yr old happy was easy as there was always something for them to do. going back in 2010 as we really enjoyed ourselves and the weather was lush. cant wait to go back to ambassador really is a good hotel. cant think of anything else except 100% great holiday.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toonfannewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2009

good hotel with good food but not a wide selection tidy rooms cleaned every day the spa was brill and only 5 euros not 7 like some people are suggesting staff were helpful too would stay here again

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morriscarl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2009

Just got back from Benidorm stayed 4 weeks which is far too long for this tacky resort. Hotel adequate rooms were small for a long stay, we did not have pool view as it was an extra 2 euros each per night. Pool was out of action for two weeks and indoor spa and gym was 7 euros for 2 hour session. Food was disappointing, and repetitive. Porridge under cooked and all the veg was frozen and overcooked. Each weekend the Spanish arrived in droves and the noise was unbearable in the dinning room, which was unable to cope with the numbers, only good thing was the food improved over the weekend. Entertainment was either line dancing or sequence dancing and bingo every night. Definitley for older holiday makers. We are in our 60's and we were bored with it all. We did participate in aqua fit and walking group also book swap was a good idea especially when you are long stay. My husband had his wallet stolen just outside of the hotel and we were informed afterwards that this was a problem area. The reps did not inform us at the welcome meeting about this, I think they wished to play the problem down.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disappointed2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West midlands
1 review
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Returned home today after a weeks stay during half term (Me, my partner and 2 year old son). Was really looking forward to the trip as i love Benidorm and this was my 12th visit and after readind the positive reviews was expecting a great holiday. We booked a triple room which was just 3 single beds pushed together leaving no room either side of the beds and there was a hot pipe behind our sons bed. The hotel did not cater at all for children and although he is not a fussy eater there was nothing to eat for my son apart from at breakfast. I have stayed in many hotels in Benidorm most recently the Pueblo and Calypso which knock spots of this place. The man on reception was less than helpful and we asked to move hotels but were put off by the price quoted by Thomas cook. Overall not a good holiday and to top it off when we checked in for flight home i was on row 31 and my partner and son on row 2 on the aeroplane..................better still they put my son on the opposite aisle to my partner..............He is 2!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Much better hotels in Benidorm. Pay a little extra for Calupso or Flamingo Oasis.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zanda7480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#18 of 192 in Benidorm
1,785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Orange Hotel
Servigroup Orange Hotel
#23 of 192 in Benidorm
962 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Calypso
Servigroup Calypso
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II

Property: Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Address: C/ Gerona, 39-41, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#21 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II 3*
Number of rooms: 398
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ambassador Playa i And Ii
Ambassador Hotel Benidorm
Ambassador Benidorm Hotel
Hotel Ambassador Benidorm
Ambassador Playa Benidorm
Ambassador Playa Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing