We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“going downhill”
Review of Hotel Avenida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Avenida
Ranked #73 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed at the Avenida for the last 7 years, i know the hotel is not 4 star but it was central for what we wanted. The balcony on the side street are better, something to see all the time if you do not wish to walk to much, the hotel is kept clean and the maids are very good ( GIVE THEM A TIP AND SEE WHAT HAPPENS ) The last 2 years the food has been going downhill and waiting for tables is the same, Of course i knew this would happen when it started doing ALL INCLUSIVE. The hotel is old and not suitable for this. waiting for tables in the evening is a no no plus when you finish your meal you can not get a seat in the bar,not much good for 4 as we were and when we did get a seat we were split up half the night. The trouble is its a small hotel plus a lot of people staying across the road in the Avinida apartments are using the hotel for meals and the bar for drinks. Last year my sister was down with a bug for a few days ( the first ) i can not blame the hotel for this but we spoke to a lot of people staying at the hotel that were sick at the time we were there and someone that was there before we went was sick to. We enjoyed the first 5 years at the hotel but not the last 2 . You have probably guessed by now that we wont be going back ( CORRECT ) have booked another hotel this september. This hotel is for older people ( which i am ) . Good luck.

Room Tip: Rooms at the side get the sun most of the day, rooms at the front do not rooms at the back in the mo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (762)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Avenida
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

306 - 312 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

My partner and I went to this hotel on the 19th of July 2014.We booked this hotel thinking it was a 4 star hotel.Not in your life.I have read a few of the reviews for this hotel and ever one was spot on.When we arrived we were put in to room 213.I nearly had a fit, the most tiniest room I've ever been in,tiny small window with flats across from us, you could nearly touch them.Air conditioning wasn't working,shower rail hung up on an air vent.My partner went straight down to the reception and asked for a balcony, which may I add we got the next day.Very nice room.no complaints there.As for food not great unless your Spanish.survived on salads all week.Didnt do the entertainment, again suited for Spanish.The only really good point was the staff were very pleasant.As for the apartments, there's no way they should be allowed to use the facilities.If they want that kind of holiday then they should have paid like the rest of us.I would rate this hotel just nearly a 3 no we're near a 4.STAY CLEAR

Room Tip: Make sure you have a balcony
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

we booked for the avenidas apartments but was put in this hotel instead...very small room..no balcony...air con didn't work..the staff were polite but uncaring..asked for the air con to be fixed..no chance..asked to be moved...no chance...food very poor..only stayed one night as impossible to stay in the room longer than an hour..there was a window but it opened on to an indoor courtyard so was useless...we moved hotels the Hotel melia at our own cost...this hotel was lovely..i am in the process of complaining to travel republic and attempting to get my money refunded which I paid for an apartment I did not get

Room Tip: I wouldn't advise any room...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anthonyd440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

When booked for this hotel, we asked for balcony we checked in and was given a room with no balcony , so complained and got a transfer 2 days later . Rang reception for 2 more pillows as there was not any in the wardrobe was told the maid is on her way 4 times we had to ask so from 8 in the morning to 3.30 am still no pillows untill had a go and finally got them . The staff are very miserable especially the waiters in the dining room
We spent 2 weeks at this hotel never again .

Stayed: July 2014
4  Thank Yvonne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Suppose to b 4* hotel no way would say 3* some rooms only have window very claustrophobic and dark we asked to be moved and did 4 days later restaurant was small food was repetitive and wasnt that good the room with balcony that we moved to was very noisy till 4.30am with night club people coming home hotel in old part of benidorm wudt go hotel again stayed for ten days 7-17 july 2014

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank wizzy6008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Stayed for 10 nights , good points central location , staff were friendly . Bad points , choice of food very poor , and some strange menus fried eggs for lunch omelettes for dinner , food was also bland , spoke to 5 other couples staying at hotel and all slated the food , we had to eat out five of our nights .

Pool , water was not clean black bits floating in the water and tiles were filthy , also no parasols there were four pull out sun shades however only two working so forced us to go to the beach as the 8 or so beds under them were always taken . Pool is also shared with the apartments across the road , groups of teenagers .

Rooms were clean however very dated , as was the bar and restaurant areas throw back to the seventies .

Staff in all areas of hotel were very friendly .

Would not return .

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank stads05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Great central location, Dining room staff were always friendly and welcoming, service was good at all times. Food was very excellent, lots of choice, Feel rooms need to be updated, were not 4* standard

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays
4  Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Apartamentos Avenida
Apartamentos Avenida
#110 of 192 in Benidorm
401 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#40 of 192 in Benidorm
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#108 of 192 in Benidorm
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#27 of 192 in Benidorm
866 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bristol Park Hotel
Bristol Park Hotel
#98 of 192 in Benidorm
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#66 of 192 in Benidorm
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Avenida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Avenida

Address: Calle Gambo 2 | C Gambo 2, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £59 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Avenida 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Avenida The Avenida Hotel is located in the most central area of Benidorm and only 75m from the golden sands of the Levante beach. This modern designed Hotel offers you a great variety of choice in its buffet styled restaurant. On the roof top you will find the outdoor swimming pool, heated in winter, the Jacuzzi, gym, sauna (payable locally) and a snack bar open during the summer. Enjoy our entertainment team in the day and night activities prepared for all ages normally carried out in the big bar located to the restaurant. Rooms fully equipped. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Avenida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Avenida Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing