We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for sunworshippers or vegetarians”
Review of Riviera Beachotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riviera Beachotel
Ranked #3 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2011

I thought that this would be a really good hotel as it has just been refurbished.
Sadly the external appearance is just a cover
There are approximately 120 rooms, capacity for 240 guests, The pool would be crowded with fifty-and even then there aren't anything like enough sunbeds.The pool area is in the shade all morning, so although there are signs telling guests not to reserve sunbeds, that is exactly what they do-and no-one does anything about it! Then they come back from the beach to spend the afternoon on their sunbeds.
Both my daughters are vegetarians but there was not one vegetarian main course during the 5 nights we stayed-which meant they mostly ate cheese slices, potato wedges and a mix of carrots, beans and sweetcorn. Breakfast was -cheese slices!
On two of the 5 days we returned to our room to find no bathtowels.
The reception staff were very unhelpful.
So if you are a vegetarian -or a sunworshipper-this is one to avoid,

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Franc3976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,191 - 2,197 of 2,347 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just came back from 11 nights this hotel is of a hign standard but does have some problems which did spoil the stay. The pool is exstreamly small and only had approx 50 sunbeds with a approx 100 rooms this caused some problems with guests not being able to sit around the pool, also they do not let you out to the pool until 9am each day and if you are the lucky ones to get a bed and leave your towel on them un supervised the staff remove them.( this upset alot of people). You can not fault the staff and service at the hotel, it is brand new to new to an exstent.The food was very good and was a good selection each day. The down side was there was no chef cooking or preparing food with in the restaruant and for me which was a big problem the food was mostly warm or cold as its all kept in hot plates.The price of drinks was brilliant was cheeper than the local bars a pint was 1 euro.The bar had entertainment every night usally and couple of singers.

I went with my partner and found it most relaxing as it is a adults only hotel and with out sounding anti kids it was more relaxing sitting around the pool.

I would defo recommend this hotel but as mentioned they have a big problem ahead with th pool and amount of beds, and of course the food needs to be addressed. Because of this i would unfortunally would not stay at the hotel again it is a big shame.If i found it had changed I would defo go back.

Room Tip: If booking try not to get a room opposite the Rosimar its very noisy until 1am each nite with bands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank trayc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

I work as a general manager for premier inn and I can honestly say this hotel was fantastic. Could not fault the service location or anything. The only thing I would say is that the staff are a bit quick to take the breakfast buffet in. My friend cam down at 9.45am and was putting some toast in the toaster at 10.00am and the staff turned the toaster off while his toast was still in there. Apart from that I honestly could not fault the hotel. Rooms are really quiet considering how close they are to all the night life. Drinks are really reasonably priced too. If I go back I will ONLY stay there from now on.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Vic100873
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Hotel was excellent, very modern outside and in. All rooms were decorated to a modern style and were cleaned every day. Bathroom had excellent facilities including super double power shower. Staff were all very friendly and accommodating (even when you tried to get in at 3am in the morning!). The food was plentiful for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a variety to choose from. The area was very clean and modern (only drawback was small pool and limited space for sun loungers). The good thing about this hotel there are no children allowed.

Room Tip: The pool view is noiser because you have the Rosemar pool view as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jenni05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Just got back from Riviera hotel in benidorm, stayed there for 10 nights, just me and my husband. Hotel its lovely is worth being a 4 star, very clean and new .Rooms where cleaned every day. Staff were lovely. Food was lovely, head waiter josey reminded me a bit like Emanuel from the program Fawlty towers running around like a headless chicken hahaha.The pool wasn't big enough for the amount of guest that was there and the sun was hidden behind a tall hotel next door which meant we didn't get the sun in till 12:30 noon. We spent a lot of our time at the beach.I would go back but the only thing letting it down was the pool because the sun wasn't getting it and plus they didn't open the doors to the pool area an till 9:00am.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nellytick1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We did a lot of research before we booked, even though it was last minute so did not have many choices; this hotel deserves its TripAdv rating. It seems to have been newly refurbished, the decor is really fresh and contemporary in both the reception areas and the rooms which are cleaned daily. The bar area at the front of the hotel is a great chillout zone with authentic cocktails and cheap draft beer. Staff all very friendly and efficient. Food great, all seems to be freshly prepared and enough choices for most people. Even the desserts, which we have found often look better than they taste, are fabulous and it's impossible to stop at one. We stayed half board, it would be nice if at least water was provided with dinner but you have to pay for this. Also if you like room service bring your platinum card v expensive!
Good central location for the beach and nightlife, and as this hotel is child-free very civilised and grown up atmosphere. The rooms are very quiet and did not hear our neighbours at all.
THE DOWNSIDE:
The pool is tiny, and in shade until lunchtime. If you base your holiday around the pool you would be disappointed as there is no pool bar and limited number of beds. During our stay the staff did address the issue of beds being reserved for hours with no-one coming back to them, by moving the towels, which did help to free up some beds. Apart from the poolside there are no areas to even put a towel down to sunbathe, the hotel grounds just do not allow for it. However, if you prefer the beach you cannot go wrong by booking here it's lovely!

Room Tip: Rooms on the right hand side of the hotel have sun in the morning and shade in the afternoon, handy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank daisy1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We arrivied around 1pm and when checked in quickly as soon as we arrived we knew it was an amazing hotel the reception area is stunning, the room was lovely too and so relaxing. We didnt have a wet room but had a full sized bath with overhead shower and also had hairdryer in the bathroom. We had 2 single beds pushed together which was fine. The safe was in the wardrobe and was a digital on which cost us 15 euros for the week and you picked the code for it and you didnt need to tell reception it. The balacony was nice with a small clothes airer that pulled out from the wall and a table and 2 chairs which were comfy and not the cheap plastic ones you usually get.

The dining room was lovely and the staff had it running like clockwork. As with every hotel abroad some nights meals were better than others but we always found something to eat and everybodies taste is different, my hubby was pleased as he got black pudding at breakfast, there was also champagne and cavier for breakfast if you wanted it!!! There was always soup and plenty of salad, lots of fruit and desserts and a mr whippy machine so unlimited ice cream :)

The pool area was decked with bits of astro turf like grass/carpet, the area was quite small but we always got a bed no problem but the hotel was quiet when we were there, i think if would be really hard to get one if the hotel was full. The pool was lovely and had a stand up jacuzzi in the corner. The pool toilets were immaculate and had a shower which would be good if you didnt keep your room on the day of departure and had a late flight and wanted a shower before leaving.

We didnt use the downstairs bar but have put some pics of it on, it looked really nice. The upstairs bars was lovely and relaxing with comfy chairs and fab staff who were very efficient.

There is a small gym next to downstairs bar and dining room if you wanted to use it.

The gates at the front of the hotel get locked at night so its assuring that just anyone cant walk in. You have to buzz the reception where the security man sits. We were at the pool one day when 2 men who werent staying in the hotel came in and lay on a sunbed and within 20 seconds the security where throwing them out.

We booked this as a last minute hotel only deal and didnt know this was adults only until we got there but it was great as we had left the kids at home with granny and we wanted a relaxing break and that is exactly what we got.

This is a fab hotel which we got at a bargain price and would definetely return but i think the prices will rocket for next year. You will have a great time at this new, modern and immaculate hotel do not hesitate to go here :)))

Room Tip: Ask for pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SofieandRyansmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
1,922 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
0.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#25 of 191 in Benidorm
3,145 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 191 in Benidorm
2,904 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beachotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beachotel

Address: Avda. Derramador, 8, 03503 Benidorm, Spain (Formerly Ambassador Sweet)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £56 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Beachotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your Riviera Beachotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beachotel Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing