We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive”
Review of Riviera Beachotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riviera Beachotel
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very Impressive”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

In brief: we stayed here half board from 17th to 20th February. I would really recommend this hotel and look forward to staying there again as soon as possible

In detail: I chose this hotel based on the reviews posted here, and it’s easy to see why this is currently #1 hotel in Benidorm. We arrived around Midday and were welcomed by a very efficient receptionist who checked us in very quickly. Our room wasn’t quite ready (I honestly didn’t expect it to be) and were told it would take about 30 minutes. Whilst we waited, we went to the terrace for a drink, and a short time later the receptionist came to find us.

The terrace bar is a lovely sun trap and seemed really popular for catching some rays, watching the world go by and enjoying a reasonably priced drink. The waiter service was generally really good.

The hotel décor is smart, white walls, mirrored glass etc, and very inviting. The public areas are spotlessly clean and well kept. The location is great; you’re just a short walk to the beach, a supermarket and all the entertainment and bars. We walked to the Old Town each day and night and that can take around 20 mins along the promenade.

Our room was towards the back of the hotel, away from the road, and on a side that probably doesn’t get much sun. But that didn’t bother us as we’re not there to just sit on the balcony. The room itself was average sized, a good layout with decent wardrobe including drawers and a safe (3 euro per day). The TV had BBC1, ITV1, Sky News and CBS Action channels. The beds were really good – the mattresses had a kind of memory foam topper and I slept like a log. The room had air con and heating. Noise insulation is really good with no paper-thin walls. The bathroom was a good shape and size, with a walk-in shower cubicle and a fully adjustable & powerful shower.

The dining area is really pleasant. Even though the hotel seemed busy, the dining area never felt cramped, and there were plenty of free tables. The host and staff were very friendly and worked really hard. Food choice wasn’t very extensive, but was always of extremely high quality. (Salads, pate, soup, fish, meat, veg etc). I’m a very fussy eater, but there was more than enough for me to eat, and other guests all spoke very highly about it. The puddings were amazing, and we loved the Mr Whippy machine – which considering this is an adults only hotel, was getting a lot of use. Breakfast had the usual cereals, fruit and a cooked selection.

Some previous reviewers have commented on the pool area. It’s true that the pool is very small, and didn’t look like it got much sun during the day, instead the social hub of the hotel was the front terrace. If having a large communal pool is a must for you, then perhaps this isn’t the hotel you should book. Guests are asked to wear shirts even when sat in the terrace bar. Although there was live music (singer) each evening, entertainment was very low key.

It’s very hard to find fault with this hotel, and I have only one gripe. Our coach pick-up was at 7:30 in the morning, and breakfast doesn’t start to 8:00. We asked and were told there was no chance of getting anything, which was really disappointing. I would have expected that at least some kind of small continental breakfast would have been available to us at that time, so if you're on an early flight, you'll go hungry!

Guests at the hotel were a variety of ages from mid-thirties upwards. A great place for single people, couples & small groups. Communal areas appeared to be fully accessible for disabled people. I think it’s considerably more upmarket and chic than nearly all other hotels in Benidorm – the hotel will no doubt appeal to those people who are there for getaway breaks who want to be near the beach and bars, but also want quality food and a relaxing atmosphere. We absolutely loved it at Riviera. I really hope that they can maintain this standard.

If you'd like more information, or have any questions, please get in touch via the link below.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers will probably get more sun and I believe that higher floors have walk-in sho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Scoundy_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,781
    366
    92
    15
    10
See reviews for
201
1,448
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (760)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
beith ayrshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Just got back after a long midweek break from the riviera beach and can i say this hotel deserves to be at the top of the list on travel republic, Great rooms,power shower,main lobby food and the staff ,even asfter such a short stay they make you feel more than welcome would recommend to one and all FAB !!!!! hope to return when the weather is warmer

Room Tip: the even numbered rooms seam to get more sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beithcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killwinning
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

we have been going to benidorm for 20 years and have stayed in many hotels and apartments
including the flamingo oasis which we thought could not be trumped but after staying at the riviera we woulld need to say that the standard of the staff and professionalism within this hotel
is at least equal with the flamingo,on the down side it cannot compete with the entertainment which is very much for children ( parrot shows etc.)for an adult only hotel,the meals were really good although not much choice,excellent bar and sun terracethat gets the sun all day all year which is very reasonably priced and a really good pool area with plenty of sunbeds,the rooms are decorated to a very high standard and the amenities within the room are also to a same standard, this hotel is located in a very good location for the beach and all the nightlife all within a couple of minutes walk all in all we really enjoyed our stay and would return

Room Tip: even numbered rooms get the sun all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willifred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

stayed at the riviera last september great hotel except for a few faults the selection of food at dinner wasnt great sun does not come over the pool until about 2pm the shower screen doesnt open out making it dangerous getting in and out other than that enjoyed stay great outside bar with entertainment

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have walk in showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnty272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Just spent 5 days at the riviera , arrived at about 10.30,pm greeted by a very pleasant receptionist
who checked us in then gave us a packed lunch having missed evening meal, nice touch.
from that moment on we had a fantastic time it is hard to find fault with any part of this hotel staff ,rooms, food,bars,etc,location all 1st class.I have no doubt next visit to benidorm we will be staying at the riviera.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MICHAEL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

i cant fault this Hotel in any way the Decor, facilities & the Staff are all Top Class. The prices of Drinks are Rock bottom & the outside Bar is an all day Sun Trap, ive stayed in some of the best Hotels in Benidorm & this is up there with them. The rooms and public Areas are spotless also if your not Happy with the Aircon they will upgrade the Temp for you. All in All a Great little Hotel. ILL BE BACK !!!

Room Tip: the even numbered rooms get the sun mornings Odd afternoons Also the lower floors only have Showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank colin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We chose this Hotel based on the great reviews and customer ratings to celebrate our wedding anniversary and I suppose our expectations were really high. First impressions were it was a new / refurbished Hotel and the Decor was modern with a cold atmosphere. The fact it was quiet cold at the time of our visit probably did not help. The Reception staff on' check in' were pleasant and efficient. The room was a decent size and adequately furnished but cold, we did speak to the receptionist who arranged for Maintenance staff to check our heating system and had it operating when we returned in the evening. The big plus was the Bathroom, a decent sized walk in shower and lovely decor and the availability of English speaking TV channels. The Bed was very comfortable and probably one of the best in Benidorm.The restaurant was a decent size but felt cold. The food had to be the big let down for us, it did not come anywhere near the standard of other 4 star Hotels in Benidorm. The layout of the food was based on Buffet style like all Hotels in Benidorm however it looked sparse and very uninviting. We have stayed in many a 3 star Hotel in Benidorm and the food was much much better. The eggs were completely dried up,the Mash was watery and there were cheese / onion pies which I am convinced came straight from the Supermarket. However we did enjoy the Soup and Salads even though there was only a limited variety. On Valentines night we decided to spend the evening at the Hotel as Live Music was advertised, it was a disaster, Firstly the wine we had at dinner in the Restaurant was not available in this Bar so I had to take a substitute, we decided to move to the Bar at the Reception area, we again requested the Wine we had at Dinner by Name, we were shown a bottle of wine with a totally different name and forcibly told it was the exact same and this came from the Bar Manager.!!!! In summary it appears this Hotel and staff are totally focused on the English Tourist Industry and have not yet got it right perhaps they should take a leaf from some of their Sister Hotels who have managed to get the balance and Customer focus right.Perhaps a few staff with a lot experience could be hired. We wish them the Best of luck and have no doubt this Hotel will do well in the Tourist 'High Season'.

Room Tip: Rooms with even numbers get a lot of sunshine from early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kireland09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,099 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,753 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#8 of 192 in Benidorm
1,721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,017 reviews
0.1 mi away
Flash Hotel Benidorm
Flash Hotel Benidorm
#24 of 192 in Benidorm
2,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beachotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beachotel

Property: Riviera Beachotel
Address: Avda. Derramador, 8, 03503 Benidorm, Spain (Formerly Ambassador Sweet)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#1 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Beachotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Beachotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beachotel Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing