We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserves its number 1 rating”
Review of Riviera Beachotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riviera Beachotel
Ranked #2 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Deserves its number 1 rating”
Reviewed 16 September 2012

Just returned from a lovely 2 week stay at this excellent Hotel and as stated in the title of my review the Riviera thoroughly deserves it's number 1 rating.
This is our 3rd visit to Benidorm and after having seen this Hotel being renovated (while having a few drinks at Uncle Peds across the road) and also reading the reviews on Trip Advisor we decided to try it for ourselves and we weren't disappointed.
Check in was very quick and easy and the reception staff are by far the best we have ever encountered in all our years of travelling, they are friendly, polite and nothing is too much trouble for them. We loved the fact that you can only use the lifts if you use your room key so there is the feeling of added security that non residents can not have access to any floors, there are security people working through the night as well so we felt very safe.
As this Hotel is Adults only (Brilliant) the noise was kept to a minimum and made for a very relaxing break.
The Restaurant was lovely, there was a great choice of food and something for even the most fussy eater, our only little niggle was that sometimes the food was just lukewarm due to being kept in the Hot Plates / Bain Marie but apart from that everything was fine. The Restaurant staff work very hard and clear your plates as soon as you have finished although a couple of them didn't crack a smile in the whole 2 weeks we were there ! We especially liked Sandra, she was the most helpful pleasant member of the Restaurant team, she always had a smile and you felt like she was happy to serve you.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and modern with flat screen TV, free fridge, free WIFI, free air con and a safety deposit box (this cost 30 Euros for 2 weeks but well worth it) Rooms were cleaned every day and we had clean towels daily. Our room was facing the Rosamar Hotel next door, it had no Bath but a great walk in power shower which we loved, also rooms with even numbers get Sun in the mornings which we prefer. The Hotel Pool is small and as others have mentioned doesn't get Sun till after lunch but this was no problem for us as the fantastic Levante Beach is only a 2-3 minute walk away and also if you want you can sunbathe at other Hotel pools.
The location of this Hotel is fantastic, it is near to everything you could want but just set back far enough to be away from the nightlife noise so that you can get a good nights sleep.
The main Ave de Meditteraneo is just 2 minutes walk away and from there you can catch any bus to take you to the main attractions such as Mundomar, Terra Mitica, Aqualandia, Altea and Albir.
The Old Town is brilliant at night with lots of bars, restaurants and shops and is fantastic for those of us who don't like the younger version of Benidorm nightlife ! The headland is especially gorgeous at night, all lit up with plenty going on and spectacular views of both Levante and Poniente Beaches. This is about 30 minutes walk from the Hotel but great for walking off your evening meal.
Just to sum up our review, we would like to say that if you are looking for an excellent, clean, modern Hotel in a great location with great staff then this is it. We will definitely go back.

Room Tip: Even numbered rooms have Sun in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nadia021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,748
    355
    88
    14
    10
See reviews for
193
1,416
54
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (747)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Our 2nd visit this year – previously came over Easter. Nothing more I can add to other reviews really. We actually paid for full board, but only ate lunch each day. It was great - lovely fresh salads, hot meals and yummy puddings. No complaints at all.

For us, our evening is spending a couple of hours over a meal in an intimate restaurant. Unfortunately the Riviera doesn’t offer this. Don’t get me wrong, the dining room is modern, clean and spacious – just not where I would want to spend a couple of hours (and I like to be waited on!). There are far too many nice restaurants to visit in the Old Town. We re-visited The Vagabond, Paneil’s and Estabans over the week – all were absolutely fabulous (as our previous visits.

Just one thing which I think could be improved – the size of the bath towels! Far too small. Also, those annoying people who get up at ‘stupid o’clock’ to put their towel on a bed around the pool area but spend either no time there – or the odd hour. How sad – but extremely frustrating for those people who disappear off to the beach to catch the morning rays, and returning for a couple of hours in the afternoon and unable to get a bed. Not sure what the hotel can do about this.

Will re-visit Benidorm next year for a week, but will look to stay elsewhere purely because we like to try different hotels – we also eat out in the Old Town every night, so it just makes sense for us to find a hotel closer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a walk-in shower - fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dazbats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Modern hotel with excellent amenities. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Restaurant food was good quality and what you would expect from buffet service.

Bedrooms are well equipped and very clean. Location is 2-3 minuets walk from the beach if you do not wish to use the pool facilities. There is a very comfortable bar area at the front of the hotel with comfortable seating.

I would definitely use this hotel again and recommend to anyone wanting a quality hotel at a reasonable cost.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank terryv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry South Wales
Level Contributor
97 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

I guess there will be one of two reasons for reading this - 1) You've booked to come here, or are thinking of booking 2) You've been here already and want to see if this review reflects your own experience. (Or possibly you're the manager seeing what the latest polls say!)

We are regular visitors to Benidorm and booked this hotel based on the reviews. My husband wanted to stay in the Don Pancho this time, but I won and we ended up staying here for a fortnight. Lets just say we were both winners.

CHECK IN - really simple, though do remember to ask for 2 key cards from the off as if you get separated and your partner has it you can't even operate the lifts! Fridge is free but safe is 15 euros a week.

THE STAFF - by far the greatest asset to this hotel, everyone is so helpful, but particular mention must go to the staff in the restaurant staff. The same 4 people worked the room for the whole 14 days we were there and they were nothing short of fantastic. I took a lot of dresses and my husband had taken all the wardrobe hangers before I had a chance to unpack but a quick call to reception had extras delivered within minutes.

THE RESTAURANT - Never felt busy or crowded, presumably because of the smallish size of the hotel. This is something I will factor in my travel plans for the future, because it made a huge difference to our enjoyment of the food. I never had to queue, I never felt rushed. Now, a minor downside to that is that there may not appear to be the choice of dishes you may get in a larger establishment, but that is more than covered off by the quality of the food. We were full board, and at lunch and dinner there was always a choice of meats, fish, pasta, pizza/paella. Also 2 soups for starter and the most amazing selection of salads to the extent that you could make a meal of that in itself. I would categorize the other half as a fussy eater, and he was never stuck for something to eat. I feel a special mention needs to go to the chef who prepares the desserts, to mention just a few of the delights I had....lemon meringue pie, stuffed apples, bread and butter pudding, pineapple upside down cake, sherry trifle and if all else fails, the Whippy Ice cream machine will come to the rescue. The wine is reasonably priced and if you can't manage a whole bottle they save it for your next meal - very handy.

THE ROOMS - not the largest but very clean and modern, flat screen TV with CBS action, BBC1, ITV, sky news and sky sports. Amazing bathroom with brilliant show, magnifying mirror. Very comfortable bed. Even room numbers get the sun early on, Odd number rooms later on in the day. We were in room 506, which gave a nice view of our hotel pool, and a view of the pool area of the ROSAMAR hotel. The latter is a family hotel and served as a good reminder of one of the reasons we booked this one (NO CHILDREN - sorry but we have served our time on family holidays - this our time now!!!).

THE POOL - pros and cons really - certainly not enough beds to cater for the residents, and the area is in shade until mid day. We went to the beach in the morning, came back for lunch and 90% of the time we were fortunate enough to get a bed in the afternoon, though I will say some people were not so lucky. Again, because it is child free and small, once you have a bed it is very tranquil and you can order a drink via a phone at the pool side.

THE OUTSIDE BAR - what can I say - fabulous service, comfortable and very reasonably priced. Open to the public, now has entertainment most nights as well. Its a great place to start or end your evening.

OUTSIDE - we went to the old town on a couple of evenings, and ate out once. PLEASE ignore the Thomas Cook leaflet advertising the restaurant in the old town called 'Michaels'. We went there and it was absolutely dreadful. I wanted to go to Vagabond, which is rated no 2 on this site, but my husband said 'how bad can this be, it's got my name'. Well, we were both losers this time!!

It was great to catch up with all the acts we love in Benidorm...Tony Scott at the Stardust, Timeless, all the tribute drifters/temps/motown acts. The Bee Gees and Buddy Holly tributes act the Rock Bar, and my personal favorite, the two men who make up Carnaby Street at Jailrock. We also saw a good show at a new bar, Levis showboat. The other two places worthy of mention - The secret fountain rooftop bar - fabulous, and Tikki Bar down on the beach front - amazing and buzzing from noon onwards.

Would definitely go back to this hotel, without hesitation. The Flash hotel had just opened as we arrived, so we went to have a nose. It looks lovely, guess we will have to wait and see what the reviews are like....hubby will take a lot of convincing on that one, as its not child free! Either way, we will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank pula888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newport south wales
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

just got back from a short break at this hotel,where to start receptionist was very friendly and helpful,the rooms were fab not what i expected at all,they were fab,cleaned everyday, fresh towels everyday,air con was great,safe in the room was 3 euro a day,restaurant was spotless,staff were fab and friendly,sandra and all the other waiters always had a smile on their faces even tho they never stopped ,they always said good evening or good morning,good selection of food available,all areas of the hotel were spotless,the pool area was on the small side but we never had trouble getting a sun bed,the area was monitored for people leaving towels on beds if this happened then they were removed which was good.the bar area was well stocked and was the cheapest place to drink that we found,your card key could be used in several places which were owned by the hotel chain to receive discount of upto 25%,the area the hotel is in is quite quiet but less than a 5min walk you were in the centre of everything,the old town was a pleasant 30min walk which we did several times,dont go to benidorm if you want a peaceful holiday its anything but lol,all in all i would definately recommend this hotel to family and friends and will be going back.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank flage5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Riviera in August. We were given a lovely room on the 8th floor facing towards the old town. Only one problem...no kettle to brew up although the coffees from the bar were superb and only 1-40 euros a pop..thanks to Bryan and all the great staff in the bar. My wife is coeliac and after an initial hiccup in the restaurant all went well and she was brought gluten free meals to the table at lunch and dinner which she thoroughly enjoyed..special thanks to Sandra. The pool area is compact but at most times there were a couple of free sunbeds. Buffet food was well above the norm and the restaurant was lovely and chilled as its over 16s only in the hotel. Great security..room cardkey needed to use lifts up to accomodation. overall lovely holiday would defo return.

Room Tip: odd numbered rooms seem to have better views but no sun on balcony till afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topspark40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just arrived back from a long weekend at this Hotel and can't praise it highly enough. The Reception area is immaculate and welcoming as is the rest of the Hotel. The Hotel is beautifully designed and has many lovely little touches. The toilets are the best I have ever seen in a Hotel both for cleanliness and design. The food in the restaurant is lovely and the staff are excellent as nothing is too much trouble. This Hotel deserves its number one rating as there is very little if anything to complain about. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kayoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
6,773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Servigroup Venus
Servigroup Venus
#9 of 192 in Benidorm
1,656 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Ambassador Playa I & II
0.1 mi away
Presidente Hotel
Presidente Hotel
#16 of 192 in Benidorm
1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Beachotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Beachotel

Property: Riviera Beachotel
Address: Avda. Derramador, 8, 03503 Benidorm, Spain (Formerly Ambassador Sweet)
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#1 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#2 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Beachotel 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riviera Beachotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Beachotel Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing