We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperate refurbishment needed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm
Ranked #47 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Beware this is a rather long review which is not necessarily negative but more informative

I have just returned from this hotel after staying there with a large group (34 women) enjoying a friend’s 50th birthday bash
and even after reading the reviews, we actually had a GREAT time.

I would say that after staying in other 3star hotels in Benidorm, I believe this one should be graded as a 2star. If this hotel chain spent a decent amount of money on a refurb and maybe relocated the bar and dining areas, I think its grading would improve considerably to even a 4 star (well maybe )

Location is perfect for all guests, young and old, groups or families, although I probably wouldn’t bring my family here well not in stag and hen season anyway. It has everything that a ‘Benidorm’ holiday maker would want; English pubs with cheap beer (Black Chicken), tacky shops, tribute bands and lots of raucous fun, with a lovely clean beach thrown in too. The hotel is right next door to ‘Neptune’s’, where they film some of the scenes from the series Benidorm, no less!!

Accommodation needs a total refurb. Rooms are a decent size as there are no balconies, however you do get a fridge and kettle which is quite handy for entertaining Décor is very dated, linen and towels very thin and carpets in both the rooms and hallways threadbare. Saying that they were very clean.

Food was not my cup of tea but I suppose it’s down to your own personal taste buds as most of our group enjoyed it, strong constitutions than me Like most all inclusive menu’s it was very repetitive with not much choice. The dining room is down a number of steps (not to be attempted after being in the Black Chicken for several hours) in the basement, which is also rather dark and dingy. Canteen springs to mind when trying to describe the ambience.

Staff I came across over the three days; the cleaning lady no name only ‘Ola’, Mohammed who fixed the Jacuzzi for us and the bar man Oscar, oh an a waiter that only said 'soup' were all quite cheerful and friendly, unlike the reception man who was rather curt with us on arrival. After asking him a few questions about air con and safes, it was clear that he was under pressure (more than one person at reception at one time) and looked like he was about to have a nervous breakdown, poor thing, but still not necessarily how you would want to be greeted on arrival, we nicknamed him Basil Faulty however I do think the negative reviews about this hotel not liking groups are a little unfair, because it was clear to us that they do try their best with very limited resources. There is just not enough staff to run a hotel of this size, especially on an all-inclusive basis to keep everyone happy. Note to fellow Brits stay calm and keep queuing

Swimming pool area was nice and clean with plenty of beds available most of the day. Jacuzzi was a nice little extra once it was working. Thank you Mohammed! Also a magnet for the opposite sex if you like that sort of thing. One tip though sit by the steps so you can make a quick escape, you maybe there a while otherwise

Bar was very disappointing purely by the size, I know size is not everything but it really was like one you would find in a B&B in the back of beyond and because of this and because there is only ever one man serving the queues are very long, trailing out into the reception are, upsetting the reception man even moreI was surprised that there wasn’t another one, maybe a pool bar or an outside bar area, which I think would have been much more appropriate. This would help eliminate the queues and congestion in reception and also stop the bathers dripping all over the marble floors (accident waiting to happen, compensation claims a plenty).

Charges. You will be asked to pay a €50 deposit each and apparently this is not just for groups so if you arrive with a large family beware. There is a €10 deposit for the remote control for the air con and the safe another €15 deposit plus a daily rate of around €2. Obviously these are extras and deposits are all refunded as long as there is no damage. One thing I would say when paying by card check which currency they are charging your card with. My card was debited with sterling on arrival and then credited with euros on checking out. Not sure if this is just a ploy for the hotel to make money or a mistake by the happy reception man.

Overall we had a great laugh, loads of fun with great company so thank you Magic Villa

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear Joanna H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share it with other Trip Advisor members. For all of us here at the Magic Villa de Benidorm guest satisfaction is very important and everyone both the staff behind the scenes and the staff that you come into direct contact with all work really hard to ensure that you have a fantastic holiday.

The Magic Villa Benidorm has always had a varied clientele, it’s very popular with guests that have mobility problems, due to its close proximity to all the local amenities, beach, shops, buses, it’s also popular with families for the pool area and of course with guests who want to be close to the night life.

Between the pool and the sun terrace there is always somewhere to relax and get a tan whether on a sunbed around the pool or with a drink on the terrace. There are two bars, one where the entertainment takes place each evening and the other one opens out onto the large terrace, which is very popular with all our guests either to enjoy the sun or chill out and people watch in the evening.

As in many hotels in Benidorm the restaurant is situated on floor -1 and can be accessed by stairs or lift. It is difficult to comment on the food as this is often down to personal taste, we receive many positive comments, on this site, in person and from quality surveys.

Although their reservations are not usually made as group bookings all stag and hen groups are charged a 50€ deposit on arrival, which is refunded on departure once the rooms have been checked, this is now common practice in the majority of hotels in Benidorm.

We appreciate you taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

Regards
The Management Team Magic Villa de Benidorm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 1,192 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

I travelled her with my mum aunt and cousin,A mixture of ages but if you are young at heart then why not .nice food ,drinks ok , pool area good entertainment on but not really wanted because we where right in the heart of all the action ,right next door to Neptune bar.
Although it says no group bookings there were plenty of groups there ,
Sam and Leighane could not of been more helpful and friendly if they tried often came and sat with us to see if are holiday was going ok and was there any thing they could help us with. Unfortunately my aunt took ill and had to have the doctor out Sam and Leighanne sorted all this out for us and managed at this very busy time to get a room for us to keep on the day we were leaving , A BIG THANK YOU TO YOU BOTH XXXXXXXXXXXX

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deborah666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Dear deborah666,

At Magic Costa Blanca we’ve always planned with passion the All Inclusive holidays we offer our Magic Amigos clients, and there’s a simple reason for this, we put in the same heart and soul as our clients when they choose us. For all our staff guest satisfaction is very important and everyone does their best to ensure that your holiday is the best ever.

We are pleased that we were able to assist when your aunt became ill, we understand how distressing illness can be when you are away from home and we hope that your aunt has now recovered

Thank you for taking the time the time to input your review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

Kind Regards
The Management & Staff Magic Villa de Benidorm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

i booked a 8 day break for my mother and sister having been to benidorm many times knew the area the location of the hotel is superb especially for anyone that has mobility issues as its totally on the flat and there is a ramp into the reception,unfortunately my mother took ill while there and was admitted to hospital but recieved first class service and attention before and after she was discharged the staff are all very helpful and like to thank them i wouldnt hesitate to recommend this hotel or any of there sister hotels which my mother has stayed in they all have excellent class of service,also i booked the holiday through low cost holidays and would recommend them also they were very efficent in there service when i needed information,

Room Tip: the only drawback was that we didnt have a balcony but everything else 10/10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 986stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear 986stevie,

At Magic Costa Blanca we’ve always planned with passion the All Inclusive holidays we offer our Magic Amigos clients, and there’s a simple reason for this, we put in the same heart and soul as our clients when they choose us, we’re pleased that you and your family enjoyed your holiday with us and hope that your mother has fully recovered. The Magic Villa de Benidorm is ideally situated, apart from the surrounding area being flat there are many facilities close by.

We thank you for your comments regarding and appreciate you taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
The Management Team Magic Villa de Benidorm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here 3nights been before twice never any problems here staff at bars brilliant not enough of them though not there fault . One person who needs a mention is the obnoxious lady Anne Marie who on numerous occasions spoke to customers in an appropriate manner shouting at them and also stating that they do not need people like us in there hotel even though we have stayed three times and never been any problems shame as hotel has great potential due to facilities and location very disappointed with service from this lady and her attitude heard on numerous other occasions threatening to throw people out and keep there deposits for minor issues. Very surprised this lady is in a position of authority as she has no customer skills doesn't listen and attitude is very confrontational

Room Tip: Rooms at back get see view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dailey29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear dailey29,

Recently there has been an increase in the number of stag and hen parties staying at the hotel. As a result of this we have received a lot of negative publicity and complaints, while we realise that Benidorm is very popular for these types of holidays, we have to take into consideration the comfort and wellbeing of all our clients and cannot permit behavior that can cause danger or upset to other guests who have also paid for their holidays.

Unfortunately often in their quest to have a good time groups do not realise that they are affecting the enjoyment of other client’s holidays and have to be asked repeatedly to tone their behavior down, it is the British staff who usually deal with these situations as they are often aware of behavior that other staff may miss for example the content of conversations and bad language that everyone else in the area is forced to listen to. They are also the first people that other guests inform when the enjoyment of their holiday is affected for any reason. Unfortunately these situations arise as groups in their quest to have a good are often unaware of how their behavior is affecting other guests and think that their behavior is acceptable to everyone.

We appreciate you taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

Regards,
The Magic Villa de Benidorm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights the room was not clean the mattress was stain with urine and the room in general was of a poor standard. The food again was poor standard. The staff had typed cast all Brits as trouble and charged 50 Euros deposit each along with a deposit for the safe. One of the worst hotels I have stayed in

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Paul F,

All groups are charged a deposit of 50€ per person on arrival, this has been in place for some time now and all holiday companies have been informed of this. Many of the reviews on this page have negative comments regarding groups as the enjoyment of the reviewer’s holiday has been affected by groups.
As in many hotels all guests are charged should they contract the safety deposit box.

Rooms are checked by the housekeeper before they are allocated to clients and are cleaned daily unless the “Do Not Disturb” sign is in place.

It is difficult to comment on the food as this is often down to personal taste, we receive many positive comments, on this site, in person and from quality surveys.

We appreciate you taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

Regards,
Magic Villa de Benidorm

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

First timer in Benidorm, just back from a week at the Magic Rock Aqua Gardens, but my fiance, friends and I visited here several times during our holiday as Magic group customers can use other hotels in the group.

Location is excellent, right at the top of the strip so near to the "action". We spent quite a bit of time drinking here rather than the Magic Rock since there is a lot more outside space to have a drink in the sunshine! As Jet 2 customers we had the Ultra AI cards which entitled us to bottled Estrella as well as the draught (which is also good but not as strong), and no extra charge for cocktails. Great service from Oscar and Noor at the bar.

Also enjoyed the pool area as it was smaller than the Magic Aqua Rock and and gets more sun. There is a rooftop sun terrace open until 6pm, although it's just a few sunbeds and no bar. As for food, I ate lunch here twice and found that the selection was decent enough.

Obviously I can't comment on the rooms as I didn't stay here, but judging by the general standards of the Magic group, if I wanted a budget week in a good location in Benidorm I would consider this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dammitjanet0161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear dammitjanet0161,

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your visit to the Magic Villa de Benidorm. We are pleased that you were able to take advantage of our “Book one enjoy all” with your All Inclusive holiday and visit the Magic Villa de Benidorm during your stay at the Magic Aqua Rock Gardens.

Although the Magic Villa de Benidorm is a smaller hotel its location is ideal as everything you could need is on the door step, beach, shops, bus stop, bars and the nightlife. Our terrace is ideal to sit with a relaxing drink and watch the world go by.

Once again we appreciate you taking the time to input this review, as we continue to strive towards providing a quality service for all our clients and value all the opinions received from our clients to help us achieve this goal.

Regards,
The Management & Staff Magic Villa de Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I have just come back from a week long holiday in this hotel. It is a bit dated but very clean and the beds were ok. The food was great too and for the money we paid I don't think you can really moan about anything. The pool was great and they had plenty of sun loungers so no panic they would fill up. The staff were lovely too especially Sam who kept us entertained each evening even though we didn't manage to win the quiz once!!! Already looking to book to go back again later this year.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room they are a lot quieter than the ones on the front of the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emmah2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
directorvb, Manager at Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear emmah2003,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and share it with other Trip Advisor members. For all of us here at the Magic Villa de Benidorm guest satisfaction is very important and everyone both the staff behind the scenes and the staff that you come into direct contact with all work really hard to ensure that you have a fantastic holiday.

Between the pool and the sun terrace there is always somewhere to relax and get a tan whether on a sunbed around the pool or with a drink on the terrace.

One again we appreciate you taking the time to write your review, we welcome all guest feedback in our continuous efforts to improve our service to our guests and value all the opinions received to help us achieve this goal.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards,
The Management & Staff Magic Villa de Benidorm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.1 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#64 of 192 in Benidorm
2,736 reviews
0.4 mi away
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
#48 of 192 in Benidorm
2,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
Servigroup Pueblo Benidorm
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
2.8 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#34 of 192 in Benidorm
932 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm

Address: Calle Gerona 44, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Benidorm
#31 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £60 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Magic Villa de Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa De Benidorm
Hotel Magic De Benidorm
Magic Benidorm
Magic Villa De Benidorm
Magic Villa Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing