We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Ranked #5 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We spent a week at Corona late March, great location, rooms spotlessly clean and lovely friendly staff. The let down for us was the poor standard of the food especially the dinner. The choice was limited to say the least, burgers(raw in the middle) and the Frog fish was totally inedible. The vegetables one evening, a choice of sweet corn or creamed spinach, no excuse for this as the many shops also in the market have a variety of all kinds of lovely veg. No selection of cheese, ,just the left over cubed stuff from the breakfast buffet. Definitely not what we expected from a 4* hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cathnix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Owner at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Good Evening Cathinx,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel RH Corona del Mar for your recent holiday.

I was sad to read your review and the fact you didn’t enjoy the food. As you know the burgers are cooked on the grill and you can request for them to be well cooked, there really is no reason to complain when there was a solution. I can also tell you we don’t put out left over cheese on the evening buffet and each day have a different selection, not a very nice accusation really.

I was pleased that you found our hotel staff, location and cleanliness to be spotless and hope on your next holiday you will find what you are looking for, just sorry it wasn’t our hotel.

Kindest Regards

Marta Gómez – Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 week stay at the Corona Del Mar. We last stayed in march 2012. This is probably the best hotel my wife and I have stayed in, in Benidorm, and we've stayed in quite a few. The rooms are a lovely size and bathroom is spacious. Since our last visit there are more electric points in more advantageous places. there is a fridge in the room and a safe deposit box for hire for 12 euro per week. The food is not too bad you can find something to suit you every night. Its not always hot but there is a micro wave if you need it. Breakfast is the usual fayre of English and continental. As has already been said the position of this hotel is great right on the front. I would recommend a sea view room as they get the sun on balcony all day. Its about 10 mins to old town which is full of bars and tapas bars. Poniente beach is lovely and just across the road from the hotel. All the staff in this hotel are second to none. The bar staff are really good and enjoy a bit of banter. Our room cleaner was very good and helped me with my terrible Spanish. All in all a very enjoyable stay and it certainly won't be the last

Room Tip: Sea view room has sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pete12Pontypridd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Manager at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Hello Pete12pontypridd,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel RH Corona del Mar once again and for taking time to write a review

I am pleased to hear you have noticed some of the improvements we have made and also appreciate them.

Very happy you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future,

Kindest Regards

Marta Gomez – Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Never visited this hotel previously, although had used other similar Benidorm hotels in the past.
What a find! The helpful and friendly staff, spotlessly clean rooms and public areas and the best food we have ever experienced on a package holiday meant we settled seemlessly into a hotel which appears to cater primarily for older clients.
The Poniente Beach has improved greatly over the years and we now favour it to Levante.
Of course the wonderful location with an excellent sea view did help tremendously.
I am almost too frightened to write any more positive things about this hotel fearing it will become even more popular than it is and prices will be increased as a result!
Thanks again Tracey for al your help.

Room Tip: Sea views are obvously a good choice but being so close to the water can sometime mean a noisy night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RobertRSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Manager at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Good Morning Robert,

Hope you all had a safe journey back and thank you for taking time to write a review of the Hotel RH Corona del Mar.

We are all delighted that you found our Hotel to be just what you were looking for.

The location is fabulous and we are lucky to have a great chef, great staff and also great guests!

It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to seeing you again,

Very best wishes from all the team,

Kindest Regards

Marta Gomez – Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Just back from the Corona and I must agree with the reviews regarding service,cleanliness, rooms etc.What I don't agree with is the ratings for the food. Comments ranging from excellent, amazing,superb etc. I must say that I thought I was in the wrong hotel.Breakfast consisted of diluted fruit juices,some hams and cheese and mashed up tomatoes along with the usual cereals and fruit cocktail only(fresh fruit was available). Hot selection consisted of bacon,eggs(fried,boiled,scrambled,or omelette)sausage,mushroom,beans and fried ham from the cold selection also fried tomatoes, never saw a fresh tomato at breakfast. The dinner selection was the real let down. All the usual mixed salads,veg etc were available, but the selection of hot dishes was poor. The grill offerings were the real let down, Hamburgers one night, Liver another night, hardly amazing food, very poor choice of cooked vegetables, and the instant mash with cheese sprinkle was poor. The rest of the hot selection was ordinary. Sweet offerings were also poor. I personally think the kitchen is very much portion controlled and it reflects on the choice and quality of the food. I have given the hotel an average rating based on the food as this is the reason we booked the hotel,you always expect a hotel to be clean,friendly, value etc so the 5 star ratings overall are misleading.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Manager at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hello James,

I must say I was disappointed to read your review of the hotel RH Corona del Mar, however I respect your opinion and I understand not everyone feels the same. We are constantly improving on our service and your comments have been noted.

Our ratings are not made up; they are actually all from guest’s feedback and are not misleading, just not your personal opinion.

I am pleased however that service, rooms and cleanliness was to your liking

Kindest Regards

Marta Gómez – Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This hotel is in a good location for the old town or the Levanti beach. The hotel is very light and airy with plenty of facilities the staff are very pleasant and helpfull there is plenty of choice on the buffet meals and the place was spotless.

Room Tip: next time i would ask for a beach view we were at the back so didnt get the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charleyfarleyAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Manager at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Good Morning CharleyFarley,

Thank you very much for spending your “anniversary break” with us here at the Hotel RH Corona del Mar.

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you back soon,

Have a great weekend,

Kindest Regards

Marta Gómez – Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The rooms are well equipped and comfortable. The food is Amazing and loads of choice. The location is excellent as just by the Old town of Benidorm.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Manager at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Hello John,

What a fab start to the day, so pleased to hear you had “another fantastic stay” at the Hotel RH Corona del Mar.

It was our pleasure having you stay and we hope very much to welcome you back again in the near future,

Until then best wishes from all the Team.

Kindest Regards

Marta Gomez- Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed for the second week in March 2013, 1st time we'd stayed at this hotel which is located just a 10 minute stroll from the old town and about 50yds from Poniente beach. Right from check in to check out we had a really good experience. We were in room 108 which was on the 1st floor and had a balcony with a sea view. The room was bright and clean with decent twin beds, a flat screen TV, tea making equipment, mini bar/fridge, a two seat sofa which I think makes up into a bed and table and 2 chairs on the balcony.
The bathroom was reasonably equipped with bath and shower over, a bidet and hairdryer. The shower head broke the first time we tried it but within 5 minutes of telling reception there was a friendly maintenance man at the door to fit a new one.
The standards of cleanliness and of service throughout the hotel were excellent, all the staff were friendly, cheerful and helpful, the reception staff in particular need a special mention for their patience and understanding (hopefully!) while I practiced my Spanish speaking on them!
We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and in so far as breakfast goes we found it to be excellent. It was the usual buffet style of hot or cold with plenty of choices and the chef doing fresh omelets or pancakes to order too. We spent our days and evenings out of the hotel but stayed in for dinner on our last evening and found it equally as good an experience as breakfast.
There is a small gym and indoor spa on the ground floor, we went and saw it but never tried it out so are unable to comment but I would expect it was up to the standards of the rest of the hotel. The outdoor pool was undergoing some maintenance during our stay but this wasn't a problem to us because it was a bit cold anyway.
Overall we had a really good experience, have no complaints and will definitely be staying here again. There's a very accurate and current 'walk through' of this hotel on Google street view, find the hotel at the bottom of Avenida Rey Jamie 1 then double click on the revolving entrance door and you'll be in reception. You can visit all the ground floor areas and the dining room which is on the first floor, you can also visit the rooms, the one I just tried was on the 6th floor and had a lovely sea view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueandSteveWereHere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marta_Gomez, Manager at Hotel RH Corona del Mar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Good Afternoon Sue and Steve,

I am very pleased you have taken the time to write a review of the Hotel RH Corona del Mar and share your experience.

We are only too pleased to listen to our guests practising Spanish, all part of the holiday and travelling.

What you have a written is a great testament to the hotel and the staff and I thank you very much for that.

Great to read you will return, we look forward to welcoming you back

Kindest Regards

Marta Gomez – Manager

Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
2,899 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,560 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#6 of 192 in Benidorm
1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,473 reviews
1.8 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
4,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Corona del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Corona del Mar

Address: Avinguda Rei Jaume I 3 | Benidorm, Alicante, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#9 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £55 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Corona del Mar 4*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In an unbeatable location facing Poniente beach, with its beautiful promenade, ideal for those who want a walk or have a simple stroll to the lookout point and see the magnificent beaches and the famous island of Benidorm. Located within easy reach of Elche Park, the port and the historical centre of Benidorm, The RH Corona del Mar combines the friendly atmosphere of a quiet modern hotel equipped with superb facilities. There are different types of rooms to choose from: Rooms with a sea view or quieter rooms, situated on the other side, most with balconies and decorated with a Mediterranean flair to add warmth to your stay and make you feel at home, including hairdryer, flat screen TV, Wi-fi connection and most of them with a sofa bed. The Restaurant offers you a magnificent buffet, with quality products, including homemade, Mediterranean & International food. The cafe has an attractive outdoor terrace with views of the sea and the Poniente promenade. One of Its main attractions is the pool with curved shapes and slides as well as the big outdoor jacuzzi, where you can enjoy a bubbly massage, while at the pool bar (high season) you can try a refreshing drink. In the Wellness area you can have a swim in the heated pool, relax in the hydromassage or the sauna, or keep in shape with cardiovascular exercises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel RH Corona del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Corona Del Mar Benidorm
Hotel Corona Del Mar
Corona Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing