We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gala Placidia Hotel
Ranked #109 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at the Gala Placidia for 4 days in October on an all inclusive basis which was good value considering. The room was fairly comfortable but basic. We had dinner on two nights which was ok not very exciting, but a decent choice, The same with breakfast. Because we were out of season it was relatively quiet but I would not like to stay there in the high season. The all inclusive deal included all drinks, food, ice creams, tea and cake in the afternoon and bar snacks. We used the spa at the Dynastic Hotel which is part of the deal which was superb. Our room was at the back of the hotel, not a great view but quieter as some of the guests were a little raucous! At the end of the day you get what you pay for. The hotel is set back from the main road in the 'English half of Benidorm', but it is suitable for a short break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back. The view isn't much but its quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lynne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,243)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

770 - 776 of 1,243 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2013

just back from the Holiday from hell ! the food was okish at breakfast but all other meals were bloomin awful ! the place is (was) full of drunken louts and so many people had to change rooms due to the noise it was just horrible, we had a disabled person with us and to get the walking aid in to the room we had to move the furniture and even then it was so cramped , asked for an upgrade only to be told that all rooms were the same size and that some rooms had 4 beds for a family and that to get out of bed they had to climb over one another, the best way to describe the place is a multi storey Butlins chalet ! dont even think about getting a wheelchair in the lift if your dissabled family member has to remain in the chair because the doors will not close !!! and dont expect to be delivered to the door on your arrival because you will be dropped off at the bottom of a hill which caused us to have a great start to the Holiday (not) ...all in all it was a very very unhappy time for the 3 of us , next time we may as well go to Blackpool as the shops and facilities in Benidorm are very much the same , oh and beware the motorised disability scooters , young and old hire them and pretty much seem to enjoy aiming at your legs !!!! moan over ...

Room Tip: the whole place is the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazzy49hampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here Oct 22 for a week all inclusive. Rooms are big enough got storage drawers and hangers, also have a strong safe and a tv. though channels are in Spanish with only bbc1 and a couple of English news channels. we were at the back of the hotel with not much view, but talking to other people who were on the pool side, it was quieter. food I the restaurant was plentiful with fish dishes, meat dishes, and salads. there were also plenty of sweets to choose from, and fruit. Breakfast was just the same with cereals, cooked fried eggs bacon sausage tomatoes mushrooms boiled eggs scrambled eggs. all refilled when they get low.
There were 2 lifts which only hold 4 people, which get busy at meal times, but normally very quick. Drinks are served in plastic cups because of the pool area which makes sense with people in bare feet. being inclusive just keep getting them, rules did say 1 drink per visit but this is very relaxed and rounds of drinks of 6 or more the norm.
As for the entertainment, the lad that was running it, Ruben, did try very hardtop involve everybody and we did have some great nights (its what you make it) there were a parrot show, and a snake and reptile show.
Location was good only 10 mins from beach,(tip= don't go down hill as you leave the hotel, but go right up hill and take 1st right, and follow road straight to the beach)
Would we go back..... YES

Room Tip: ,(tip= don't go down hill as you leave the hotel, but go right up hill and take 1st right, and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Me and four of my friends stayed here from 5th until 12th October we found the hotel was basic but very clean , the food was ok with a couple of very good meals and plenty of snacks by the bar area.
The staff were friendly and helpful special mention to Miguel and Billy( a girl) who looked after us at the bar always cheerful and quick service which we appreciated.
There is also a great little bar across the road from the hotel called the Jukebox which has pool tables and shows all sports on large screens and the girls from Sunderland who ran the bar are brilliant and really looked after us , go on give it a try.
Gary,John,Kevin,Simon,and Alan(chop) Liverpool

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Arrived late on Saturday eve and was given room on top floor. We went half board for this holiday. Outside appearance looked fine compared to others nearby.
We ate food on the 1st eve and it was fine. We then ate for 2 more eve's before we decided after not again! Upset stomach wasn't nice, so we ate out for the remainder. Didn't try the breakfast as we were on holiday and wanted to lay in until late.
Didn't use the pool or facilities as my partner wasn't able to. We did get stuck in the lift once, but engineers were working in fairness.
As for location, good. 10 min stroll to beach. As for staff, fine and pleasant. The rooms were clean and comfortable and average sized. Bar closed at midnight and you could hear some noise from down below, but not enough to disrupt your sleep.
Would we stay again, Yes, but wouldn't eat there.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the top. There are 2 lifts so you get up to the top fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is your standard 3 star, nothing more! But you get what you pay for. I stayed here from 7th-14th Sept '13, The weather was brilliant, the beach is absolutely lovely and only an easy 10 minute walk away lined with shops and restaurants. The hotel was clean, rooms very basic but again were clean, with fresh towels every couple of days. All the staff were very friendly and made people feel welcome. The food was ok, a few themed nights were pretty good with a fair variety on offer, though on 1 or 2 nights the food was rather dissapointing, and Im really not that fussy! My friend who is vegetarian only ate salad and brought herself tins of tuna to make sandwiches with! This hotel is perfect for groups of friends or anyone wanting a cheap and cheerful holiday!! The whole entertainment programme was pretty crap but with most beach front bars serving half a pint for 1 euro you could go out and make your own entertainment! The only thing that really annoyed me about this hotel was the stupid tiny plastic cups you were served drinks in, even tea and coffe if you are all inclusive!

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room, Rooms on the other side on lower floors have awful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nyna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Hotel dated but clean. Pool area very uncomfortable too relax all hard chairs and broken hard sun loungers.food ok. On half board an went for drinks would have spent money in hotel but they wanted 1.60 euro's for small plastic cup of beer to drink by the pool rip off. Overall we only used it as a base cause there was no comfort.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madge1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Dynastic Hotel
Dynastic Hotel
#99 of 192 in Benidorm
2,124 reviews
0.1 mi away
Servigroup Rialto
Servigroup Rialto
#18 of 192 in Benidorm
1,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#42 of 192 in Benidorm
2,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by by Melia
0.1 mi away
Halley Apartments
Halley Apartments
#153 of 192 in Benidorm
380 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Placidia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Placidia Hotel

Address: Avenida Roma 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £32 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gala Placidia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, Booking.com, Onthebeach, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gala Placidia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gala Placidia
Gala Placidia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing