We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Budget Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gala Placidia Hotel
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Brilliant Budget Break”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Four of us stayed at Gala Placidia from 7th to 11th February (birthday celebration) and we were all pleasantly surprised by the quality and choice of food - even had a British night while we were there which included roast beef and tasty Yorkshire puddings.
The location is good, almost opposite the indoor market, the rooms were basic but adequate and clean as was the whole hotel. The staff were always polite and pleasant and, yes, the bar has plastic tables and chairs but this is a value for money hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
Please give this hotel a chance, don't listen to negative comments as we would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget.
Would we stay again - you bet

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank alanena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    333
    329
    168
    210
See reviews for
234
341
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albox, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

My family and I booked this hotel as it advertised an indoor pool, however the pool is in the sister hotel and we were unable to use it as there were swimming training going on every time we went to use it.The hotel itself caters for stag parties, hen parties and any other party you care to mention. it was very noisey and we had to be moved to a higher floor to get a nights sleep. Would not stay here again,

Room Tip: Don't ' bother!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benidorm hotels

Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Mould in rooms noisy and very dated the food is awful and the bar area is plastic tables and chairs not a nice place to stay even the reception area is dirty with settee all torn pool area very poor we stayed on first floor so at least did not have to use the lifts

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Normanron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

THE hotel is very average .The staff are great the bar staff work so hard went all inclusive well worth it drinks was flowing good . food was ok went wth two 3yrs old the staff and guest was so good with them.room was nice and clean but do need updated all off us did have a great time there .dont be put off by people reviews well worth the money wll go back there as planning a girls holiday there .bring it on xx

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nichola71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We have always stayed in Benidorm on Half Board basis, but for a change we decided to break tradition and book our first All Inclusive holiday in Benidorm at the "Gala Placidia Hotel". We also used the Airport bus transfers which is exceptional and unbeatable value. if staying here and using the bus transfer you will be dropped off about 100 meters away at the bottom of the road, although it is uphill it is not too steep, but is something to consider if you have restricted mobility. The hotel is one of the older establishments in town, but is well positioned for the indoor market, the Wednesday/Sunday outdoor market and the bus stops, beach and Benidorm Palace. Our twin room with balcony overlooking the pool was fine and substantial, with a 3rd guest bed, The bathroom had a bath with shower over. The room was cleaned and towels changed daily.
The AI exceeded our expectations although we didn't take it to excess. Bar was 10am -midnight, serving local Spirits, Beer. (don't expect branded drinks) spirit strength is around 50% below that of branded spirits, but that didn't seem to dampen the spirits of other guests while we were there. Snacks are available in the Bar whenever the dining room was closed until midnight, so no need to rush back if out and you will miss lunch. Entertainment was 6 days a week, the young man who organises the entertainment works really hard to encourage and enthuse. Food in the Dining room is plentiful and a varied selection was always available. Full English, Continental and lighter breakfast are daily staples. The dining area is dated as is the whole hotel, the staff we met and saw at the hotel work really hard to present a clean and hygienic environment, which made our stay most comfortable.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms are shaded
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

this hotel is average the room we stayed in had mould on ceiling .plug hole in bath was rusty.plug sockets were hanging of the wall.food was the same all week .but it was cold and there was only 1 microwave . drinks were discusting .the day we arrived we had been traveling from 2.30pm and had no food all day and when we got there the was burgers and chips so i got 1 and it was stone cold .but we didnt no it had been there all day.the way they keep there food warm is by hot water under food trays.as were also found out someone was attacked and robbed outside hotel.and someone also had all there stuff stolen out there room which was on first floor but the hotel wouldnt let the police come to hotel and the sevice in hotel was not good as i was having dinner and i was getting pudding and they reset the table thing we had finished but i hadnt

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We arrived early and they let us check in early. We was happy at First with the room and the bar. Decided to go out ( there is a slight hill) it's nothing compared to other reviews! Had a brilliant night on the strip! But woke up to find that there had been two muggings on the previous evening. An elderly man and he's wife had there passports and €200 euros stolen at the entrance of the hotel then a guy had been mugged at knife point and the entrance of the hotel. People should be aware that there is horrendous crime around the hotel. NOT AT THE HOTEL! But Saturday evening there had been a robbery of another guest. A very old guy at the beach front tried to steal my handbag! This was in broad daylight. This made us feel very dubious! The Spanish staff treat the Spanish guests differently to the English guests. The rooms are livable for a weekend not much longer the food was ok but got sick of it the 3rd night. Entertainment is ok too. Overall the hotel is great when u wanna escape England for a weekend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank globe1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Dynastic Hotel
Dynastic Hotel
#101 of 192 in Benidorm
2,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#113 of 192 in Benidorm
446 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Fiesta Park
Port Fiesta Park
#158 of 192 in Benidorm
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#39 of 192 in Benidorm
1,917 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#103 of 192 in Benidorm
2,175 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Vista Oro
Port Vista Oro
#41 of 192 in Benidorm
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Placidia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Placidia Hotel

Property: Gala Placidia Hotel
Address: Avenida Roma 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gala Placidia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Gala Placidia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gala Placidia
Gala Placidia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing