We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that bad!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gala Placidia Hotel
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not that bad!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Four ladies on holiday (of a certain age) ok rooms. Towels changed every day and sheets every other. Food good bar great weather fantastic. Most staff fantastic one or two horrid (night shift security). We had a great time so don't let the other reviews put you off

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ev1ledna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    333
    329
    168
    210
See reviews for
234
341
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

Don't belive all the bad reviews,I stayed here last week and everything was great,food was good,snacks all day,beer was good,good measures on the shorts and staff where helpful and friendly,the only bad thing was I bought Internet access for 10 hours over 5 days and I got an hour and half out of it before it wouldn't let me go back on,but was refunded for what I didn't use so all good,also the maids left the rooms spotless every day

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

we booked a family holiday with 4 adults and a child of 5.

we arrived early after afternoon to a light airy room with pool view but noticed immediately that every bed had towels on it with no occupants and through the holiday the fight for beds be it occupied or not was horrendous.

the children's entertainment was basic and so bad families ventured out to entertain their children.

the most important thing -that you all need to be aware of this hotel should be branded club 18-30 .... yes I appreciate stag and hen parties visit Benidorm but music blasting at 2am ... room orgies and drug taking poolside was not acceptable for a family branded hotel! it was so bad people were having sex in the pool and being encouraged by friends screaming from balconies above.
the pool side language was atrocious and far from acceptable around young kids and the children's pool was impossible to enter as the parties of hens and stags found it there own private foot cooling area whilst drinking alcohol.
during our stay we had to be moved rooms as door slamming, screaming in corridors and room parties became all too much and sleep deprivation on a holiday is not what you expect. our second room was better to begin with but as people come and go, new arrivals came and the problem just followed us. People climbing between balconies and shouting to each other from room to room, this was the early hours !!.

The food was ok but if you dislike Garlic then you'll find it difficult to eat anything. Also it was deemed acceptable by some to use fingers to try food, taking a bite and if they disliked it just throwing it back !!

Be aware that if you have walking difficulties this hotel is elevated and even transfer coaches drop you at the bottom of the incline and leave you to carry your own luggage to the hotel.

we are by no way snobby in any way and we can all use language but this was to the extreme here.

The staff were lovely but have no control over guests and to stand and watch grown men throwing sun beds into the pool just so no one else can have them was disgusting.

we work hard for our yearly holiday and this was a holiday from hell.

avoid at all costs and consider other properties if taking families or prefer a quieter hotel.

Room Tip: go to another hotel ! clean but not for anyone apart from stag and hen parties or the club 18-30 gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank TraceyMpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benidorm hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Well over all it was ok not the best hotel i have ever stayed in, where to start.. well in our group there was 3 of us so was put into one room, the room was clean but was tiny (just fit 3 beds in) the travel bed was awful, all torn and ripped and half was missing. The staff were ok apart from one bar man who never smiled at all most never spoke, the food was awful we went all inclusive and ate there about 4 times in the week we went, the breakfast was by far the worst.
the pool was the same size of a bath tub and the place could of done with a total refurb, we didnt really spend much time at the hotel and was fine but wouldnt stay again, it was ok for a cheap get away and wouldnt be any good for families

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanya-jayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are not clean. The staff ignore you. The food is not cooked properly and there for in edible. The pool is about large enough to swing a cat but that's about it. Even the holiday makers look miserable. In short the worst hotel I have ever known. Thank god for our holiday rep who quickly moved us to the dynastic and saved our holiday. The dynastic is the sister hotel to this one but in contrast is absolutely fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank mark633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

10 girls just arrived back after 4 days here and not one of us have a complaint about this hotel. The food was fine always something to eat and of an evening you could get wine or sangria at the bar in the restaurant.

Drinks in main bar were great no complaints at all.


Yes this hotel Is for stags, hens or like us an gang if girls celebrating a couple of us 40th birthdays. I have two kids and would not bring them here it is defiantly a adult hotel not a family hotel.
Yes the hotel is full of people dressed up in an array of different fancy dress outfits but they are funny. The lads at the hotel were all lovely and we made some great friends. The girls were great too. No fighting, arguments or idiots causing havoc just a fab bunch of people.

Had no trouble sleeping. No-one in our party did. The beds where fine infact one if the best I've slept in abroad and the pillows were ok too. Yes rooms ain't big but you only sleep and get changed in them anyway. Totally fine for our needs and they had air con.

Didn't have to pay a deposit for anything and no one we spoke to did either so not sure why some people have been.


There is a shop directly across from the hotel and the shop owner is lovely and sells any bits and bobs you need. The main strip and square is literally a 5 min walk away.

Please please please be careful of your money!!!! My friend had €500 taken from her bag on the first night from pick pockets! They are rife!! Every other person we spoke to had been pick pocketed down te main strip and they even cut bags from your shoulder. Girls take a small bag you can hold in your hands or stick your money in your bra. Boys do not put money in your back pocket!!!

Beach is fab €4 for a sun lounger. Men come around the beach selling drinks but they add at least €2 per drink so it's cheaper to get up and go I over to the bar.

Deffo will go back to benidorm and I will stay at this hotel again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Was worried reading previous reviews but for what we paid for the service from all members of staff was great, we booked in and the room we were given on first night was noisy because of the stag and hen parties, our problem not theirs (partner light sleeper) but next day when we explained they swapped us to something higher up which was more suitable. Yes it was more single sex parties but as a couple we enjoyed it and where able to sit and chill without any problem. Food well for under £200 each for the week you had a good choice with a different roast every night, so basically you could wake up at 8am for breakfast and from 10am eat and drink for free until midnight. Special mention to our cleaner who from the day we were changing rooms to if we were sitting on the balcony always was always lovely and cheerful . Would definitely go back again nd thats not something I could say about some more expensive places I have stayed.

Room Tip: Higher room to back of hotel quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank margaretcarroll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Dynastic Hotel
Dynastic Hotel
#101 of 192 in Benidorm
2,054 reviews
1.5 mi away
Voramar Hotel
Voramar Hotel
#113 of 192 in Benidorm
444 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port Fiesta Park
Port Fiesta Park
#159 of 192 in Benidorm
1,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#39 of 192 in Benidorm
1,916 reviews
0.3 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#103 of 192 in Benidorm
2,176 reviews
1.4 mi away
Port Vista Oro
Port Vista Oro
#42 of 192 in Benidorm
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gala Placidia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gala Placidia Hotel

Property: Gala Placidia Hotel
Address: Avenida Roma 4, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Gala Placidia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Gala Placidia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gala Placidia
Gala Placidia Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing