We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab hotel + great location = fantastic holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
Ranked #10 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just returned from this hotel and for the most part it was fab.

Check in was easy and quick and the reception staff are very friendly.

Rooms are very modern, clean and a good size. Rooms have all mod cons and the tv has a good few English speaking channels. No tea/coffee making facilities in the room but there is a fridge. There is also a hair dryer.
The air con in the rooms is not great. Takes ages to cool the room when you come in and balcony door has to be shut tight for it to work, so room never seems to cool because the heat is unbearable with the door shut.
We were on the 14th floor and the balconies are not for the faint hearted, but the high floors provide the best views.

The food and drink options are excellent if you are all inclusive and you can literally eat and drink all day long. Food can be a little cold but there is a microwave should you want to heat it up. The bar staff are so friendly and always smiling, however the staff in the dining room always look a little unhappy. One thing to note is you cannot get tea or coffee in the dining room during lunch and dinner, although small tip the coffee in the bar upstairs is much better.

The pool area does not get sun until around 12 but there is another sun lounger area that gets sun from 8/9 ish.
You can hire pool towels for €20 for the week from reception and when you return your towels you get your money back.

Not sure if we were ripped off for the safe or not. It's €21 for a week and you are told to enter a 6 digit number and press lock. The instructions are on the front of the safe but we had paid it when checking in so it was too late. My advice, check in and see if the safe works (they might be able to de-activate it until you pay but I would try it first, you can always pay when you go back down to reception).

WIFI did not work at the hotel for the whole week. We asked at reception and were told on numerous occasions it was being fixed but it never was. Very frustrating as every time you walk through reception there is a tv that says wifi area. This was annoying but we later found out that wifi was a rare commodity in benidorm as most places don't offer it.

The location is fantastic. Walk 700m approximately to the beach and turn right for the old town and left for the new town.

If you want a lovely day away ask at reception where the local buses go from (they have tourist maps). Take the number 10 bus to Altea which is about 40 mins away and costs €1.50 each way. There is a lovely market there on Tuesdays. Well worth a visit for the lovely views and nice market.

Shopping in benidorm is fab. Great shops and prices. Old town has in my opinion the best shops for clothes and fashion i.e Zara, Massimo Dutti etc.

The skies the limit for nightlife in benidorm but if you want some great music and a giggle, leave your inhibitions at the door and head to the Bodhran Irish bar to see Brendan Murray sing and bounce off the audience.

On Wednesdays and I think Saturdays there is also an outdoor market about a 10 minute walk from the hotel in the direction of the new town. Again ask at reception and they will point you in the right direction.

We will definitely be retuning to benidorm and would stay at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Hollyirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,420)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,582 - 1,588 of 3,421 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

Visited last weekend in May 2014
This was our 4 visit to the Sandos Monaco in Benidorm. On our previous visits we loved the hotel but I honestly think it has now lost some of its Mojo....
First the positives, hotel is still spotless and the rooms are as good and well maintained as before.
The public area is also well kept and the pool is always clean if as normal at this time of year very cold.
The Spa remains a real positive did not have any treatments but its still worth a visit.
One positive change was the self service beer soft drinks and water in not only as before the restaurant but now at the pool. Very good and convenient.
The negatives now, and first was the food, this I except is personal choice but the lunch and dinner choices are now fewer, and to be honest Luke warm.
The breakfast was good and the snack menu which sadly is only available in the restaurant and not at the pool bar is served between meals is to be fair also nice. But the main meals in my opinion are now anything but 4 star.
i also don't like the select service in the way its structured, its a good service but is only available in the goldfish bowl type lounge in the main reception area surely this should be available in all the bar areas for it to be a true premium option.
Since our last visit there has also been a significant change of staff over the past years we had got to know them and its a shame they are no longer there, as they were a friendly bunch where as the new staff members seem less inclined to stop and chat, then again there are fewer of them and may be they just don't have the time again this is another sign for me that the hotel is trying to do things on the cheap.
The entertainment was never very good and nothing has changed but its Benidorm so for us this is not an issue.
Finely the say the hotel has WiFi ??? It has for a about 5 mins in your room before it kicks you out it just is not there in the reception bars or pool area, very poor from a 4 star hotel.
So after 4 visits would we return well before we would have said yes without thinking about it but now, well just not sure.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view room which is the odd numbers as they get more sun in the afternoon and evening.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BlueNoseBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have recently returned from a 5 night all inclusive stay at the Hotel and cannot fault it at all.
It is our 2nd time staying at the Hotel and all we could all say was they have improved on their already excellent standards. The Hotel is spotless, The staff are brilliant and are always happy to help.
Anybody who says they cannot find anything to eat that they like must be an extremely fussy eater because there is something for everybody.
The Hotel is in a prime location for both the old and new town, beach and shops.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheBreeze21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We spent a week at this wonderful hotel. The position could not be better, in the middle of both old and new town, and a short stroll to the beach. We were a little worried about all the negative reviews concerning Hen and Stag Parties, but there were none there last week.
The staff were all so friendly, they really made an effort to make sure we had a good time. The cleaning staff keep the whole hotel spotless.
We could not fault the quality and quantity of food and drink on offer.
The fact that this was adult only hotel was the main reason for choosing the Sandos.
We would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LFG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for the new year 2013 what an unbeliveable experience will go back for 2014/2015 if work commitments allow.full of regulars but very pleasant people so make sure you speak to people. the upgrade is well worth the money! there,s nothing wrong whatsoever with the A.I. bar but push the boat out you won,t be dissappointed.within easy reach of everything and the bonus is adults only

Room Tip: front overlooking pool high rooms not for me i,m afraid stayed in one for a couple of nights! oh no...
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pingman_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

A good quality hotel in a great position, a short walk to the beach,the night life and the old town,food is of a good standard with plenty of choice, buffet style with freshly cooked items as well, have a good look before deciding as there are several areas in the restaurant displaying food on offer.Wine, beer champagne, soft drinks all available as well,We went all inclusive and it is good value for money.Staff are friendly and the hotel is kept very clean throughout,rooms are comfortable with excellent showers over bath,,plenty of hot water and fresh towels as required.Do not bother taking beach /pool towels hire from reception 10 Euros fully refundable ,these can be changed at no charge in spa area as required.Entertainment was ok geared for 40 plus age group,all in all a great hotel

Room Tip: ask to be not overlooking pool, much quieter and no higher than 3rd floor which means a easy walk do...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ALAN M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have just returned from a 7 night stay at the Sandos, it was fantastic, the food was excellent, so much choice, hot, varied, every meal was a struggle to decide what to eat! The beds were comfy and rooms cleaned every day. Staff were friendly and we had a laugh with the bar staff. We were not sure what to expect from Benidorm but really enjoyed the area, as someone else said you were only 15mins away from lively or quiet areas. Going out of season was probably the best as it will be manic in the summer. We were not affected by hen and stag parties but I know some regulars had to complain. I would not hesitate to return to this hotel and Benidorm.

Room Tip: We were happy on 13th Floor ours got the sun in the morning and we found our Mum's room was real...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jules789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
7,227 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Royal
Hotel RH Royal
#11 of 192 in Benidorm
1,392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#54 of 192 in Benidorm
4,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,300 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,745 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sol Costablanca
Sol Costablanca
#62 of 192 in Benidorm
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa

Address: Avenida Periodista Emilio Romero 11, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#3 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#9 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#12 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £93 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa All Inclusive, Adults Only +16, is located near to Playa de Levante (450 m) and to Benidorm centre. It has 199 rooms with two individual beds, flat satellite TV, air conditioning and heater, bathroom with hairdryer, terrace with views and free WiFi, plus minibar and safe (extra charge) It also provide a program called Select wich offers additional services besides the usual current all-inclusive. Among these, there are all kind of falicities at the arrival and in the room, such as a bottle welcome bottle of cava, or minibar and safe for free, as well as discount and access to the Select Club Lounge. The falicities have an outside pool and Jacuzzi, cafe-bar, and show cooking and buffet restaurant. As well as parking, gym, spa, sauna and Wellnes Centre (extra charge). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandos Monaco Beach Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Monaco Hotel And Spa
Sandos Monaco Hotel Benidorm
Monaco Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing