We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Clean, good food, close to the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Ranked #60 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Clean, good food, close to the beach”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed here as part of a package with Jet2Holidays.com. There were 4 of us, a couple and 2 singles. We were very happy with the quality of the rooms and each one has a balcony with a great sea view. The 2 singles both had a full sized room with twin beds, which was a bonus as we expected smaller rooms. The rooms and bathrooms were very clean and of a good size.
We didn't use the pool area as the beach is literally across the road. Reception was professional and friendly enough. The waiters in the restaurant weer also friendly and professional, though we found the bar staff quite surly and a little rude.
The evening entertainment was ok, but as this is a predominantly Spanish hotel, the entertainment was geared towards the Spanish clientele. There is an outside terrace to sit and drink in the evenings, overlooking the pool and the sea. One huge complaint about this area though was the amount of unattended children running around the entire time! Even late at night. I complained several times to the receptionist, who was kind enough to act on the complaint. However the problem occurred every evening making it an annoying place to try and relax.
We stayed here half board. We were very surprised at the quality of the food. The breakfast has quite a variety of food, including fresh fruit, breads, cooked breakfast and cereals, so there is plenty to choose from. And the quality of the coffee was also very good!
Evening dinner gets quite busy and the food on offer was more than adequate and there was plenty of choice which was also of good quality.

The plus side of staying here is the proximity to the beach, the cleanliness of the room and bathroom, the view from the balcony and the food.

The downsides are the distance to the old town...easily a 15 -20 walk or about 8€ in a cab...this is ok if you're a younger adult, not so good if you have kids or elderly people with you.
Also, there is NO FREE WIFI!!! It costs 3.25€ a day!! These days, free wifi is a deal breaker!! Everyone expects free wifi these days.
And a huge surprise that there was NO FRIDGE in the room, you have to pay 16€ a week to rent one... so no cold drinks in your room unless you want to pay 16€ to rent a fridge!
Also, the amount of unattended kids running around, even in the bar at night was a problem for us.
All in all a nice hotel with good food and great views, but we wouldn't stay here again due to no free WIFI or Fridge and the unattended kids and the distance from the Old Town.

Room Tip: Some rooms have Memory foam mattresses...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    292
    334
    168
    56
    38
See reviews for
283
338
30
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We visited with family out of season and took 6 adults and 3 children (6, 3 and 2) for a beach holiday.

We booked the all inclusive option directly with the hotel and chose the "branded" option. This is my most important tip! Choose the "branded" option for your all inclusive and almost everything at the bar is free. If you chose the normal all inclusive then you will be restricted to draft beer and terrible spirits. We were amazed that everything we asked for, including slushes and ice pops for the kids, was included in our deal.

The hotel is, as others have pointed out, a continental hotel which means that all tastes were catered for at dinner and not all of the staff speak fluent English. Don't worry though as they were more than helpful and really helped us with the kids during our stay.

The evening entertainment was a mix of music and (spanish) comedy but you could always avoid it by sitting on the balcony if you wanted to.

The hotel is only across the road from the beach and the beach is cleaned nightly as you would expect so exactly what you are looking for if you have kids.

I would definately recommend the hotel but I would only warn that the air conditioning is not that great. It does work though!

Room Tip: The lifts are slow so try and request a lower floor. It does seem that the local travellers request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TP-NEWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallsend, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

just returned from Benidorm stayed at Poseidon playa the hotel great nice and clean rooms cleaned every day was better than some reviews said the staff were great meals were great weather was fantastic view was great from 17th floor had some great meals at the 7 palms bar owned by Julie and neil from Yorkshire allways welcome turn right at bottom of hill and walk toward the hotel bali

Room Tip: try and get room on 17th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickybunrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed at the Poseidon Playa over the first 2 weeks of October 2013, what a fabulous experience, the Hotel is situated in a perfect location, on the Poniente Promenade, about 50 meters from the lovely ( spotlessly clean ) beach.
On arriving at reception we were greeted as if we stayed there every year, we are a large group of 12, and were booked in, rooms allocated and photo cards issued all within 30 minutes, and all with a smile and good humour, a lovely start to our holiday.The same level of service and friendliness continued at the bar. then in the dining room, and next morning awoke to see no less than 4 hard working cleaners mopping the entire pool area, this continued throughout our holiday, our maid was so pleasant and cheerful as we met every morning, this level of happy and good service I have never encountered in over 40 years of travel.
Now the basics, during our stay the other guests were mainly Spanish, remember you are in Spain, but a few words of simple Spanish soon breaks the ice, and it was far better than a hotel full of drunken Brits, we enjoy a drink and spent most nights on the outside terrace, there were some good shows and it was a pleasure to watch the Spanish people doing there traditional dances. Again others have said that the bar staff serve the Spanish guests first, what rubbish, all the guys in the bar were good fun, extremely hard working and served everyone in turn. The dining room is very spacious and if you consider that the staff have to cater for all tastes, the food is splendid, and full English breakfast to start the day off, with lovely bread, fruit juice and coffee. and again the most friendly and helpful staff. The Animation team once again friendly, never pushy and work so hard to ensure there is always something going on.
The hotel is not in the center of Benidorm, which is why we booked it, but a gentle 30 walk along the promenade takes you into town, or a 6 euro taxi ride.So perhaps not to the clubbers liking.
The pool area is very good, perhaps could do with an update of the sun loungers, and parasols, and not suitable for the disabled due to the steps down from the terrace.
Overall an excellent hotel with fabulous sea views, we stayed on an All Inclusive level, and found we had good value for money. It can only be the culture of this hotel when every member of staff is so hard working and cheerful. And a word of praise for the manager she is as cheerful and welcoming as all her staff.
Well done and will see you all next year.

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view, and are spotlessly clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Barrydav15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesPoseidon, Gerente at Hotel Poseidon Playa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Barrydav15,

Thank you very much for your comments.
It's been a pleasure to meet you.
We are all looking forward to seeing you and your family next year.

Best regards,
Sandra Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel would be ideal for a beach holiday but we felt it was just a bit too far out for us. Very clean and food was fine, although definitely catering more towards Spanish customers. There was always something to be had even if it was cold meat and chips !! Reception staff were always helpful. Air conditioning was terrible and we were there for the hottest week in October for about 90 years !! Entertainment was awful. Consisted mostly of ballroom dancing and we spent no time at all in the lounge. Pool area was fine and access to the beach was across the road. There are underpasses but the one time we used it, I think it had been used as a toilet so I would give these a miss. One way street outside makes getting bus into town difficult but bus stop right outside coming back. Overall, if this hotel was in another location I would visit again just too far from centre for us.

Room Tip: all rooms look onto beach so a higher level gives an even better view. there are 4 lifts but they d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank alanscrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I have just come back from a week at the Poseidon Playa Hotel where I stayed with my daughters aged 23 years and 28 years and we have no complaints. Yes, the lifts are a little slow, yes, there are a lot of Spanish guests but thankfully there were no stag or hen parties and yes, the food is geared towards Spanish tastes but we really enjoyed it as it was varied every day also there are bars and shops along the promenade which are not too far away.
We would definitely book this hotel again as it was in a good location for us, the walk into the centre of Benidorm does not take very long, we went on the bus to the centre but realised it was easier to walk and the promenade is superb all the way along. There is an excellent bar on the prom called Danny's bar with great food, good prices and friendly staff. Great holiday!!

Room Tip: We had a 3 bedded room and two of the beds had the new foam mattresses but the 3rd one was an older...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheila P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesPoseidon, Gerente at Hotel Poseidon Playa, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear Sheila P,

Thank you for your comments.
We hope to see you again.

Best regards,
Sandra Perez
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

just back, the food was fine and place was spotless, however to far out from main shops allthough right next to the beach.
The hotel is catering around the spanish and there were a lot of them!.
the evening hotel entertainment was ballroom dancing,and a spanish singer.
the staff were all good and very nice, the place is spotless and we always got a bed at the pool;
it will cost about 10 euro's to get into the main strip and the same back,cheaper there but it MENTAL,

Room Tip: all are sea view,the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ricky h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Poseidon Resort
Poseidon Resort
#75 of 192 in Benidorm
1,003 reviews
0.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#33 of 192 in Benidorm
893 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#27 of 192 in Benidorm
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Del Mar Hotel
Villa Del Mar Hotel
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
2,667 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
208 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon Playa

Property: Hotel Poseidon Playa
Address: Avenida Racharell No 1, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent sea views can be had from your room, sit out on the balcony, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the romantic Mediterranean sunsets. The Poniente beach area of Benidorm is the quieter part, but it is still close to the historic old town and only 850 metres from the town centre, with it's shops, restaurants, bars and discos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Poseidon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Playa Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing