We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Poseidon Playa
Ranked #57 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Just back from 4 day break at the Posseidon Playa. On arrival,the helpful reception staff re- allocated our room from 17th to 8th floor which was great. Lovely room with great views over the sparkling sea. Food was hot and varied and although meals were buffet style, the restaurant staff worked so hard clearing and setting tables and serving drinks.They never stopped! I loved having drinks on the terrace overlooking the pool and sea.Even at night time.Entertainment was pretty predictable but fun.As soon as the first notes were played, the Spanish guests were up on the floor dancing.Really great to just watch or even join in. For a reasonably priced short break, the Posseidon Playa was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Qchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

281 - 287 of 952 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

My husband and i have just enjoyed a week at this hotel. We loved the fact that Spanish people holiday here, we actually felt we were in Spain compared to other hotels we have stayed at in the past. On the first weekend there were lots of older couples and i have to say they were certainly young at heart with lots of Spanish dancing as well as ballroom, my husband and i were encouraged to join in. We thought the pool area was a perfect suntrap over looking the stunning views out to sea. The food in our opinion was lovely, always piping hot and plentyful, We enjoyed the evening entertainment various acts including a brilliant duo on Saturday night, who sang both in Spanish and English.As the week moved on families with children started coming for the Easter Holidays. Our room was spotless the maids work very hard to keep them this way. Every member of staff we spoke to were courteous and helpful. We met some lovely and interesting people from different parts of the world, especially Belgium and Germany, On the day we were travelling home we had a very early start the staff offered us a breakfast but stated it would be cold, when we saw what they had laid out for us we were quite impressed there was cooked meats, fruit juice, cereals and milk, continental cakes and biscuits. We are looking forward to visiting this hotel again in the near future.

Room Tip: This hotel has 17 floors so if you don't like heights ask for lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

my husband and i with two friends have just had a three day break at this hotel,i really dont think if your any younger than fifty you would not enjoy this hotel. the hotel is really catered for the spanish, the food was very average, the snacks are no where to be seen, you have to ask behind the bar for them and they are only nuts biscuts toasties, the evening entertainment is the worst ever unless you like to ballroom dance. the pool area is very small at least you dont have to fight for the sun beds i think with most of the elderly with walking sticks they cant make it down the three lots of stairs.i will not be going back to this hotel there is nothing to do in the resort there is not much there.

Room Tip: we were on the seventeenth floor try to get a lower floor trying to get a lift is a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brennans091822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

It's a good hotel on Benidorm beach , the sea views are marvelous !!
we booked full board , the price was excellent , the staff friendly and nice!
it was such a wonderful trip , we meet new friends ! a nice experience

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
11  Thank Maggui m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

we spend the weekend there and all i can say is good. our room was clean with a fantastic view... the food was ok many plates that you can choose
at night we enjoyed excellent gin tonic . the staff so friendly!! there were many nationalities is a pleasure to meet new friends .. we will come back in summer time thanks for everything!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
9  Thank Miriam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Booked 4 nights with my mum in march for my birthday ,the holiday company went bust so had to pay again soon as we arrived.Rooms are basic but lovely views,Tv only ccn news in English rest all Spanish.
The smell of fish coming through the aircon was awful every night from the kitchen.
Food was awful pigs trotters,tripe,garlic soup,catfish balls.panga fish ,only mousse desserts.
Breakfast wasn't any better Spanish bacon ,cold beans fatty eggs.if you like Spanish food you would love the Poseidon ,if you don't its not for you.
There wasn't any tea in the morning just coffee.As airtours and jet 2 use this hotel expected some English food ,but there wasn't.
We were the only English in the hotel ,no one could speak any English.At night it was a
ghostown outside, scary quiet,the entertainment was all Spanish in the hotel .
All in all this was a nitemare 4 days, couldn't wait to go home.we , will go to the Thomson Ruidor in the new town ,great hotel .

Room Tip: higher rooms get more sunshine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beverley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelesPoseidon, Director General at Hotel Poseidon Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Guests,

We are sorry you didnt enjoy your stay with us but we would like to point out a few things:

- We have 25 international channels in our tv, not just one in english and the rest in spanish.

- There is definately not a smell of fish coming though the aircon as the pipes are not even near the kitchen.

- Yes, we have some traditional spanish food in our menu, as an extra plate, but we also have diferent meats, fish, rices, vegetables, pies, pasta, paella.... Also shepards pie and yorkshire pudding on some days, so plenty of international choice. For breakfast you will find, bacon, sausages, fried eggs, scrambled eggs, boiled eggs, fresh fruits, pastries, yougurts, pancakes, omelletes... A choice for every one. We also have tea and a selection of infusions.

- During the month of March, we have catered a lot of other nationalities, not just spanish, and in every department there is more than 2 workers that speak very fluent english.

All our english clients are very satisfied with our services, maybe you didnt realize where we are located when booking the hotel.

Best regards,
Sandra Pérez
Manager Poseidon Playa Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

we had a lovely week in this hotel we would definitly return the hotel is spottless the staff are very friendly & helpful good food and plenty of everything we were on the 10th floor with stunning views good comfortable beds & nice soft towels the waiters work none stop well done

Room Tip: high floors for good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank 767kathleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.2 mi away
Poseidon Resort
Poseidon Resort
#76 of 192 in Benidorm
1,078 reviews
0.9 mi away
Servigroup Torre Dorada
Servigroup Torre Dorada
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
952 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#26 of 192 in Benidorm
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#5 of 192 in Benidorm
1,588 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
238 reviews
2.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Poseidon Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Poseidon Playa

Address: Avenida Racharell No 1, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £35 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Poseidon Playa 3*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificent sea views can be had from your room, sit out on the balcony, soak up the atmosphere and enjoy the romantic Mediterranean sunsets. The Poniente beach area of Benidorm is the quieter part, but it is still close to the historic old town and only 850 metres from the town centre, with it's shops, restaurants, bars and discos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Poseidon Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poseidon Playa Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing