We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel and location”
Review of Hotel RH Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RH Royal
Ranked #6 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 October 2011

Location is wonderful for being able to see the local side of Benidorm, lovely shops and places to eat. We had a spacious suite and the hotel has been updated to a high standard. The food is ok, choice limited but this is more to do with the fact that it is a small hotel and well done for offering good wine at reasonable prices...rioja for 7.30 euros a bottle. We will def be back, nice to avoid the tackiness of Benidorm.

Room Tip: We had suite, very spacious and you have mini bar that you can opt to have emptied and rent for 1.50...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,066 - 1,072 of 1,473 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Have stayed here several times. Our latest stay was disappointing. Range of meals at dinner is very poor and service is inadequate. Had to self-service removal of plates from our table and scrape remaining food into bins! No proper management of the restaurant, tables or customer service obvious: worse than 2 *.

Bar area standards have also diminished. Had to wait for up to 10 minutes at non-peak times for service.

Whilst the Hotel Royal remains a pleasant place to stay do avoid booking H/B options. Needs a managerial overhaul and better attention to customer expectations if it ever hopes to re-establish former 4 * status. It is a pity as we'll have to try somewhere else on our next trip now.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jm1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

stayed here 1st week september, really enjoyed our stay. Staff very helpfull always willing to help .The rooms were very clean with good views from the balcony towards the sea. The hotel is well placed near to the old town and close to shops and bars, but still quiet on a night. Unlike some others we found the food to be of a good quality and hot.Always something we could choose , even trying the local foods . we would reccomend this hotel to couples as there is little for young children available. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We have stayed here two years running now and the place is fantastic. The staff are friendly, rooms clean and modern and in a good location.

The pool is a decent size and the bar is not over expensive.

I would recommend the Royal and will be going back again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DA781109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

Just returned from a 10 night stay at The Royal. What a lovely small hotel. We were in a group of 4 couples and the only problem we had with anything was with bar snacks at lunchtime. We tried once and it was not good so didn't try again. Hotel could improve on this. Was not too much of a problem as there are plenty of places nearby to eat anyway. Would go back as everything else was perfect, lovely rooms, food etc.and spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank musicalspiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Stayed here last October with friends and returning with the same friends 8th October 2011, this visit we have chose the superior rooms. This will be our 13th holiday in Benidorm the Hotel Royal has been properly refurbished.with friendly staff and good food.
The only other Hotels in Benidorm we would return are the Maderia Centro and Flamingo Oasis.
We are looking forward to meeting the staff again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ColinAileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked this hotel after reading all the enthusiastic reviews. Most of the basics were spot on (clean, modern, comfortable beds, lovely pool, great location for the old town, excellent breakfasts). What let the hotel down in my opinion was the evening meal & the curious lack of character of the hotel and the fact that the pool is often sheltered from the sun by the tall buildings around it.

Firstly the main meal was dreary, much of it "bought-in" rather than freshly prepared eg. potato croquettes (frozen). The soups were awful like dishwater. Salads were boring - in fact most of the meals lacked imagination and had been left out for long periods so were lukewarm quite often. I suspect the hotel employs cooks rather than chefs who take pride in their work so if I could offer advice it would be get a decent chef in to revamp the food.

Regarding the character, the hotel mainly caters for elderly folk who like to sit around all day in the lounges, so if you're young and looking for entertaining clientele to meet with and form friendships then this is not the place for you.

The hotel Agua Azul next door often has very noisy entertainment until about midnight which was annoying.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvmyhols_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
1,433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
2,420 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas by Melia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,561 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#52 of 192 in Benidorm
4,225 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
Hotel Benidorm Plaza
#27 of 192 in Benidorm
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Royal

Address: Via Emilio Ortuno 11, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £50 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the centre of Benidorm the modern Hotel RH Royal provides all the peace & quiet of a comfortable, hospitable hotel which is exclusively designed for adults. The Hotel RH Royal offers its guests a peaceful atmosphere and personalised service. Spacious exterior-facing rooms with large balconies all equipped with a 33'' led HD TV, hair dryer, free Wi-fi & mini bar. Restaurant-buffet serving a wide range of International & Mediterranean cuisine. Modern & comfortable lounge bar/salon to relax whilst enjoying your favourite drink. There is also an Internet corner located in the bar area. Spacious pool area with sun beds to take in the sun and relax, solarium and outdoor jacuzzi (from May). In the terrace area you can make the most of the night time shows, dances and entertainment during the summer months and to stay in shape during you holiday: Free sauna & Gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Arena Dorada, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Splitty, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel RH Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing