We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel. Not perfect but good value 4 star.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel RH Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel RH Royal
Ranked #7 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great Hotel. Not perfect but good value 4 star.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

Really good 4 star hotel. Not perfect but for what we paid excellent.
The staff are all very friendly and do all they can to help. Reception derserve a special mention for all the assistance and information they gave us during our stay.
The food is varied and of a good quality. While we were there it was always pipeing hot and checked at regular intervals.
The hotel is spotless throughout, they always seem to be cleaning.
The rooms are spacious and carpeted and the maids do a very professional job with fresh towles daily. We found the beds to be very comfy. Our room was supplied with a kettel and tea coffee and milk, enough for two of each but you can get extra at breakfast time if like us you enjoy more than two cups a day. There is a hairdryer in the bathroom and ample supplies of shampoo and shower gel.
The room has T.V with sky news and Movies for men 1 and 2 in English.
The pool area is fairly large for the size of the hotel and kept spotless. Plenty of sunbeds and seats but you do have to play musical chairs to keep in the sun at this time of year.
We are both disabled and when around the pool the bartender would always bring the drinks out to us often with Tapas, we thought this was very good and saved me staggering along spilling drinks. All drinks are a good quality and a fair price. Small beer or a sprite 1.75 € and they have most well known brands of spirits and beer..
The only negatives at the hotel and I am being a little nit picking were ;
(1) The entertainment was dire and aimed mainly at the Spanish Friday and week ends. This time of year it is all held in the sister hotel across the road Hotel Victoria. At week ends the Hotel Victoria is a nightmare mainly full of Spanish famlies with lots of screaming children running all over the place. Thank god we were not booked in to Hotel Victoria.
Hotel Royal does have an influx of Spanish at week ends but while we were there what few children they brought were either toddlers or older teenagers and all seemed well behaved.
I would not reccomend this hotel for young familys but for single people or the elder generation it is nearly perfect.

(2) Wifi. The base is at the sister hotel Victoria so the signall is really only acceptable in the reception and bar area.

(3) My other gripe was that some of the restaurant staff seem to be in need of food hygiene
training. On two seperate days during evening dinner the same waiteress dropped a number of knives and forks on the floor. Instead of throughing them into the dirty bin she replaced them back in the orange draw with the other clean cuttlery. Also on a number off occasions glasses were picked up with their fingers inside the glass when setting table.
I did report this to the hotel and it was addressed but the waiteress in question denide that she had done this. Having said this she never did it again so maybe a result.

The Hotel Royal is in a excellent position for all the amenaties in Benidorm. 5 min from the old town,10 min from the sea and close to all bus routes. A Taxi to the new part or open air market (Sun and Wed) is about 6.0 €.
We would definatly return to this hotel and hope to do so later in the year.
Thank you Hotel Royal staff for a great spring break.

Room Tip: Afternoon sun on the front of the hotel but there is some traffic noise on the lower floors. Rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank neilcmerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    784
    311
    81
    19
    10
See reviews for
187
714
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (402)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Stockwith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed here for a week in october and had a good time in this hotel. The room was good and the hotel is well placed for the old town but in a nice quiet area. I would reccommend it. Breakfast was very good and we got a good deal on the price. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: A higher floor is good for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lezconnecting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tees Valley
Level Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Just returned from a family holiday to the hotel Royal, Benidorm. As a TripAdvisor regular I'd carefully researched a choice of hotel based on others' observations.

This is a small hotel by Benidorm standards and benefits from a more personal service, friendly staff who have clearly been there for years and a good location over the bridge straight onto 'walking street' in the Old Town. It's in a vibrant area, is a popular with Spanish guests and is absolutely IMMACULATE! The cleaning staff do a superb job especially in the public areas.

There has been much discussion about the quality of food in the Royal and I have to say we found it to be excellent! The dining experience was always relaxing, unhurried and we personally loved the choice and quality of food. It lacks the hustle and bustle of other hotels, the choice is slightly reduced but we preferred having everything in one place and never at any time was the food cold.

We stayed in the one junior suite the hotel has and the reason for my title refers to the deficiencies we found in this 'suite'. Whilst it is described as a suite, it is in fact 2 bedrooms sharing a bathroom and each room has a balcony. Ideal arrangement to take our adult son. The suite is situated at the end of the hotel on the 9th floor so limited sea view. It's important to point out that I did discuss these issues with reception staff whilst there because I do not subscribe to the 'post and run' approach. I wanted to give the hotel the opportunity to address the issues.

The hotel cannot be held responsible for any external noise and nor would we expect them to. In fact the road noise did not overly bother us as much as the squealing seagulls that seem to nest on the top of this room...it was like having howling dogs on the balcony from 4am! We concluded it was their mating season!
The rooms are kept at 22 degrees at this time of the year and some days and nights we found the rooms stifling. Staff advised that this couldn't be altered, the air con is centrally regulated and not available. The biggest problem we had was a constant 'drone' in the room which sounded like a permanent fan running or a generator. At 3am the noise intensified and it was like sleeping in a spin drier! We discussed this with staff who had their handyman look into it to no avail.

There is no sitting area in the suite...the second bedroom has one sturdy camp bed, a bedroom chair and rather dangerously a large plate glass coffee table next to the bed. That needs removing for safety reasons. The only storage is the one wardrobe in the main bedroom with two drawers between us. We found that inadequate. The fridge is handy but inexplicably the room has a desk which serves no purpose. The wifi signal could not be received in this room which was a major issue for my son but it was available in the public areas and possibly rooms on lower floors.

The bath had a large black chip out of it and the shower couldn't be regulated...it was either red hot to freezing cold without changing the temperatures. Made for an unpredictable shower because the water pressure fluctuated alarmingly.

The one tv was on the wall in the main bedroom. However the sound control for the British news channel was faulty so we couldn't hear it. We reported it but it was not repaired. I suspect the tv needs replacing and it was Easter.

I'm outlining these deficiencies in the hope that they can be addressed because with some technical attention this 'suite' could actually be very good. I'm not so sure that the droning sound can be addressed however, it seems like the piping near to this room. Maybe it wouldn't be so noticeable if the air con was actually on.

Despite these issues (which are not really acceptable in a 4 Star hotel), this is a very pleasing place to stay. The communal areas, food, pool area, staff, Happy Hour and location are brilliant. The rooms let it down for us and I think the interior decorator had a fetish for the colour brown!

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter but have little view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank julesTeesValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

enjoyed our stay at hotel royal.staff very helpful and friendly.good selection of food in restaurant.very much a family type hotel i.e free from stag and hen parties.rooms are spacious and very clean beds very comfortable .good size balconies.situated in good place between old town and resort.not too far from beach.will recommend to friends and certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: we had room at rear of hotel.no sun in morning but got sun till sunset in evening.good for that chil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

Just back from a short break stay at the Hotel Royal, & was suitably impressed. Excellent location for everything, very clean and tidy throughout, and staff helpfull & efficient. Hotel happy hour is great value for money and special mention to the hard working Gloria in the bar, for whom nothing was too much trouble. We were half board & while there was plenty of variety in the restaurant, some of the quality was slightly short of the mark, (lamb chops as tough as old leather) Having said that, all in all, a really good hotel to which i would have no hesitation in recomending or returning .

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank carNottinghamUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

I and 3 friends have just spent a week at the Hotel Royal. We had 2 twin rooms. My room was very comfortable and clean. It had twin beds (very comfortable), 2 easy chairs, TV, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities with tea, coffee, cream. A nice balcony overlooked the street. The bathroom had toilet, bidet, bath and overbath shower. There were dispensers for shampoo and liquid soap. Towels were white and fluffy. The bedroom was carpetted which I understand is unusual in Benidorm. The room was rather warm and it wasn't possible to reduce the temperature with the air conditioning controls in the room. We left the window open for the whole week. Overall the room was great.
We had half board at the hotel. I don't eat meat. The hotel was made aware of this and offered to put on extra vegetarian food but there as no sign of it during the week. I do eat fish and there was always 2 hot fish dishes each day at dinner so I managed with that. The salad bar was very limited and sometimes there was cold fish on the salad bar. I found the food a little boring and was glad to get home to eat something different from fish. For vegetarians, the option was cheese and tomato pizza available everyday.
For meat eaters, there was always 2 or 3 hot choices each meal.
Desserts were a little boring so I stuck to fresh fruit, bananas, pineapple, melon, pears, oranges available at breakfast and dinner.
Overall the food was well cooked but the choice was limited and if you are a vegetarian you will struggle.
Breakfast was varied, cereals, toast and rolls, bakery items, ham, salami, cheese, eggs, bacon, sausages, mushrooms, beans, fresh fruit, yoghurts, fruit juice, etc. Very acceptable.
The bar ran Happy Hour twice a day and offered some good deals.
Staff were very pleasant throughout the hotel.
The hotel had a sister hotel, the Best Western Victoria across the street and staff were interchangeable.
The hotel is quite centrally located just on the Levante side of the old town, near the bottom of the park.
Overall, a very nice hotel, great rooms, but disappointing on the food front. Despite the food, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank knapsack69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

we´ve stayed in a few hotels in Benidorm & this is the best we´ve stayed in. Food is great, staff are friendly and the rooms are very good.
The location is great for exploring the whole of Benidorm although there is a bit of a hill from the beach

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sally h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#35 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,526 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#10 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#11 of 191 in Benidorm
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,743 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Venecia Hotel Boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Royal

Property: Hotel RH Royal
Address: Via Emilio Ortuno 11, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the centre of Benidorm the modern Hotel RH Royal provides all the peace & quiet of a comfortable, hospitable hotel which is exclusively designed for adults. The Hotel RH Royal offers its guests a peaceful atmosphere and personalised service. Spacious exterior-facing rooms with large balconies all equipped with a 33'' led HD TV, hair dryer, free Wi-fi & mini bar. Restaurant-buffet serving a wide range of International & Mediterranean cuisine. Modern & comfortable lounge bar/salon to relax whilst enjoying your favourite drink. There is also an Internet corner located in the bar area. Spacious pool area with sun beds to take in the sun and relax, solarium and outdoor jacuzzi (from May). In the terrace area you can make the most of the night time shows, dances and entertainment during the summer months and to stay in shape during you holiday: Free sauna & Gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RH Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing