We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - our room was spacious”
Review of Hotel RH Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel RH Royal
Ranked #7 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel - our room was spacious”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Just returned from a week at the Hotel Royal which we booked after reading lots of positive things on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed - but will agree with comments on the variety of food served at evening meal. We had pizza four times and kebab meat and wraps twice, but no spaghetti served with the meatballs. Having said that the fresh fruits and salads were lovely and we did not go hungry. On booking I requested a room with a pool view, which we got but round the back rather than the side. This room was spacious, with plenty of storage and was cleaned daily. All the staff were friendly and when our balcony got puddles from the rain it was cleared in an hour.
The hotel is in a lovely position - if you are going to soak up the sun start your day at the 'steps' end of the pool and then move across to the left. You loose about an hour while the sun passes the Hotel Victoria. In the afternoon the terrace above the gym is best.

Room Tip: As you face the hotel, rooms at the front or left hand side will get the most sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Lucy,

Firstly please accept my apologies for not responding sooner, for some reason I thought I had. Thank you for taking time to write a review after your stay at the Hotel RH Hotel.

It’s very nice to hear that you were not disappointed after reading positive reviews on tripadvisor. Your comments were duly noted.

I agree that the Hotel is in a lovely position and ideal for those who like to be close to the “Old Town”, beach, shops, restaurants etc…

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future and once again thank you for your time in writing this review,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    329
    87
    19
    10
See reviews for
192
750
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Stayed at the Royal 22nd to 29th September 2012. Location is excellent for Old Town and beach and about a 10/15 min walk to the new town. Everywhere is spotlessly clean and staff are very pleasant and helpful. Rooms have tea/coffee making facilities which was great for my husband who drinks coffee at all hours of the day! Small mini-mart close by to pick up water etc. Plenty of choice in the restaurant. In the week I was there I didnt see any black pudding or hotdogs for evening meal. I did see fresh fish and veg, chicken, stews, pasta. Pizza and chips are also available if that's what you like but there are plenty of other things to choose from. I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and if I am ever in Benidorm again I would choose to stay here.

Room Tip: Front of hotel gets the sun all day. Very little at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank horace001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 26 October 2012
Hello Horace001,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel RH Royal and taking time to write a review on your return.

It is nice to be able to make a cup of tea or coffee at any time, especially first thing in the morning. Out hotel is very clean and thank you for mentioning our helpful and pleasant staff, along with plenty of choice in our restaurant.

I am very pleased you are recommending our hotel and yes if ever you are in Benidorm again, you will receive a very warm welcome from us all,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

It was my husband first time in Benidorm, he loved it so much we will be back next year.
The receptionists were very helpful and polite, when we went for our meals the waiters was also polite. My husband is a very fussy eater but always found something to eat that he enjoyed, plenty of choice .The hotel was exceptionally clean, rooms spotless. We was only 5mins away from the old town and 15 mins to the lively part of Benidorm. If you want a good night's sleep this is the hotel so quiet.

Room Tip: ask for a higher floor , we was on the 6th and i am a light sleeper but was so quiet after midnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Hello Christine,

Thank You very much for your recent review of the Hotel RH Royal.

I am delighted to hear that you loved the Hotel so much you will be back next year. I will of course share your review with the staff, they will be equally pleased.

Thank You for pointing out that we had plenty of choice of our buffet and that you enjoyed the food, even your Hubby being a choosey eater!

Location is great and I am pleased you slept well whilst you were here,

See you next year,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Hotel Royal is badly let down by its food. The buffet quality and choice are very poor, in fact the worst we have ever seen in a 4-star hotel. There is no a la carte menu. The evening buffet 'selection' usually includes re-heated breakfast left-overs (sausages, black pudding, hot dogs for EVENING meal). You are also offered pizza slices and chicken nuggets and potato crisps. Almost nothing was hand-made. Bread and snacks were from the local supermarket. Even soups (cream vegetable and sea-shells soup) were from a can!!! You could taste it. The choice of dessert was very poor. Prepacked Nestle ice-cream and other sweets were from the supermarket again. One 'pudding' consisted of a digestive biscuit put in custard!! My husband, who knows nothing about cooking, could have done this! :-) By the second day we both had diarrhoea. When we complained to the manager, she explained that "this is only a small hotel! Go to "Don Pancho" if you were happier there!" We wish we had gone there again.

In other respects the hotel is reasonable, in a fairly good location and with friendly staff, however, the rooms are quite small, well below 4-star standards.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 26 September 2012
Hello Mrs G,

Thank You for sharing your thoughts on the Hotel RH Royal.

I am sorry you feel let down by the food and are of the opinion that it is from the local supermarket, which of course is not true.
I must also add that soups are fresh and not from a can. Whilst I respect your opinion, our scores for food are good. That said we welcome feedback and are constantly making changes and improvements to our services.

On the subject of complaining to the Manager, it appears you have exaggerated what she actually said and it was certainly not to go to another hotel.

On a positive note I thank you for pointing out we have friendly staff,

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Group of 8 men stayed for four nights from 12th Sept on golfing break. Rooms were of good standard and cleaned everyday and coffee and tea making facilities. However the food wasnt anywhere near the same standard. I stayed with my partner in the Calypso Hotel in the 1st week of August 2012 and the food quality and choice was superb. Management should take a look at how they do it and take a leaf out of their book. The sweets were almost the same every night with a coconut flavoured moose EVERY night. That apart there was enough on offer that you didnt go hungry. The bar and reception staff were very friendly and there was a happy hour twice a day although we only used it at night. The pool area was nice although small although one morning my coffee cups that I had left around 10am were still sitting at 5pm. If you are a sunworshipper the Victoria hotel opposite and the Royal itself block the sun out for lenghty periods during the day. All in all not a bad hotel but a little more attention to detail is required for a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dessie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Hello Dessie,

Sincere thanks for reviewing the Hotel RH Royal. I hope your golfing break was enjoyable.

Thank you for feeding back your opinion of the hotel, we have taken note of the points you have made and will review them all.

I am pleased you found the rooms to be of a good standard and that you enjoyed that tea and coffee making facilities, not all hotels have provide them.

If you can spare a moment please visit our RH Hotels facebook page and vote for the name of our new “British Pub”, opening soon.

Thank you for choosing RH Hotels and we hope to be able to welcome you back again soon,

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

This was our 2nd stay at the lovely hotel royal. We love this hotel as it is quite small only 9 floors unlike most hotels in Beni which are high rise. The hotel is lovely and quiet, with plenty of sun beds at whatever time of day you get to the pool. The staff work very hard to keep the hotel spotlessly clean. Check in was quick, safe in the room was free, tea and coffee making facilities in the room and a fridge to keep some cold drinks. Free wifi, also. I am quite a fussy eater and I never had a problem at all finding a meal in the evening, in fact sometimes there was so much choice I couldn't decide what to have. There was always lovely salads, pasta, pizza, chicken, fish, even Sirloin steak which was lovely. The chefs were always checking and replenishing the food. The dining room was never busy, so no queues and and very relaxing unlike some larger hotels I have stayed in where they are busy and noisy. I would have no doubt in recommending this hotel to family and friends, although maybe not for children as the pool is deep (couldn't stand in it) and they haven't got any other facilities for children. Upon checking out we were given a bottle of water for our journey, which was a nice touch. The Royal is a superb hotel, and we can't wait to go back, very soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of hotel get the sun in the evening, lovely whilst having a sundowner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musicalspiers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Dear Guest from Oxfordshire,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hotel RH Royal once again and for writing a review to share with fellow travellers.

It is great to hear that you “love the Hotel” and the fact that it is small and quiet. Our staff do as you say work very hard to keep the place clean and give a great service.

I am pleased you enjoyed the food and although being a fussy eater you still had plenty to choose from. We have made and continue to make changes to the buffet and I am happy that you found plenty of variety mentioned above.

Looking forward to welcoming you back, please visit our “RH facebook page” to vote for the name of our new “British Pub”, opening soon,


Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Hotel was ok but thought it was 3 star not the 4 rated, staff were friendly and not over powering, happy hours were a great idea although the selection of drinks was limited but ok.
Room was clean and the service staff were excellent.
On the downside the food was mediocre and COLD never had anything hot when were eat there tended to opt for meals out as a result of this.
Location was fantastic, 4-5 mins to Levante beach and the same to the "Old Town", selection of restaurants was brilliant.

Tony & Shirley

Room Tip: Found the Supreme room was no different to a normal room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAKJAK010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RH-HotelsBenidorm, Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Good Morning from a warm and sunny Benidorm. Thank you for reviewing the Hotel RH Royal.

I am sorry to hear that you don’t think the hotel is 4*, although I am pleased that you found the service and staff excellent.

I have taken note of the food being cold, although we don’t recall you mentioned this whilst you were here. Feedback is vital to us and we will take this on board.

I am sure the location was fantastic; we are in a very central location for the beach, shops, bars and restaurants. Please take a minute of your time to vote for the name of our new “British Pub” on our facebook page, due to open soon.

Thank You and we hope to be able to welcome you back again in the future.

Kindest Regards

Ana Martinez – Manager

Hotel RH Royal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#38 of 192 in Benidorm
6,781 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,655 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#11 of 192 in Benidorm
1,930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,370 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Royal

Property: Hotel RH Royal
Address: Via Emilio Ortuno 11, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the centre of Benidorm the modern Hotel RH Royal provides all the peace & quiet of a comfortable, hospitable hotel which is exclusively designed for adults. The Hotel RH Royal offers its guests a peaceful atmosphere and personalised service. Spacious exterior-facing rooms with large balconies all equipped with a 33'' led HD TV, hair dryer, free Wi-fi & mini bar. Restaurant-buffet serving a wide range of International & Mediterranean cuisine. Modern & comfortable lounge bar/salon to relax whilst enjoying your favourite drink. There is also an Internet corner located in the bar area. Spacious pool area with sun beds to take in the sun and relax, solarium and outdoor jacuzzi (from May). In the terrace area you can make the most of the night time shows, dances and entertainment during the summer months and to stay in shape during you holiday: Free sauna & Gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Arena Dorada, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RH Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing