We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Hotel RH Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel RH Royal
Ranked #7 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
manchester - England - UK
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 25 May 2010

we had a week here at this hotel...wish we could have stayed another 3 / 4nights
an excellent location...

the rooms are very nice and cleaned every day.....good storage space and full length sliding mirrors to wardrobes/ clean towels every day and a good shower.

the food is excellent.....ive been a chef for many years and have ate in places all over the world.....this food is very very good.....yes i do believe some of it is brought over from the western across the road....we watched it being brought over in correct storage containers etc.....

at meal times we never encountered any food temp probs.....the salad was ever so cold as you would expect an the 'hot' food was good choices......this hotel is not your typical benidorm hotel....like...down at the other end of the 'strip'......its like a boutiqe hotel / quite nice and quite and very clean.....the food is of a mediteranean style....with lots of Spanish also at this hotel / and Dutch .


we had full board and did not eat out at all.....the choice was excellent.

the wines were of good quality and a very good house rose for 7.50 euros or a rioja reserva for 10 euros

2 for 1 ...at lunchtime and 7pm - 9pm prices were excellent 2 beers and 2 very large martini and sprite = 4 . 20 euros

supplies with iron and iron board in room

and also reqested tea tray with cups/ tea /sugar and kettle in room......all we did was ''ask''......

our room on the 3rd floor was on the street view......not too much noise .....just a few late night revellers ..nothing too unusual......but did not last all night....

the pool is nice and clean but not child friendly ...quite deep.
there were some small children at the hotel but very well behaved and very good in the dining room at meal times

since our return i have looked at the thomsom web site and this hotel is not coming up for next year...i have yet to ring them...but is available on independent web sites....we will def come back to this hotel.

10/10 for a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank choc56uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal-benidorm, Director General at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Dear coc56uk
Many thanks for your very detailed and positive review. Obviously it makes us very proud, receiving your compliments. But also make us strive even more.
You are right when you write that the pool is not very “children friendly”. In fact, the Hotel Royal is not specialised in children. The rooms only allow up to 3 people, the hotel lack on space for children playground, and moreover our sister hotel Best Western Victoria, just opposite the street, has plenty of children’s facilities. But obviously we are glad to welcome also families.
I’m glad you mention our “not appearance in Thomson web”. In fact, Thomson did not renew the contract with us¿? But there are many ways to book our hotel. Please don’t hesitate contacting directly with us, if you have any problems.
Kind regards,
Stefan Trachsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    328
    87
    19
    10
See reviews for
191
750
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2010

Been to Benidorm a few times and usually stayed at the other end of Benidorm away from the old town, near the Square & its shows etc. This hotel we found to be in a perfect location as we didnt want to be @ the shows every night. It took us about five minutes to walk down into the old town & to Tapas Alley (Santa Domingo St I think) & a comfortable ten minutes walk the other way to Jumping Jacks, Broadway etc.
The hotel is very clean, nicely furnished a good size pool for a small hotel & a sun deck with plenty of sunbeds. We only had breakfast in the hotel and we found the choice & quality good. Remember to ask for the tea & coffee making facilities when you check in as they were not in the room and if we had not read previous reviews we would of assumed you did not get them. Rooms equipped with shower gel, shampoo, hairdryer, TV but limited to Sky News, lovely balcony, safe, mini fridge which we put our own beer in .Overall an excellent hotel & I am @ the moment looking at returning in July for week

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScunnyBunny666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal-benidorm, Director General at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 28 May 2010
Dear ScunnyBunny666
Thanks for the interesting information you have shared with other users of Tripadvisor.
I would be really glad to welcome you again in July. Have a nice time until then and receive our best regards,
Stefan Trachsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2010

Hello, we have just returned from a weeks break at the Hotel Royal Benidorm. Ideally located at the less noisy end of Benidorm, however in short walking distance of all the main attractions.
The rooms are clean and tidy and the decor is tasteful. A great sleep every night!
The food is great from the international buffet. There is plenty on offer for all tastes and how much or little you need.
We opted for half board for the breakfast and dinner options which were great. There is a different theme for dinner every night, eg indian, mexican italian etc.
In a word the hotel is spotless, everywhere you look there are staff cleaning and mantaining its high standards.
Service from the bar was also top notch, they will happily bring drinks to your table on a tab basis where you can settle at the end. In the evening from 7pm there is a happy hour where it is 2 drinks for 1!
The hotel offer entertainment at night which was always packed, a great sign.
We also hired a car whilst there for a day, again the reception dealt with all this efficiently!
All in all a relaxing break, a great time and will definitely be back at some point.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rumblebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2010

just got back from royal hotel and throughly enjoyed it, location is fab, staff are great, and cleaniness is brill. We will be returning here again without hesitation. Brilliant value, foods really nice couldnt fault a thing.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helscoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The hotel Royal looks new and shiny with it's refurb, location is very good but less can be said for the very THIN walls. We could hear next door snoring and other antics during our stay! The food in the dinning room is luke warm, rarely hot and definatley something that needs attending to; most 4* hotels have a cooking station this one has not, Food is cooked in the sister hotels (Benidorm Plaza and Victoria) and pushed acrossed the road on trolleys, it is then put in the dining room kept luke warm for several hours! The dinning room staffs mood is variable and PMTish however the reception staff were very helpful.
This hotel RAISED it's rates to over triple when people were stuck we only returned ourselves at 3am this morning, after being stranded for 5 days.
As part of Best Western both my daughter and I thought this was a disgrace, our bed linen was never changed nor were our towels for the entire duration of our stay. The room was not hoovered/dusted for at least 5 days. The hotel did not always give out the new information passed through from carriers for their guests contributing to the difficulties. Alas we would not stay at this hotel again nor any other Best Western Hotel on principle.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal-benidorm, General Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Dear leggie
We appreciate all our guests’ reviews which is a great help for us. I accept your comments about the thin walls and the food. However, in the short term there is nothing we can do concerning the thin walls. Referring to the food, as mentioned in other replies, we have the problem in hand.
Concerning some points of your review, I would like to give my side of the story.
Firstly, I would like to remind you that I personally spoke to you on Monday morning and offered my assistance. You informed me about the reservation you did through the internet. Conscious about the difficult situation of our guests at that moment, I decided to give a special price to all the independent clients who were obliged to prolong their stay. In your case, we even assured, that the difference of 20€ you over paid in Laterooms was returned. This resulted in a very economic price of 60€ per day per room full board and this is obviously not the triple of our prices.
Secondly, it is correct that the food is prepared in our centralised kitchen (with all the correct licenses) in the Best Western Hotel Victoria, but the Benidorm Plaza Hotel has no connection with us. It’s a different company.
Thirdly, I should inform you that, the Best Western brand has nothing to do with the Hotel Royal, although they both have the same owner. Next, we dispute that your bed linen and towels where not changed. In fact we change towels every day, when guests leave them in the bath. Your bed linen was changed mid stay and our rooms are cleaned daily.
Regards
Stefan Trachsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LIncoln
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

Spent a week here after Easter. We were very happy with our choice, a cut well above the usual Benidorm standards. Agree with what has been said before, pleasant helpful staff, very clean throughout, good proximity to old town and the beach. I had requested a low floor room which we got but it had a shower. I prefer a bath and they were happy to change our room when one with a bath became available a couple of days later - the hotel was full. The food was very tasty, fish night was particularly good, but they did appear to have problems with keeping food hot. (used microwave a few times). However by the time we left they were well on their way to resolving the problems, and our last few meals were hot as were the plates. It was also so nice to get a decent hot cup of tea and coffee at breakfast, somewhat lacking in Spanish hotels. First time I've not needed my own teabags!! Together with the free drinks at main meals and 241 in the bar, extra room facilities free of charge, we had a really great time. If we return to Benidorm we will certainly return, and are more than happy to recommend the Royal.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LIncolnToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal-benidorm, General Manager at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Dear LincolnToots
Thank you for giving your time in contributing to Tripadvisor. This helps us to verify our level of services and obviously a good review like yours is beneficial. We acknowledge the problem with the food temperature and are doing our upmost to solve it. However, a buffet is more difficult to maintain a high temperature.
Glad to hear that you appreciated our upgrades we introduced this winter, and we will certainly offer these again next winter.
Would be nice to see you again.
Regards
Stefan Trachsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester england
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2010

3rd time here even better now food great staff brilliant hotel spotless best value for money we have had in benidorm been too benidorm at least 40 times we rate this the best hotel in good location not noisy has in the new town which can be cant wait back in november for the fiesta.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedr0pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
royal-benidorm, Director General at Hotel RH Royal, responded to this review, 27 April 2010
Dear pedr0pete
What more can I say than a big THANK YOU. This is a really fantastic review and as you can see, we are doing our best to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible. Moreover we know that things can go wrong.
Hope to greet you personally in November, just ask for me at the reception.
Kind regards,
Stefan Trachsel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
1.0 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
6,774 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Don Pancho
Hotel Don Pancho
#3 of 192 in Benidorm
1,653 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel RH Victoria
Hotel RH Victoria
#10 of 192 in Benidorm
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#11 of 192 in Benidorm
1,927 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,365 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riviera Beachotel
Riviera Beachotel
#2 of 192 in Benidorm
2,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel RH Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RH Royal

Property: Hotel RH Royal
Address: Via Emilio Ortuno 11, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#5 Green Hotel in Benidorm
#6 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#10 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel RH Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the centre of Benidorm the modern Hotel RH Royal provides all the peace & quiet of a comfortable, hospitable hotel which is exclusively designed for adults. The Hotel RH Royal offers its guests a peaceful atmosphere and personalised service. Spacious exterior-facing rooms with large balconies all equipped with a 33'' led HD TV, hair dryer, free Wi-fi & mini bar. Restaurant-buffet serving a wide range of International & Mediterranean cuisine. Modern & comfortable lounge bar/salon to relax whilst enjoying your favourite drink. There is also an Internet corner located in the bar area. Spacious pool area with sun beds to take in the sun and relax, solarium and outdoor jacuzzi (from May). In the terrace area you can make the most of the night time shows, dances and entertainment during the summer months and to stay in shape during you holiday: Free sauna & Gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Arena Dorada, Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel RH Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing