We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
Ranked #33 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This is a belated review due to other commitments and computer problems.
We have visited Benidorm several times over the years and were looking for a quiet all inclusive hotel in a different area and chose this one after reading the good reviews on trip advisor and also getting a good deal with Locostholidays.com.
It soon became apparent on our arrival at the hotel that we had made the right choice. The reception staff were friendly, welcoming and Chemi was very efficient checking us in and taking our photos for our all inclusive cards. The room requests we made prior to our arrival via email had been considered and we were more than satisfied.
Our room (3203) had a double bed, pool view, a nice balcony, ample storage space, a fridge and a well equipped bathroom with a full sized bath as well as complimentary toiletries. We found the bath a little slippery but on requesting a rubber bathmat from reception this was provided in no time at all.
We also had a flat screen TV, a radio unit and an electronic safe (payable locally).
The room was kept very clean by the friendly housemaids with regular changes of bed linen and towels and their tip was well deserved at the end of the holiday.
Their was a big communal lounge, bar and entertainment area comfortably furnished - tables and chairs in the bar and large comfy settees and chairs in the lounge area. Again all areas of the hotel were kept spotless.
There was payable internet stations available in the lounge area.
There was a good assortment of local drinks available in the all inclusive package and these were given in good measures on production of all inclusive ID cards - 1 per drink.
The biggest asset of the bar (in friendliness not size haha) had to be Teri (Teresa) who was always efficient, welcoming and a great source of fun. In fact all the bar staff including Jaime and Adrian were helpful and friendly.
The entertainment was also held in this area. This was organised by Josua (Hosway), some homegrown such as quizzes etc and you haven't lived until you have played the HOYHOY card game!!! Outside entertainment was also brought in including a singing duo, guitar boy, extreme acrobats, comedy acrobats and Polynesian dance act. (Terry got complemented on his Haka performance). Also Josua organised some daytime activities for families and children.
As far as the restaurant goes we found there to be plenty of choice for us at all meals. The selection of soups was excellent, there was a very good salad bar and a good variety of fresh fruit. There was also show cooking and the choice of sweets was good including custard and ice cream. The house wine was excellent and was served by the bottle but if not all used could be saved for the following meal with your room number put on.
The staff were lovely in the restaurant from the Maitre d' Gines and his deputy Antonio as well as waitresses Anoa, Carmen, Anna, Elena and Isabel and they were all really friendly and helpful. Many thanks to Antonio for helping us improve our Spanish.
We found for the time of year there was plenty of space and enough sunbeds around the outdoor pool. Again this area was kept clean at all times. Although in March it was too cold to use this pool it was of a good size.
There was an indoor pool with a jacuzzi at the end located through the mini shop. You had to wear swimcaps which can be purchased at the shop. There are also 2 saunas - one in the male changing room and one in the female changing room. It would have been nice to have a communal one also. Beach towels can be obtained for a refundable 10 euro deposit from reception and you are given a ticket to get your towel from the mini shop and can be exchanged on a regular basis.
It is not too far to walk to the new town and the beach but for those who need it there is a regular bus service passing the hotel to all areas of Benidorm and outlying areas and it is very reasonably priced.
We really enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TracenTez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,918)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

955 - 961 of 1,918 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have just returned from a week at this hotel. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the staff are all friendly, the entertainment is great for the kids but less so for adults, although the entertainment team work extremely hard. The food was good with plenty of variety every day, the situation with the snacks is a little silly in that they must be eaten in the restaurant and not taken to the pool. Also the card system for drinks would be better replaced with the band system that most hotels now operate. The major issue with this hotel is the fact that you have to be up before 7.00 a.m. to get a sun lounger or will spend your day sat on the tables and chairs away from the pool, which is no good if you have children you need to supervise in the water. Even at 7.00 a.m. you have to race to get a lounger as some people are there waiting from 6.30 a.m. (in their trainers, ready for the sprint) to ensure they get the best ones, there is even a security guard there to ensure that you do not cross the cordon before 7.00 a.m.. You feel very silly getting up this early but have to do it if you want to be able to lay by the pool. We, as most people, do not go on holidays to set an alarm to get up at 6.45 a.m. just to get a sun lounger. This factor really spoilt the holiday for us and would mean that we would not return to the hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I have just got back after being there for two weeks All the staff
are very friendly and make you feel really welcome the food is great they do have similar dishes on but there is a massive variety so unlike me having a little of everything if you had one main dish at meal times it would take ages to get through what is on offer on top of that there are different dishes on every meal time they also bring out a bottle of wine rather than by the glass which is great and they will put it away for you if you want to save some ( we didn't do that much ) the snack is similar it is really burgers sausages etc also they have fruit out almost all day and there is ice cream and yoghurt in the fridges in the room that you can get at any time. I have two young children ages 1 and 4 and they loved every min as did I and yes if you want a sun bed you need to get there early however we didn't bother as they have chairs and tables just 10 steps away from the pool with umbrellas which was great for us as the kids could play entertainment is average but it is ok for family's
I would defiantly go again !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassieHRW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned from a lovely stay at the Mediterraneo. Hotel was very clean and staff were polite and helpful. Family room was basic and a little cramped but on the positive side the room had the all important air conditioning. Food was always varied and of a high standard, but we did miss not having an omlette station for breakfast. Hey cant have it all!!!. The entertainment team did a fantastic job always, althought the adult entertainment in the evenings could be improved. All in all was a fantastic hotel and would have no hesitation in reccommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Just returned today from a 12 night stay at this hotel. I have gave 4/5 and this was a hard decision to make as they do somethings exellently.

1st of all the rooms are first class, modern and spacious and the air con is of a very good standard. The food is also exellent for an all inclusive hotel and to be honest it is the best all inclusive food i have ever had anywhere.

The issues I found was that there was not enough sunbeds for everyone which then ment everybody was up early standing at the tape to run for a bed as soon as the tape dropped, it was like the start of the Grand National. Also the card system for your all inclusive drinks is very poor. The staff all over the hotel work very hard but apart from reception and some of the bar staff, the others would give u the time of day!!!
The entertainment in the hotel was also very average.

This might look like a bad review but the good points out weighed the bad points because they were so good......

Room Tip: Corner Rooms have Larger Balconys
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cdjnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

Let me start with the good points, this hotel is. Extremely clean throughout. Rooms care. Exceptionally clean. And we'll equipped with television. Which we cold get approx. 10 English channels. Surrounding areas again very clean within hotel. Lady in the bar called Terri was so much fun, friendly, helpful and as important very pleasant. Check in quick but wouldn't say that friendly.

That's about it for the positives....

Hotel seems to believe everyone wants Fried English breakfast which isn't the case, there were croissants and bread but was stale , so not sure how long it had been out. Lots of fruit, however, flies have had their breakfast before we did. Coffee and tea was dreadful, the amount of people who took their own tea bags and Nutella was unbelievable.

Lunch was probably the best meal of the day, again lots of chips, stodge but not a lot of salad unless you liked everything with mayonnaise, no salad dressings at all! Healthy food was not in abundance.

Evening meal, lots of meat not cooked, we had pork kebabs for lunch, red in the middle totally undercooked, then evening meal pork steaks and to our disbelief again not cooked....my husband took his back for the chef to just put it back on the grill.....

Asked for omelette at breakfast to,be told "no I only fry eggs"

Restaurant staff so so rude, one waitress told us to have our water with evening meal in plastic cups and refused to give us glasses until I complained to the Manager.

Snacks, what a complete con..... All snacks were left over from the previous meal, none could be taken out of the restaurant, even a security guard in a night stopping kids from taking toasties out, totally ridiculous, my 9 year old was in tears, after the security guard took food off her and put it into the bin. Snacks should be allowed around the pool or outside at night.

No tea or coffee making facilities in the room, since you couldn't take out of restaurant the only other option was to take it out in a paper Pepsi cup, awful from the machines they used.

Now for the most embarrassing thing I've ever witnessed in my entire life.... SUNBEDS!
Oh. My god, my husband went down one morning, totally oblivious to the issues, came out of the lift to be faced with a queue of approx. 50 people and 2 security guards.
The sunbed area is taped off literally, until 7am precise, when the security guard removes the tape, grown men then sprinted to bag the best beds, how embarrassing, we have nevertheless ever witnessed anything like this. No where near enough sun beds for the size of this hotel.

Drinks, again compete farce, depending upon who served you, only 1 drink per. Card, max 2 drinks per person, absolutely ridiculous. We were in a party of 4 so 2 people had to go to the bar together, so really complete waste of time. I went to the Bar once and asked for 2 cokes and 1 water, only to be told I could only order 2 drinks and if I wanted the third I had to re join the queue.

Check out we handed our cards over, no thank you, how did you enjoy your stay, nothing, again very rude.

Entertainment, absolutely diabolical, never witnessed anything so bad, ever!
One night was OK, kids loved the snake one of the entertainers had.

Real shame about this hotel, very clean. But certainly not worth the money, they should go back to basics and attend a "customer is always right" course or at least basic manners.

Would not stay here again, not child friendly too many rules.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Our second visit, last here in 2011.
Overall it was as expected but with the following high and low points:
The Good bits.
The Hotel is well kept with everywhere clean and smart. The restaurant serves fantastic food well worthy of the 4 star standard. The restaurant staff all work very hard and are very efficient. The rooms are in good order; we asked for and got a room overlooking the Benidorm Palace, ideal for sitting out after sunset to watch life go by. The pool is clean and the water quality clear with very little debris. Reception is friendly and in our experience very helpful. The bars are well stocked, everything we asked for was available and you can pay extra for premium brands. The location is ideal for us, only 20 mins walk from the beach but quiet enough to chill out. The staff are friendly and helpful and always say 'you are welcome'. Towels are available for a £10 refundable deposit. The indoor lounge is big, clean and fully air conditioned with more than enough seating for all. We noticed that most of the staff were there 2 years ago - they must be doing something right. BBC News and SKy News available on the TV in the room and lounge area. Bottles of Wine included in the meals - these are only low end wines but ideal with a meal.

The Bad bits.
Sunbeds - we don't remember this being a major issue last time but this time it was awful. There are signs saying that towels are not allowed for reserving sunbeds but nobody observes them. A new rule was introduced on our second day stating you can put towels down at 7am, but no sooner. We got down at 07:15 to find all the beds gone. To make sure we got sunbeds for the family, we got up at 06:50 and joined the daily rush. Not ideal if you like a lie in. This spoilt our holiday experience.
Wi-Fi - £12 for a week! In these modern times this is a rip off. It should be included and available to all. There is free wifi in the Tropical Bar down the road.
Entertainment - This is not for adults. I'm sure families with kids find it ok but for adults, look elsewhere. The entertainment team are dated and doing the same dross as 2 years ago. We went out to the town for some entertainment most evenings. Not ideal for an All Inclusive deal.
ID Cards - You have to show your ID card for all drinks. There is a silly rule of only one drink per card and max of two cards per person at the bar. This means that for a family of three, two of you need to go to the bar to get three drinks! Why? You also need the card if you are buying a pack of crisps or peanuts from the bar - why?
Slush Puppy - the kids were disappointed because this year you have to pay extra, £1.50 a go, 2 years ago they wee included. They soon got used to having none.
Child ID Cards - my 17 year old daughter was not allowed 'large' drinks on her 'child' card, even if she was also getting me a soft drink from the bar. Come on, why? its already paid for!

Would we go again - no, because we are sure there are other hotels offering similar or better so we will not be returning. You could do a lot worse than stay here, overall we gor our money's worth.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the Benidorm Palace for evening sun and sitting out at night.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wyn r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
4,083 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,798 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#105 of 192 in Benidorm
2,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dynastic Hotel
Dynastic Hotel
#99 of 192 in Benidorm
2,071 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
#32 of 192 in Benidorm
2,621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#36 of 192 in Benidorm
7,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm

Address: Avda Dr Severo Ochoa 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#19 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#22 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £52 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm, one of the landmark hotels in the Rincón de Loix area of Benidorm accommodation for families, friends and couples who want to enjoy hosting a holiday all inclusive Benidorm, close to the best entertainment areas of the Costa Blanca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Benidorm
Mediterraneo Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing