We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - but needs to sort stroppy staff !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
Ranked #33 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Hawarden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nice hotel - but needs to sort stroppy staff !”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed for 4 days after being moved from Magic Aqua Rock as they no longer accept groups (13 of us )
Arrived after midnight and they had left plates of mixed salads for us with was lovely .
Hotel is clean and rooms are large and cleaned daily.
Pool area large but beds far too closely packed.
Food was lovely, fresh and lots of choice . Staff in restaurant were nice and friendly. However the majority of the bar staff were shocking ! (Save for Terri the female barmaid )
Enforced the two drink limit to the letter, even when there was nobody else around and no queues.
On one occasion , there was one man bring served and my friend walked up and leaned on the var next to him, she was told to move and queue behind the man being served , even though his order was almost finished and there was nobody else around ! Proper jobsworths !
Sort this problem and the hotel would be perfect !
Never walked into town as taxis were cheap enough and reception used to order us 4 per night

Room Tip: We had ground floor at back with a huge terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank PrincessFS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    826
    633
    254
    70
    47
See reviews for
880
475
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (490)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Me and my boyfriend recently got back from this hotel.
First impressions of the hotel was brilliant,
The room were really big, big mirrors in there, nice balcony, good space for storage, air con, flat screen tele with English channels. The pool was nice and big!
On a whole the hotel its self was excellent!!!

However! the staff were extremely rude! especially the restaurant staff! we felt like we couldn't ask for a drink! the whole week were there. not one person asked if our meal was okay!
If all inclusive you have a card each which you can only have one drink per person per card which is fair enough but if you went as a family of 5 you could only go up with 2 cards at a time! which didn't bother us because it was only us two! but I think for family's this is ridiculous that one person cant go up to the bar an get a round of drinks.
The food wasn't the best! is seems like poor quality! and no variety what so ever!!! just repeats of certain things! and deserts were absolutely crap!!!!

Also the pool did not open until 10.00am!! and shut at 6.00pm!!! the sunbeds were all pushed together so you had to end up lying next to someone you didn't know.. Also we wanted to try the indoor pool with the Jacuzzi you have to wear a swimming cap including men!! which they make you pay for 3 euro per cap!!!


The Entertainment was appalling! they would have been better just putting some music on and leaving at that! we were all inclusive and went out every night because the entertainment was that bad!! and the entertainment staff was one man on his own around his 50's which was very rude! and insisted on saying everything in French then Spanish then eventually English! where majority of the people were English

the only people I can say were helpful were the receptionists. The bar, restaurant staff were again appalling!!

We paid for Wi-Fi for 7 days which was 12 euro but only for one device!
and the safe was 20 euro.!

The cleaners were excellent every day we had fresh towels, we spilt a drink under the bed the next day it was gone so they mop and have everything out!

The hotel is lovely as well as the rooms and its so clean!!!
But the service of the staff , food , facilities, and entertainment were appalling if these issues were sorted out this hotel would be brilliant but there were just really poor!!!

Room Tip: Don't go all inclusive as the bar and restraint service is appalling! but the hotel is lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank slr1193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a week at the Mediterraneo. We had stayed at this hotel previously and when we returned to our room on the second day there was a bottle of champagne from the management to say thank you for returning. I have read on here that people have slated this hotel and the food but to be honest if there isn't anything to suit you then I really don't know what you are looking for.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Margaret R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed at this hotel 1st to the 8th of June 2014 and had a really nice holiday. The hotel is only three floors high which makes a nice change from the high rise hotels we have stopped in in the past. Nice clean hotel and very well run with excellent food, you will always find something to eat and it is very well prepared. We stopped in room 5107 which is on the first floor and overlooks the pool, the room was big bright and airy no complaints about the beds or sleep quality. The only 2 niggles during our stay was the hotel entertainment was very poor on several nights, but hey you are in Benidorm and you can easily take a short walk down the road to the bars for much better entertainment. The other thing was on the last day it said breakfast would be provided but this was not the case. Breakfast times were 8am until10 am and our pick up was 07.55, we went down for a bite to eat at 07.20 and there was nothing prepared at all, this was very disappointing as we had to wait until we got to Alicante airport and had to pay scandalous prices for food and drink. We would return again as we enjoyed the stay so much.

Room Tip: Pool view room is nice with no noise at all so a good sleep is assured...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Wales
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Very nice hotel, staff very friendly., food good, very clean.. Entertainment mainly catered for children which was a little disappointing , but no real problem ..Good location only a short walk or a bus ride into the centre,
Would recommend

Room Tip: Stayed in a room at the back of the hotel no issues , nice and quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jack148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from the hotel and very happy with everything when we where there.


Rooms

We had a pool facing view and the room was large and cleaned everyday. It has a fridge that is free but a safety deposit box that does require a payment. 2.50 euros a day so not too bad. Beds where big and bathroom and shower where spot on. Plenty of hot water.

Food

Breakfast started at eight and catered for the UK market so sausages, fried eggs and beans all around. They had a nice selection of breads and cheeses.

Lunch

Lunches ran from half one to half three I think and provided some lovely selection of fresh salads and freshly cooked meats and fish. You could get bottles of water, bottles of wine or a nice cool beer to stay refreshed. No complaints about the quality of the lunch and there was always something to keep the four of us fully filled up.

Dinner

Again a great selection of fish and meat meals to keep everyone happy. The free bottles of Rose seemed to keep our party very happy. Again we where all very happy with everything that was on offer for dinner each night.

Snack bar.

If you where hungry in-between meal times you could get burgers, hotdogs and pizza to keep you filled up but lunch and dinner was enough for us.

Pool area

The pool was lovely and we never had any issue getting four sun beds together. The water got warmer each day and once you where in you soon got used to it. I would say by middle June and July the pool will be perfect to cool down in.

They have a rule that no ball games or inflatables in the big pool which is strange. Little kids are allowed them in the kiddy pool thankfully.

Bars

There are two bars, one in the main building and one by the pool. As many people say the card system is a bit of a pain as you are always looking for your card to show and you are limited to one drink per card and one person could only get 2 drinks with 2 cards at a time so our party always had to send at least 2 people to the bar. The reason is to ensure that there is never a big queue and it did work but we missed our wrist bands as they where easier to find than always searching for our card.

Area

The hotel is facing the Benidorm palace. It's a nice 15 min walk to the beach with plenty of shops, bars and restaurants to stop into for a quick refreshment. It's in a nice area so quiet at night but not far to get into the hustle and bustle of town.

Final thoughts

I would recommend this hotel and would stay there again. The food was great, the location was just right and the sun shined the whole time. It would make a nice spot for a family break. The hotel staff where all very friendly and everyone had a helpful smile.

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking a relaxing break in Spain.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank ninjafrog808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Hotel Mediterraneo is just a bit outside the main centre of the city. This was my first time visiting the hotel and the first not staying in a high rise hotel. Me and my family stayed all-inclusive for 1 week back last year (June 2013).

The staff were very friendly and made the guests feel very accommodating. All with a smile and good at communicating with the guests. The room was large, very clean and came with a large balcony with English language channels on the TV. The food was delicious. Good mix of food in the afternoon and for the evening meal. For the bar you could only take 2 drinks at a time which was fine once you got use to it.

Would definitely come back in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room as you won't get noise from the traffic at the other side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Melia Benidorm
Melia Benidorm
#48 of 192 in Benidorm
3,851 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
Hotel Deloix Aqua Center
#28 of 192 in Benidorm
1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
Hotel Levante Club & Spa
#35 of 192 in Benidorm
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
Sol Pelicanos Ocas
#37 of 192 in Benidorm
6,774 reviews
0.5 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#44 of 192 in Benidorm
1,850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palm Beach Hotel
Palm Beach Hotel
#111 of 192 in Benidorm
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm

Property: Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm
Address: Avda Dr Severo Ochoa 16, 03503 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Benidorm
#19 Family Hotel in Benidorm
#21 Luxury Hotel in Benidorm
#27 Romantic Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm 4*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm, one of the landmark hotels in the Rincón de Loix area of Benidorm accommodation for families, friends and couples who want to enjoy hosting a holiday all inclusive Benidorm, close to the best entertainment areas of the Costa Blanca. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Onthebeach, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediterraneo Benidorm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediterraneo Hotel Benidorm
Mediterraneo Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing