We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stayed sept 2011”
Review of Hotel Joya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Joya
Ranked #93 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“stayed sept 2011”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

booked the joya as a late summer deal,very spanish (but then you are in spain)breakfast great,check in easy.all staff spoke english.but chuckled at my attempt to speak spanish (i always try even if its benidorm,sometimes its pointless because in any tourist destination in the world people speak english.walk down the hill and turn right for old town.left for english mad house square.my tip catch the number ten bus to altea ,then have a pleasent stroll to albir.fantastic little place with an uncrowded beach.and try the bar called (tapas bar)in albir for chilled beer in chilled glasses and tapas for two for 10 euros.we would stop at the joya again,as its clean cheap and not noisy.

Room Tip: front near pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stannyManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    166
    97
    37
    27
See reviews for
88
155
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

We have just had 3 nights 22nd-25th of sept, arrived at midnight greeted and checked in efficiently. rooms basic but spotless and cleaned everyday, clean bedding and towels. Hotel amenities very good. Hotel is a good ten minutes walk to beach/centre of benidorm but is a nice stroll, unless you dont have the use of your legs you will not need a taxi or bus you would spend more time waiting about than anything else. didnt go on holiday to watch tv so was irrelevant, rooms had air con, which ive had to pay for on a lot of more expensive hotels. staff all speak English so no problems there. Requested a balcony and pool view which I got could not hear any traffic and right on roadside. Continental breakfast was pretty basic but its so cheap to eat in town its not a problem. Lovely pool area cleaned every morning. We only paid £20 each for b&b total bargain for a lovely little hotel, if people want more they should put there hands in their pockets! Wouldnt hesitate to stop again.

Room Tip: request balcony and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gemma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debzy1987
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Myself and my Boyfriend (both 24yrs old) stayed at the Joya for 1night on the 23rd of September. We drove from Quesada near Torreveja and found the hotel straight away as it is a few minutes from the motorway. We Parked our car in the secure car park which cost us 6Euros for the one night and then made our way to check in. The check in staff stood and spoke to each other casually and ignored us for about 5mins before dealing with us and welcomed us to - 'Yes??' - even though we had a case and it was obvious we were checking in they didnt seem at all inviting.As we arrived early our room wasnt ready which wasnt a problem as we were going to Terra Mitica, We purchased our tickets from reception for 27Euro each (at the park gates it was 49E!!) the hotel told us where to get the bus from also which was a minute walk and 3euros for us both and got us there in 10mins.

When we arrived back at the hotel the staff had changed over and i asked for our room key (401) but as we hadnt checked the room i hadnt been told where it was to which i got told cheekily --- eh take the lift..4th floor! like i was stupid.

Our room was right beside the lift which to be fair we never heard any noise from at night. as it had been a long day walking about we went for a short sleep which was disturbed by next doors talking, they were not talking at high volume but i could hear everyword as the walls are paper thin!! Hotel room was very basic but very clean, exactly what we expected as we only paid £49 from Alpharooms. toilet was spotless and provided hand sanitiser,shampoo and shower gel aswell as plenty of clean towels.Air con did work but wasnt very strong.

As we were getting ready my boyfriend went to the bar to use the 2 for 1 drinks voucher we had been provided but was refused as he ordered cocktails but the voucher didnt state which drinks. He then went to reception to ask to hire an Iron to which he was told 'sorry someone has it and we only have one' - this is a joke, the hotel didnt even have a note of who had it to see if they were finished, luckily his shirt wasnt too bad to wear out that evening!!
Later that evening we asked reception for directions to night life and an older gentleman took us out the hotel and pointed us in the right direction and was very helpful.

We didnt make breakfast so i cannot comment but the hotel restaurant and bar looked very nice and the reception looks fairly new and modern. For what we paid and how much we used the room it was great and i would stay here again but the staff do need to buck up there attitude.

Its a nice hotel for a few days break but i wouldnt stay here for a long period of time.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank debzy1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

stayed 10days 12-22 sept,excellent 2 star.all rooms and outside areas clean and tidy. mainly spanish food,(but it is a spanish hotel).10 mins walk to old town,or number 1 or 12 bus too and from rincon area along ave mediterrraneo.all staff very helpful and spoke better english than we spoke spanish, CESAR on reception is a treasure,if you need help, hes the man.we enjoyed are stay at the joya,and would be more than happy to return.the review by MICKNJO just about says it all,but dont waste your time watching tv, get down too the seaside on the beach.grace&jack

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grace2041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontefract
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Hotel Joya is situated directly on a main noisey duel carrageway in the residential spanish quarter, situated to the rear of Benidorm.

TV! german and spanish channels, (only one english spoken channel, sport), The Hotel is clean and rooms are cleaned daily. Entertainment poor/ catering to the spanish. Food limited in choice, not to my taste, I ate out most evenings.

location for walking a good 15 mins walk downhill to the old town, however it took longer to return due to uphill slope. You need good walking shoes. elderly people would find it difficult getting around due to the distance to and from the beach and main shopping area's.

Taxis's cost 6 euro's ( September 2011) each way to Lavente area. Local bus services run reguarly, however, difficult to know where to catch a bus upon return. All in all, I would not revisit Hotel Joya, false economy paying out for taxis each evening as an isolated location which adding extra cost onto what I hoped would be a quick getaway low cost budget holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carrie1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Benidorm hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2011

we stayed for a week between 10-17 September, we arrived at the hotel in the evening and were greeted at reception, the hotel was very nice inside, modern and clean, the lift was perfect as we were on the 5th floor, our room was basic but clean and tidy with everything you need, and lots of wardrobe space, a bonus is that the air conditioning is free, it was very hot while we were there, 35 degrees!! also it is worth paying for the safe which is 21 euros for a week, you get 10 euros back when you return the key, we had our towels changed daily, although we had our beds made every day the sheets weren't changed for the week we were there, not too much of a problem but thought they may have been changed at least once. we stayed based on bed & breakfast, although we only had breakfast one morning during the week, as we prefer to eat at different places, the breakfast looked good, with a selection of different breads, croissants and pastrys, also the morning we went down there was sausages and beans as well, boiled eggs etc, also a wide selection of fruit juice and tea/coffee, very substantial if you are on a budget. the bar area is clean and tidy and also the pool, although we chose to go to the beach everyday, the beach is fantastic, very clean and nice, would recommend it to anyone, we returned to the bar one night at about midnight, and was dissapointed to be practically ignored by the bar man, seemed more interested in clearing tables and talking than serving us a drink, we only wanted a drink to take to the room, waited so long we nearly walked away.....he probably does work long hours, seemed to be the only bar man there.
hotel is situated between the old town and new town (new town is where all the English are) old town is lovely, full of Tapas bars etc and very curtural, the only down side is the hotel is a long walk to anything, 15 mins to the beach and the same to the bars etc, although I'm sure a local bus is available. BENIDORM....brilliant you must go and I would receomment the Joya

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fitobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Before booking our recent holiday I read the reviews on tripadvisor and was hoping that those who had given bad reviews had simply had a one-off or were expecting far too much from what is advertised as a 2-star hotel - how right I was if our experience was anything to go by. This is an economy hotel all told but punches above it's 2-star weight. The inside of the hotel is modern in feel, the lifts small but smooth and modern and the rooms are basic in their kit but again modern in decor and fittings with all you need to store your clothes and sleep. A tad disappointing that the TV wasnt satellite equipped for more UK speaking programmes but think I'd take a female-male aerial adapter next time to remedy that little gripe. As we dont go on holiday to watch TV this really wasnt an issue. I read on here that the best way ahead would be to request a room overlooking the pool so did so..... upon arrival the receptionist referred to my email and allocated us such room. Soooo chuffed. Indeed it was good advice. I would suggest potential visitors think about doing the same. Cant be guaranteed but if you dont ask....!! Admittedly the walls did seem a little thin and voices could be hear from next door but only when raised it seemed. I'm not gonna blame the hotel for inconsiderate people who can't seem to show respect for others when in their room. The aircon was fab with 3 settings and worked extremely well. The location of the hotel is away from the brit-focussed caberet "strip" but this is only 15 minute shuffle away. The beach again is a walk away, this time approx 10 minutes. I would not recommend to those who want the beach a few minutes away. However it was ideal for us. Whilst we were there the clientele was approx 60% Spanish, 30% UK and 10% other. The staff were friendly and I am not gonna moan about having to ask now and again for them to repeat their broken English.... much better than my almost non-existent Spanish.
Now to the most contraversial of issues - the food. This is not an a la carte restaurant. It is a basic self-service dining room and the food is not English in nature. Then again YOU ARE IN SPAIN. Most evenings there was a fish dish (or two), a meat dish, and veg and chips. The salad bar fast became our focus as the contents were fresh and flavoursome. Together with a fish or meat addition it was the perfect supplement to our (eat out) lunch. Drinks have to be purchased at dinner but are supplied at breakfast. Breakfast was mainly any TWO of beans, bacon, scrambled egg and (hot dog) sausages. There was also self-service toasting bread, cheese and ham, hard-bolied eggs, fruit and cereal. Basic but adequate.
Ultimately what sold this for me was value for money. We paid £300 each for a 7 night stay with flights and transfers/taxes. Of this the hotel charge was £145 each, ie £20 per night HALF BOARD. You don't usually get this kind of rate for self-catering so the additional "luxury" of food (if taken) was too good to miss. On top of this I did not go to Spain expecting english restaurant style catering, if you want that luxury look elsewhere and probably pay double the rate.
The pool and jacuzzi were more than adeqaute and the shallow (kids) pool was great for relaxing in (very warm due to small volume of water therein). The sunloungers were fine and fit for purpose. There was sometimes the need to get there early but only really due to a few people (Brits) who insisted on putting their towels on a bed at 9am (when the pool area opens) and then disappearing until early afternoon when the sun was overhead, denying use of the beds to others. You will have to excuse me when I say that sometimes this inconsiderate behaviour gets my goat!!
On the whole this was a most enjoyable little hotel to stay at. Its modern feel was surprising and the staff, whilst sometimes seeming austere, were pleasant and approachable. There were a couple of issues that I would have liked but that is probably why this hotel only gets an official 2-star rating. In every respect I have stayed at much worse with more stars above the door!!!
If you go with value for money in mind and are not expecting fine-dining then give it a go. For £20 per night (each) you would have to search long and hard for better.

Room Tip: email info@hoteljoya.com and ask for the room of choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MicknJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Condal Benidorm
Hotel Condal Benidorm
#135 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Brasil
Hotel Brasil
#80 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.5 mi away
Camposol
Camposol
#99 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mont Park
Mont Park
#102 of 191 in Benidorm
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Park Hotel
Prince Park Hotel
#54 of 191 in Benidorm
4.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cabana Hotel
Cabana Hotel
#148 of 191 in Benidorm
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Joya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Joya

Property: Hotel Joya
Address: Avenida Andalucia 2 | Playa Levante, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Joya 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Onthebeach, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Joya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joya Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing