We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it;s 2star rating”
Review of Port Vista Oro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Port Vista Oro
Ranked #47 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Great small hotel in the middle of the Old Town.
Staff in reception were friendly and efficient,check in was quick and trouble free.
Rooms were small, but very clean and comfortable,with decent wardrobe space. The bathroom was well equipped,with a great over bath shower.
Food in the restaurant, was way better than we expected,good choice of dishes with excellent quality. We were half board and had wine and water included with our evening meal .Staff in the restaurant were friendly and quick to clear tables.
We were there in November, and the pool at that time is in shade all day, but the rooftop area has loungers and brolly's and is great for catching the sun.
Clientele is predominantly Spanish and elderly, not a problem as some of them were friendly and tried to talk.
Did not use the evening entertainment in the hotel, as we preferred to spend the evenings in the Old Town. However did see that it was popular with some of the older guests.
Would happily go back to this hotel, as it provides a great value for money holiday

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

443 - 449 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 14 November 2011

A great location in the Old Town of Benidorm, which is the main shopping area and home to true Spanish bars, restaurants and tapas bars (punctuated with the odd obligatory English or other European bar).
The hotel is absolutely great considering its 2-star rating and because of that, along with the price, I find it difficult to complain about anything. Those that do … my advice would be to perhaps save a bit more money and pay the price for the holiday you think you are clearly accustomed to!
Reception staff were always friendly and check-in was smooth and efficient.
The rooms are fine - simple, yet adequate – laminate flooring aids the spotless and well-maintained appearance. Bathrooms are spotless (shampoo, shower gel dispensers on wall), there is a room safe too, but this will cost you additional. The TV has a couple of English speaking channels (Sky News and BBC News); the balconies are pretty private with coloured/obstructed glass between you and your neighbour. Air-conditioning/heating unit is self controlled by remote – to be honest the a/c units looked brand new.
Food was served in the restaurant 8-10am, 1-3pm and 7.30-9.30pm, which may differ at other times of the year. The staff work quickly in clearing and changing tables to meet the demand and I rarely saw anyone needing to wait – this may differ in high season mind. The food was fantastic which was the major surprise for the 2-star rating - fresh salad items, breads, soup and probably 3-4 main dish options as well as desserts aplenty. Sometime on ‘cheap’ holidays it’s counter productive paying for All-Inclusive as you end up eating out due to the food being so poor, but we honestly didn’t need to once on this trip. In addition, between meal times, the hotel offers hot ‘snack’ items available from the bar area – always three things including anything from potato croquettes, chips, spring rolls, ribs. chicken wings, etc.
The bar, depending on the weather and time of day was either outside in the ‘ginger shed’ or inside – all inclusive covered local brands, lager (Estrella Dam), soft drinks and access to the free vending coffee machine – bar staff were generally okay, one grumpier one but he still got the job done!
For a relatively small hotel I thought they did a grand job entertainment-wise, Jason holds daytime activities as well as MC-ing most evenings. Depending on your age depends on whether the evenings are your cup of tea as it varies from ballroom dancing (to the one-man keyboard player), acrobatic act, karaoke, bingo, etc. but to be honest anyone under 50 will probably venture out after a certain time!
The hotel ticks all the boxes given price and rating, but the downside things to note are that it doesn’t seem to get any sun in the outside and pool areas – there is a roof terrace with a Jacuzzi which although will get the sun, there is no bar/refreshment service up there so a five floor descent by slow lift or stairs to replenish. To be honest it’s a shame that they do not invest a little money and effort into this area as it could be so much nicer – basically it is Astroturfed onto an already uneven roof, so given this is the only place to get sun it’s a shame they it’s not more attractive. One last thing to note is that there is a school next door, so if travelling in term time, be prepared for the periodic noise that 200 kids create in their break times, along with the air-raid shelter-style audio notification denoting the start and end of the break!
There is limited parking here – so make sure you make the hotel aware if you need to park – it costs €9 per day, but it’s secure and cheaper and more convenient than public parking.

Bendidom on the whole is a great fun destination – the old town is pretty, the beach and beachfront areas are stunning and extremely well maintained - keep to these areas and you’d be hard pushed to believe the bad reputation that Benidorm is so synonymous with! Said reputation however is perhaps more-so deserved in the new town but take it for what it is – a party town that attracts people on a mission to get battered by beer! Just keep that little bit more sober than everyone else and it’ll add to the free entertainment that is already in such abundance here, which is another great plus-point as a holiday destination – the amount of ‘free’, quality entertainment and acts are fantastic. Gary George, a comedian in the Zodiac bar is a definite must-see, brilliant. Finally not seeing the legend that is Sticky Vicky at least once in your lifetime is a crime in itself, so just sit through it and smile – she’s 71 so catch it while you can!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank gr8hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

Were dubious as it was a two star hotel. Were very surprised,,,definitely up to three star standard. Dressing gown and slippers provided.Food OK,,not a great choice, but always something to suit all tastes, and always very well cooked. Clean restaurant and rooms, and public area.
Bernadette in the bar was a lovely lady, and most of the staff were "on the ball" doing their job, but not over friendly.
The Entertainment Co-ordinator Jason, was a gem,,,,a really nice guy. He mixed with everyone, and made all feel special, regardless of age or nationality. He took part in all the activities, and encouraged guests to have a really good time. Well done Jason.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with a balcony. If you don,t you will be put at the back of the hotel, wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Stanjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Me and my Partner stayed here for 7 nights 1st week in November and couldn’t of been happier. We got a fantastic all inclusive deal so wasn’t expecting the hotel to be as nice as it was, the hotel is really clean which I think is essential, the food was lovely, something different every day, there was a huge variety of drinks, we took advantage of that!! Also just a few minutes away from the beach and busy nightlife! You don’t get a massive amount of sun by the pool so make sure you take advantage of the roof top sunbathing area and Jacuzzi. Finally the entertainer Jason was a great guy, he was very helpful an made our stay great fun, helped with arranging our transfers, also with us booking swimming with dolphins and much more, there were games every day if your up for a laugh, Archery, Darts , Pool ect, breaks up the day if you fancy something different! Recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank TheWatlings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

Only rated as 2-star, but would probably qualify as more.
Staff pleasant and the whole place very clean, food good, well presented and hot, snacks available between dining times, good choice of hot, soft and alcoholic drinks.
Can't really fault this place, only small but friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank cumbriantraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Wasn't sure when booking this hotel as it was a 2 star but after checking the reviews thought we would give it a go. The hotel is small and is situated on a busy side road a stones throw from the centre of the old town. The rooms are basic but very clean. We thought the food was good but some guests complained that there wasn't anything suitable for children. The staff were very friendly except for one of the bar staff who was quite miserable. A hotel receptionist very kindly lent me her own umbrella when it was raining which I thought was a lovely touch. The hotel guests were mainly elderly and Spanish. We don't have anything against elderly Spanish people as some of them were friendly. However, it did make us feel old before our time and it would have been nice to have met other British people of a similar age to ourselves. We were staying all inclusive and would have preferred to stay in the hotel until late evening to make the most of the all inclusive bar before going out. However, we found the bar boring and the little entertainment that we saw wasn't to our liking. Therefore we decided to go out rather than enduring elderly people line dancing. In fairness we honestly cannot comment on all of the entertainment. The television in the lounge and in the room was all in spanish. All in all we feel that this hotel is a good 2 star. It is clean with good food and a 2 minute walk from the centre of the old town. It is suitable for elderly guests.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank linda3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2011

A group of 12 went here on the weekend of 14th October 2011. Although the rooms might be a bit out dated. The hotel was great. The food was great and different every day. Breakfast was also great and was cooked brilliant. We went all inclusive for the weekend and was well worth it!!! The bar tenders don't measure their drinks. This shouldn't be a 2 star. The food was better than some of the 4 star we have been in. and the hotel was very, very clean. We was all worried with it being a 2 star but was all supprised to find how good it was. The staff was very friendly and couldn't do enough. We all know that Benidorm is high on the elderly, and we was the youngest in the hotel, but they seem to understand that we are there for the weekend and up for a laugh. A great hotel for everybody, that good we are even going back with the children next year.

Room Tip: go all inculusive as it was well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daz_Ru_Durham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0 mi away
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
Magic Cristal Park Hotel
#58 of 191 in Benidorm
2,806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Prince Park Hotel
Prince Park Hotel
#56 of 191 in Benidorm
790 reviews
1.3 mi away
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
MedPlaya Hotel Regente
#38 of 191 in Benidorm
2,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#60 of 191 in Benidorm
240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
Hotel RH Princesa & Spa
#10 of 191 in Benidorm
2,564 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Tropic Relax
Hotel Tropic Relax
#80 of 191 in Benidorm
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Port Vista Oro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Vista Oro

Address: C/ Ruzafa, 39, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 191 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £45 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Port Vista Oro 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Benidorm, in a large commercial area with all kinds of shops and services around. Levante beach is just 300 meters away and halfway have a taxi to get around town without having to take the car. The hotel has spacious gardens and solarium, ideal for family holidays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, getaroom.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Port Vista Oro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing