We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont stay here if ure young and english”
Review of Sol y Sombra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sol y Sombra
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 7 July 2013

wouldn't stay here again if it was for free dont get me wrong lovely modern hotel but the guests mainly rude old spanish oaps if looks could kill we would have been dead the first day there arrogant very rude and just dont like u being there its like the oap home of benidorm there was a few friendly staff in bar area and 1 nice lady on reception the rest couldnt spk english the area its self is very rough and ready beach was a 10 min walk the entertainment there was all spanish so we took a 5/10 min taxi ride to the new part for 6/7 euros there was always plenty of food to be gad at meal times but maily fish or garlic type based the pools were terrible the one on the roof was no bigger than a shoe box very cold and the hot tub was like a cold bath and as for the pool ACROSS the road we couldnt even get in as gate was always locked i wouldnt come here again and i deffo wouldnt bring my children here thats for sure save ure money and go else were

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank leahleic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Sol y Sombra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 21 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

worst hotel ever stay well away if your english first thing we were told on arrival dont walk round in the dark if english will be targeted by spanish yobs

the food was crap all the staff but one lady on reception did not want to know if you was english

the pool on the roof is as big as a match stick box /the pool across the road is awfull

also the spanish guest can have bottel beer when all inclusive but brits have to drinck draught

thanks for a top holiday which by the way was not cheap ?????

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank john a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Good enough Hotel and a couple of friendly staff but not all bar far.
The food was pretty good but a strange mixture to say the least.
The evening's entertainment was purely geared up for the Spanish and if you are anything other, I would suggest an early night or leave the Hotel for some life.
Pool on roof was small but a relief to flop into when hot. The jacuzzi was fun though.
The Bar was surprisingly not as dear as those half a mile down hill near the sea front.
Bathroom well equipped with bath, shower, sink loo and a bidet. Hair dryer too.
Beds firm but definitely comfortable. Small balcony but sufficient for sitting on with a few beers or Sangrias.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ken H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

On arrival.check in at reception was very good,,Receptionist was freindly and helpful.
Rooms were very clean and spotless so that was good.
Yes it is a spanish hotel in the spanish part of benidorm so the hotel hasnt many or hardly at all English people..but that didnt worry me as i was just there to eat and sleep and go out for entertainment.
The food was tastey ,but very repetitive at times..i mean at some breakfast times you were having some left overs from tea the night before,,like potato croquettes!!..Coffee was disgusting,,like a out of a cheap packet so i avoided that and also the red wine you get with your meal (as much as you want) stay away from as you wil be on the toilet all the time,,very cheap and nasty!...The last few days i ate out and didnt have breakfast or tea even though i was half board...as it was too repetitive on the 2nd week
Ok the bad points!!! I have never met so many Disgusting,,Selfish,Arrogant,Rude people in all my life....The spansish guests (all pensioners) were terrible,,pushing you out the way,ignoring and you and if looks could kill....I was at dinner one night serving onto my plate and one rude pensioner leaned right over my arm and nudged me out the way...so i gave him what for..just no manners at all.
So i wouldnt stay at this hotel again,,,it didnt spoil my hols as ive been to Benidorm 14 times and i love it so dont let this review put you off as there is loads is superb hotels and accomodation....just avoid this one
Old town is about 15 mins walk and new town about 30mins to 45 mins walk or 15 mins on bus so not too bad.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JonM_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

DO NOT GO IF YOU'RE ENGLISH!!!!!!!
When we got to the hotel they had given our rooms away as we arrived late. We were given the smallest rooms ever. The receptionist who spoke little English was really nice and got us all into bigger rooms with a balcony. Not much of a view but better than what we began with.
We had asked for a English dominant hotel that was close to the newer part of Benidorm. It turned out to be further than what we were told, so it was either a taxi ride away or a decent walk.
The hotel was full of spanish pensioners. I have never met such IGNORANT, DISRESPECTFUL people in all my life!! They would constantly stare at you if they'd heard you were English, push in front of you whilst getting food etc. The barman was awful, he couldn't even understand us if we asked for a Cola.
Food and entertainment is catered only for the Spanish, somedays there'd be food that was ok others it was awful. The swimming pool was across the road. Stuck in the shade for most of the day.
There was only 4 other English people there throughout our stay and from what I've read thats alot.
The rooms were always clean and presentable though.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sc0tchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

After reading previous reviews by Brits before we went, we were somewhat wary about our arrival at the Sol Y Sombra. These fears were most definitely unfounded. We arrived at 11.45pm and checked in with the very friendly and helpful girl behind the desk. She told us that if we were hungry they would open up the dining area for us, as they had saved a cold meal for us. This was completely unexpected but a lovely surprise. Of course the hotel had lots of Spanish staying there, it was a Spanish hotel on the Spanish side of Benidorm and in Spain!! Of course the food included a fair amount of fish, we were in a resort on the coast of SPAIN!!! And Benidorm actually started life as a fishing village!!! We found the staff friendly, the rooms spotless and the food excellent. The evening entertainment was enjoyable. All in all a thoroughly good time was had by us all, and we would return there again!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sassafrasSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2009

Hotel itself clean and food nice. Do not book all inclusive - its a rip off!!! Only allowed one drink per hour!!! We were the only English people in the hotel and all entertainment in Spanish. The swimming pool was also across the road and in the shade til lunch time - this was actually a bonus tho cos it was 40 degrees!
Quite a walk to beach and even then we were the only English people on the beach!!
One week was definately enough.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geerboxes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Olympus Hotel
Olympus Hotel
#53 of 192 in Benidorm
150 reviews
0.0 mi away
MH Antea
MH Antea
#155 of 192 in Benidorm
143 reviews
0.0 mi away
Carlos I Hotel
Carlos I Hotel
#77 of 192 in Benidorm
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Condal Benidorm
Hotel Condal Benidorm
#132 of 192 in Benidorm
66 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#43 of 192 in Benidorm
229 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bristol Park Hotel
Bristol Park Hotel
#97 of 192 in Benidorm
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sol y Sombra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sol y Sombra

Address: Calle Florida 7, 03502 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Price Range: £51 - £532 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sol y Sombra 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sol y Sombra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sol y Sombra Hotel Benidorm
Sol y Sombra Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing