We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Wait!!”
Review of Hotel Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montemar
Ranked #66 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Reviewed 28 July 2013

counting down the days until the 25th Oct. Coming back because last year was so exceptional and one of my best ever holidays in Benidorm.

We enjoyed it so much that we have recommended it to friends who are joining us. Look forward to seeing you all there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Candy1Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (280)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

122 - 128 of 280 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2013

my grandaughter and i stayed at this hotel for one week in june.The hotel is in a very good locaction it faces the beach so the rooms at the front must have a nice view unfortunatly we had a room at the back of the hotel.I cant blame the hotel for this as i didnt pay for a sea view. their was a tiny balcony about just over a foot wide facing some appartments the room itself was clean with a nice bathroom and air con but was a bit dark due to it being at the back.I asked if i could pay for a sea view but the hotel was full so we had to stay at the back.So i would book a room at the front if i went there again.The food was not bad the salad buffet was good but the hot food wasnt that great but im not a fussy eater so i always found somthing i liked.The staff are all very nice we didnt have a plug for the sink i asked the lovely young girl on reception for one and she got us one straight away.The hotel is near the old town shops and bars and the promenade is a nice walk out .We didnt go into the hotel bar so i cant comment on what it was like . I would stay there again but never in one of the rooms at the back.

Room Tip: choose room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank babs647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked here after alpha rooms cancelled our booking at Villa del Mar , turned out for the best.!! On arrival at the hotel we were upgraded to an elite room free of charge - thanks to the hotel staff for this. Room was spacious , modern and spotless, Large balcony with sunloungers overlooking the sea. Sun terrace on 6th floor was great. Food was good ,lots of choice , lunches in particular were lovely. Staff were friendly and helpful , most guests were Spanish or Dutch and all very friendly.Can't wait to return .

Room Tip: Sea view room is a must , the view is fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ELAINETHOMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMontemar-Benidorm, Director Comercial at Hotel Montemar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2013

Dear Mrs. Thompson, Thanks a lots your kind comments and for sharing them with us. I will let our staff know too.We look forward to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
The Management at The Hotel Montemar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a last minute quick break to the sun & were really looking forward to arriving considering the positive reviews.
On arrival the room hasn't been cleaned properly - lots of hairs & stains in the bathroom, stains on the furniture & missing cabinet draw. As we had arrived late we waited to speak to reception until the morning. We asked for the room to be cleaned properly, however arriving back at the hotel later that day the room hadn't had any maid service, and we had to wait until after 9pm!!
The bed was reasonably comfy but the pillows were lumpy and the bathroom towels were so small they barely covered your modesty. We asked for extra but they were not any better.
Breakfast choice was poor - and unfortunately not very tastey.
On a positive note the sea view room is definitely with the extra money- really pretty view of the marina and sea, the beach is literally over the road. Most of the receptionists are very friendly and accommodating with the odd exception.
The hotel does cater more for Spanish guests than British. Got the feeling we were not very welcome.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shabbs1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMontemar-Benidorm, Director Comercial at Hotel Montemar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

We are sorry to hear we have not met your expectations. We have an on call all-night team who would have been very happy to assist with the cleaning of the mentioned items, however, no calls from your room were logged. Thus, the bedding and pillows are brand new every start of the season and subject to our quality control. Regarding breakfast, over 40 different items are being offered every day in our breakfast selection, amongst others; cereals, pastries, bread, coffee and tea, and this is generally very much appreciated by our international customers.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Just returned last night from a short stay at the Montemar Benidorm, situated two minutes from the beach in the old part of the town, room was fine, cleanliness throughout was excellent, reception staff extremely helpful at all times, restaurant staff are extremely hard working, the food itself could be a bit mixed but the hotel caters for many nationalities, they try to meet all tastes, bear that in mind, also bear in mind your not being charged 4 or 5 * prices, you get excellent value for money in a very well run hotel. We had room 707 which is to the rear of the hotel, no view to speak of but you can upgrade to a sea view if you wish. The view from the front if the hotel is stunning, you are literally 50 yards from the beach with views down the entire coast. One wee note for the maitre if she reads this, please smile, you have a lovely smile don't hide it!!
All in all, smashing hotel, perfectly placed, great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMontemar-Benidorm, Director Comercial at Hotel Montemar, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for sharing them with us. I will let our staff know too. Concerning our maitre d'hotel, I would like to point out that she, unfortunately, has recently lost a very close member of her family and hence her sombre look, but yes, I agree with you, she has a beautiful smile. Thank you. We look forward to see you again in the near future.
Kind regards
The Management at The Hotel Montemar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

We have just got back from a 10 day stay here. Fantastic views over the poniente beach and very good for access to the old town. Room not huge but good, with a small balcony, just enough to enjoy the sun. Bathroom new and very good with the best shower ever. Staff always as said, very helpful and willing. Spotlessly clean with nice towels and facilities.
The restaurant a little depressing reminded me of many hotel breakfast rooms. Again very helpful staff and after getting our timing right always a table available. The first week was dominated by many Spanish pensioners taking their free OAP weeks and it was very noisy. Always salads and fruit available, but I think I must have been staying at a different hotel than other comments made, as there was rarely much choice other than fish or meat, no sign of any catering for British taste other British guests were of the same opinion. I say this as a comparison to others hotels we have stayed at in Benidorm all having a huge and varied choice on offer. I am vegetarian and really struggled for a hot meal. Great for lunchtime salads, fresh bread and fruit. The staff were fantastic, but it does not take a lot of imagination to create a lasagne, curry, or something similar. Due to the other factors being brilliant we would stay again but only board only. I hope the owners take note of these comments as others have mentioned these points before. Yes we did manage to eat out very cheaply as one can in this town.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ptpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMontemar-Benidorm, Director Comercial at Hotel Montemar, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

We greatly value our customer's opinions and in our aim to keep improving our service we take good note of your comments. We'd love to meet the expectations and individual tastes of each and every one of our customers who, as you are aware, are of different nationalities. We appreciate your custom and we thank you for having chosen our hotel. Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind regards

The Management at The Hotel Montemar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

i stayed here on 11th april 2013, for a long weekend with a friend, both 23.
love benidorm.
hotel is on the seafront in the old town. fantastic views of the beach, sea and harbour.

brilliant staff, very helpful, always smiling :)
hotel is in good location, near beach, shops, and new town for nightlife, just without the noise :)
food is very good quality, always something to eat, and always something new to try. i stayed half board, breakfast and evening meal is buffet style, lots of seating.

the rooms have lots of storage space, and room, brilliantly clean, cleaners are also very friendly and helpful, and very respectful.
nice beds to sleep on.
spanish tv ( but its spain, and helps you learn spanish lol)
bathrooms are spaceous, clean, good powerful showers.

nice bar area, seating area in the reception, overall modern, clean and well run.
would go back in a heart beat, as i also had a fantastic hoilday, with great hot weather.

couldnt fault it...10/10

thanks!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LauraQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMontemar-Benidorm, Director Comercial at Hotel Montemar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear Miss Queen, Thank you very much for your kind words and for sharing them with us. We are always very pleased to hear that our customers enjoyed their stay at our hotel, as this helps us maintain our high standards. Your compliments have been passed on to our staff.
We look forward to see you again soon.
Kind regards
The Management at the Hotel Montemar

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#62 of 192 in Benidorm
174 reviews
0 mi away
Port Mar Blau
Port Mar Blau
#108 of 192 in Benidorm
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#49 of 192 in Benidorm
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Magic Fenicia
Hotel Magic Fenicia
#75 of 192 in Benidorm
982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
Hotel RH Corona del Mar
#4 of 192 in Benidorm
1,583 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel el Palmeral
Hotel el Palmeral
#96 of 192 in Benidorm
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemar

Address: Calle San Pedro 18, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#40 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range: £50 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montemar is a warm and inviting place, ideal to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in front of the Mediterranean Sea. We enjoy a privileged location: only 30 meters away from the Poniente Beach, at the first line of the beach and in front of the Elche Park, in one of the quietest areas of Benidorm, where you can enjoy stunning views of the Bay, the Castle, and the Island with its lovely harbour. Our hotel has 115 rooms on 7 floors (with and without sea view), which include 7 VIP and 3 ELITE rooms on the upper floors. All rooms have bathroom, telephone, TV with international channels, free Wifi internet access for our customers, safe, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Alpha Holidays Limited, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing