We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girl's weekend at hotel montemar”
Review of Hotel Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Montemar
Ranked #68 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Girl's weekend at hotel montemar”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I agree that the hotel did have lovely sea views unfortunately we didn't, our room faced an alley people walking by could see in as our room was at head height, therefore we had to keep the shutter down which blocked out the light, felt as though we were in prison. We did speak to the manager who was extremely unhelpful telling us the hotel was fully booked for the weekend, yet our friends managed to be moved to a room at the front the next day. The hotel was very Spanish orientated and was very noisy, we had to wait approx 25minutes for a table for dinner. The food was mediocre without much choice over the three nights we stayed. The location was ideal for the beach and the old town but not for the bars and clubs we went to, we were 10 euros in a taxi back from the new town each night. In it's favour the hotel was very clean with maid service everyday, but we wouldn't recommend or stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackiemclellan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    82
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
58
126
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

What a gem this hotel is. Fantastic position, overlooking the Poniente beach and right on the edge of The Old Town, with wonderful sea views (pay the extra for sea views, it's so worth it) This hotel is so friendly and helpful. It is a Spanish hotel but they cater for all tastes and make all welcome. The restaurant is not the most attractive but the food is great and the staff are terrific. We were so glad we went half board. The bar downstairs is brilliant...lovely staff and very reasonable prices. During the day they have free Tapas with wine and beer etc which was a lovely touch. We expect this in the tapas bars in the Old Town but not in Hotels so well done Montemar. The evening entertainment was really good with an amazing host who encouraged participation but never made you feel obliged to join in. To see everyone having such a good time was lovely. We had a truly wonderful holiday and will definitely stay at The Montemar again.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view rooms...amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallorcalover2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

All I can say at this moment is the Hotel was nice and clean, The girls behind the desk were all so help full,they told me where to get the buses to go exploring, Manager was so help full as well,as I was

Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2013

stayed here for a week, although nice and clean, maid duty every day. I didn't enjoy staying here. the room we stayed in was at the back so had no view whatsoever. it was a room with 2 beds a cupboard and a chair. no fridge or microwave or even a cup to drink from. found it expensive at £800 for a week for 2 people. great location for new town and old town but would definitely not stay in the future at this particular hotel

Room Tip: ok if you want a good location
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sylhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights in room 307. Sea view paid extra, well worth it, some rooms have no view at all. Room- dated but clean and tidy. Shower powerful and lovely deep bath. Tv in stupid place, my partner split his head open on the bracket, luckily averted him needing to go to hospital as had first aid kit, so any fellas over 6 feet be aware.
Staff- Very friendly especially lady behind bar. Reception staff helpful with arranging local parking for us.
Dining- Food lovely, no issues and plenty of choice on offer, not sure what people expect? It was more than adequate. Odd thing, all the spanish folk clear their own tables and put their pots on the trolley, makes you feel uncomfortable, us Brits kind of enjoy being looked after in that way on holiday. Yes predominatenly spanish guests, but you are in Spain!! and they make very good company, polite and generally quiet compared to Brit/German hotels.
All in all a great stay and will be back next year.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank rizzouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Stayed here for a few nights loved it highly recommended just hope I meet that guy of my dreams again (Steve) from South Shields !! Lovely clean hotel would DEFO stay here x good location for the old town and easy for new town

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharongraveson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

The good: spotlessly clean, the cleaning staff do an excellent job - friendly & helpful reception staff - ideal location, right on the doorstep of the old town & 30 metres from the beach & the sea.

The bad: no fridge in the room, come on guys, it's hot & we all need our drinks chilled in 30 degree heat - having to pay for the safe & the tv remote. I guess the bad is why this hotel is only 3 star.

Overall, a very good hotel, ideally located, with a couple of minor gripes. I would definitely stay at the Montemar again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanit
Tanit
#79 of 192 in Benidorm
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#51 of 192 in Benidorm
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bilbaino
Hotel Bilbaino
#67 of 192 in Benidorm
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#55 of 192 in Benidorm
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#17 of 192 in Benidorm
464 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marconi Hotel
Marconi Hotel
#115 of 192 in Benidorm
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemar

Property: Hotel Montemar
Address: Calle San Pedro 18, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#40 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montemar is a warm and inviting place, ideal to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in front of the Mediterranean Sea. We enjoy a privileged location: only 30 meters away from the Poniente Beach, at the first line of the beach and in front of the Elche Park, in one of the quietest areas of Benidorm, where you can enjoy stunning views of the Bay, the Castle, and the Island with its lovely harbour. Our hotel has 115 rooms on 7 floors (with and without sea view), which include 7 VIP and 3 ELITE rooms on the upper floors. All rooms have bathroom, telephone, TV with international channels, free Wifi internet access for our customers, safe, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing