We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of Hotel Montemar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Montemar
Ranked #69 of 192 Hotels in Benidorm
Leigh on SEa
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This 3 star hotel is very close to the Old town and if you book a seaview room has wonderful views over the harbour and the beach which is just across the road.
Bedroom furniiture is pine and the rooms are clean and comfortable with TV although only BBC1 and 2 are in English. Elect for a seaview room or upgrade to an elite or VIP room as these have larger balconies with sunbeds.
Breakfast came as a bit of a surprise with patrons clearing their own plates- something we have not experienced in other hotels but hey ho this is what the Spanish patrons did so we joined in. Not the greatest choice for breakfast but we usually found something to eat.
Only concern in this hotel is the occasional night time noise as the corridors are tile floored and sounds resound.
Would definitely recommend this hotel for location and we are considering returning later in the year.

Room Tip: Go for seaview or upgrade to elite or VIP
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MojaveLeighonSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    85
    45
    17
    9
See reviews for
60
128
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just got back from the Montemar which is located in the old town of Benidorm. The hotel was predominantly Spanish pensioners but was not a problem being the only English family in there. We were right on the edge of both the shopping centre and the quaint bars of the more traditional old town including the gay village and tapas alley. It is also only a 10 minute walk to Levante beach and the more of what you would expect for the younger end. Both levante and Poniente beaches are spotless clean and if you like walking/jogging then join the Spaniards as they are well int keeping fit!
The hotel food is fine for what we paid and lots to choose from. Also a large glass of red wine costs just over £1 too and the beer 3 euro for large san miguel
I asked for a sea view on booking but as I paid budget didnt get one even though hotel was half empty. They said that I could upgrade for 12 euro per night but then changed it and said that it would cost 50 euro for remaining 3 nights so didn't bother as we were only there for short stay.

Room Tip: Get a price before you go for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillhealey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

we are returning to this hotel in may after two previous visits. It is in a great location opposite the harbour and at the beginning of the old town. The staff are very friendly and I enjoyed meeting a good mixture of holiday makers from various countries. We stayed bed and breakfast only but there was a good selection something to suit everyone . Cant wait to return.

Room Tip: 6th floor is good as that has the solarium
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bazandjude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

whe have been ther three times and it as just perfect whe had the vip rooms whith fantastic terras crew is very very nice and the have the change to rent a nespresso machine for in your room and that is a fantastic wake up whith the best view there is

Room Tip: go for the vip rooms :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank veroude74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

we stayed at this hotel for the fireworks. stayed on top level but well worth every penny. the room was very clean and had a good size balcony.we parked our car in the carpark just around the corner from the hotel , the hotel staff on reception was very helpful and pleasant. we stayed in room 509it worth paying the extra to have a sea view..

Room Tip: high level
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jonlotus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I went to Montemar with 2 children and a baby.I reserved the room over the phone and a very kind lady called Ana did my booking.My room had no sea views,I choose not to because we were not going to spend too much time inside,it had a balcony to a back street.Even with 3 beds and small one for the baby the room was big and very bright.The bathroom was spacious too,had hairdryer and a bidet.I had a shower over the bath.We had soap dispensers over the bath and near the sink,as well as shower cap,sackets of body lotion and a round soap.The room was cleaned on a daily basis and the towels changed.
I had full board.The times for breakfast (8-10 am),lunch (1 to 3 pm)and dinner (8 pm to 10 pm) are quite good and you don't need to rush.
The food was great and many things to choose to suit all tastes,hot or cold.The empty trays were always replaced quick.For breakfast they had boiled eggs,fried eggs,a big range of pastries,bread,jam,cheese,sausages,cookies (even without sugar),orange juice,tea,nesquick,coffee,selection of fruits,apple cake...
For lunch and dinner the menu is different every day but there are a few items which they always had available like salad,olives,onion,chips,cheese,mortadela...plus a selection of hot meals.There is always a choice of 2 different type of soups.For a dessert there is fruits,yogurts (a variety of flavours),cakes,ice creams...
We never had to wait for a table and the ladies there were very friendly and helpful.
Every night they was a show downstairs at the cafeteria,from raffle to dancing spanish music.The show for Halloween was excellent even we had a professional dancer imitating Michael Jackson.
The Wifi is free but the first time you need to get the codes from reception.
The location is perfect,Poniente beach on the other side of the road and few minutes away from the pedestrian area which takes you to the other beach called Levante.The port is very close to the hotel too.They have a free solarium on the 6th floor with tables,chairs and sunbeds.There are amazing views from there.
Overall my stay was great and I can't wait to be there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Saraiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
423 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 300 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Recently stayed 4 nights during Fiesta week. We paid extra for a sea view room which was well worth it. We had a room on the 2nd floor which was a decent size and immaculately clean. Good shower with plenty of hot water and basic toiletries supplied. Balcony with table and chairs. A/c wasn't working but I assume this was because it was November and not generally needed.

On the final Fiesta day the parade starts in the harbour area of the old town, and the floats are all lined up outside of the hotel so you can watch in comfort from your balcony. Also the final firework display is on the beach opposite.

We were only on bed and breakfast, but the breakfast was more than adequate with both hot and cold food on offer. Hotel is aimed towards the Spanish but also quite a few English staying here as well.

The reception staff all speak good English and very helpful.

Free wifi and a decent signal most of the time. Parking is 15 euros a night but we parked for free along the road about 15 mins walk away.

Will definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank llamacalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Benidorm hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel RH Sol
Hotel RH Sol
#49 of 192 in Benidorm
221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanit
Tanit
#79 of 192 in Benidorm
85 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel el Palmeral
Hotel el Palmeral
#93 of 192 in Benidorm
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 192 in Benidorm
467 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Centro Mar
Hotel Centro Mar
#41 of 192 in Benidorm
459 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brasil
Hotel Brasil
#80 of 192 in Benidorm
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montemar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montemar

Property: Hotel Montemar
Address: Calle San Pedro 18, 03501 Benidorm, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > Benidorm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Benidorm
#40 Family Hotel in Benidorm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montemar 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Montemar is a warm and inviting place, ideal to enjoy an unforgettable holiday in front of the Mediterranean Sea. We enjoy a privileged location: only 30 meters away from the Poniente Beach, at the first line of the beach and in front of the Elche Park, in one of the quietest areas of Benidorm, where you can enjoy stunning views of the Bay, the Castle, and the Island with its lovely harbour. Our hotel has 115 rooms on 7 floors (with and without sea view), which include 7 VIP and 3 ELITE rooms on the upper floors. All rooms have bathroom, telephone, TV with international channels, free Wifi internet access for our customers, safe, air conditioning and heating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Montemar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montemar Hotel Benidorm

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing